We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Subliminal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Australasian

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Goolwa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Australasian
1 Porter Street, Goolwa, South Australia 5214, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Goolwa B&B and Inns
Clare, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Subliminal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Everything about the Australasian is so superbly done that you almost cannot take it all in. Deb & Juliet have that rare quality to be able create an environment of such beauty and grace that you will never want to leave. Everything is in total harmony. Everything is so superbly crafted. The cuisine follows through the same promise of the environment, superbly crafted, and every mouthful in total harmony. The hosts? Gentle, gracious and discrete. Just pack your bags and go!

Room Tip: We chose the Garden room, but every room is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We booked for dinner on a Saturday night, I'm so frustrated that we didn't book a room for the night as well. Firstly the renovations that the owners have done are simply amazing - their creative genius shines throughout and the attention to detail and quality of fixtures and fittings are divine. The staff are the perfect mix of attentive and leaving you alone. The crockery and cutlery is excellent, the wine list diverse enough to allow a safe choice or an outside the box experience. Each course was nothing beyond excellent, we started with a sweet potato soup with a serve of chilli spiced prawn, ahhhh delicious, next course was Szechuan orange baked chicken, stunning and the dessert was just wow factor. The chef is clearly devoted to her craft, the amount of effort which goes into each dish is stunning. We asked if we could see a room as we are and absolute definite to come back and want to take up the foodie package - I want to live in this place, the rooms are just beautiful, again, attention to detail and the design element are enough to take your breath away. Please make it a must do on your list - this place is an absolute gem...food 10/10...accommodation 10/10 ... Staff 10/10...the only negative we had was the coffee...it was ok, not perfect, but hey when you have an experience like we did we just didn't care. Love this place, our new raving favourite.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I recently spent our 22nd anniversary at the Australasian
It had everything we could have asked for-
A spacious well decorated room ( the Parlour), wonderful food , friendly and noninvasive hostesses and complete privacy
There is enough to do in Goolwa and surrounds if you can tear yourself away from the hotel!!
We had a grazing platter on the Friday evening and were delighted with the variety and amount of food-plenty for dinner for 2
Loved the raised bath in our room and lovely bathroom
We will definitely return.
Go for a special occasion or for no reason at all-you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Goolwa is a seaside holiday town at the mouth of the River Murray a little over one hour’s drive from Adelaide. The Australasian, located in the historic centre of town near the river, is a luxurious B&B housed in a mid-nineteenth century building of two storeys. Our hosts were Deborah and Juliet. The building is refurbished and decorated with considerable flair in a Japanese theme. We stayed in the Garden Room on the ground floor – a spacious room furnished in a minimalist Japanese style, with a large en suite bathroom and timber deck overlooking a Japanese themed garden.
Juliet and Deborah are excellent hosts, discreet and friendly. As mentioned by others, the breakfast fare is second to none, in our experience. The ambience of the Australasian is superb – it is clean, quiet and elegant. Accordingly, we have no hesitation in recommending it as a place to stay if you are looking for a quiet heritage experience in the lower Murray Lakes; seaside; or nearby Coorong.

Room Tip: Garden suite has private deck from which to enjoy dining. There is no bath in this suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

From outside this building is stunning, circa 1856, and beautifully restored. Inside and out the back magnificently modernised and zenised (not a word I know!). You are enveloped by the building, the service and then your room. Beautiful rooms, totally modern and extremely well fitted out. Breakfast is worth the stay, served in your room with freshly squeezed OJ, coffee served piping hot, toast wrapped in a little blanket to keep it warm. Spicy fruit salad and yoghurt, the baked eggs, and then the scrambled eggs on day 2, sensational. However the Saturday night dinner made the stay totally memorable. Balcony service of asian tapas, salmon for main, and then dessert served in your room. Wow. Highly recommended and would go back tomorrow! Only challenge is the cockatoos in the morning, reminiscent of Hitchcock's Birds!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

A stunning fusion of Japanese decor and traditional 19th century South Australian architecture.
When you first enter the building you are mesmerized by the beauty of the foyer and can't wait to explore further.

There is beautiful art work on the walls, furniture that just seems right, and a feeling of space that betrays the fact that this is a buiding from the 1850s. The owners have devoted a great deal of thought and effort to produce a very special experience for their guests.

Our suite was superbly decorated and cleverly designed by an excellent architect. The bathroom was amongst the best we have experienced - spacious, well lit, with clever touches such as a heated mirror to prevent fogging, excellent exhaust fans hidden by high quality stainless steel fittings, good quality tapware and great attention to detail.

Our suite had a large glass table with 2 very comfortable Oriental style chairs on castors. The divider between the sitting area and the bedroom was an antique Asian cabinet with a mirrored back and sides, it housed the T.V. There was a large bath, set up on a raised platform which was illuminated around it's periphery.

All in all the room was such an attractive place to be in, that we were very happy to spend time there.

The owners' hospitality was one of the joys of staying at The Australasian. We were provided with lots of information about the local area, and made to feel more like welcome guests in someone's home than patrons in a hotel.

We had dinner in their atmospherically decorated dining room on both nights that we stayed there, and the meals themselves were worth the trip to Goolwa.

Julliet is clearly a very talented and innovative chef with a real passion for food; she prepares eveything from scratch, and manages to combine Asian flavours seamlessly with Australian produce. The food is beautifully presented, the flavours are clean and fresh and the portions are just right.

Breakfast is served in the room. The bell rings and when you open the door, there is a trolley ouside with a cooked breakfast, good tea and lots of little goodies. You don't see who brought it up, and no one to see you at your worst first thing in the morning!

There is secure parking in a courtyard accessible by a coded electric gate. Their attention to detail is such, that even this courtyard is paved and landscaped to foreshadow the interior decor.

The Australasian is not just a luxurious place to stay, it is a real event and a fascinating experience that we can't wait to repeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

A gorgeous place. Lovely luxurious accommodation in the little town of Goolwa. We stayed in the beautiful Island room. Our hosts Juliette and Deborah welcoming but not intrusive. Juliette's cooking divine. Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Australasian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Australasian

Also Known As:
The Australasian Goolwa, South Australia
Address: 1 Porter Street, Goolwa, South Australia 5214, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Goolwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Goolwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Australasian Circa 1858, an award-winning luxury boutique hotel, privately owned and operated, offers 5 totally unique & modern rooms, each with a stunning, spacious ensuite. Outside the multi-level decks provide expansive views over Goolwa in the Fleurieu Peninsula. The 2 night minimum stay includes in the tariff arrival day afternoon tea and daily Chef-prepared breakfasts - delivered on a trolley to your room. The on-site restaurant, The Australasian Dining Room, serves Modern Australian cuisine and is open nightly for guests and to the public on Saturday evenings. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Australasian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Australasian to your Saves list