We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of aquacafe

aquacafe
94 Barrage Rd, Goolwa, South Australia 5214, Australia
+61 85551235
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 23 Restaurants in Goolwa
Price range: $8 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Aquacaf is a riverside cafe/restaurant offering breakfast, lunch, coffee and cakes in our licensed premises that includes, inside, covered outside and outside dining.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Expensive !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Decided to finally try Aqua cafe again... Hmm not much on your lunch menu....Theyre vegetarians out there.

I ordered the fish of the day & a drink..Ha ha what a joke . $37 later...( No actual pricing of how much it was ) Waitress didnt even say....


Do u have a dress code as to how short someones skirt is as your waitresses are allowed to have it.! Personally for the money i paid. I would prefer someone that i didnt need to look at constantly pulling her skirt down as its way to short..

Sorry wont return.... Boring menu...

Disappointing as i use to like going there..,,.

And Im local ...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquacaf, Manager at aquacafe, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Good Evening Judy,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us at the Aquacaf and I am truly sorry to hear you were not impressed with our vegetarian options. We actually have several which may not have been explained correctly to you at varied prices. For example (presuming you eat fish as well as mentioned in your review) coorong mullet which can be served with a salad $18 , the panzanella salad made with fresh tomato, basil, red onion and olive oil balsamic soaked sour dough $18, the fatoushe salad made with falafels, raddish, tomato, chickpeas, mint, corriander and minted yogurt $24, the caesar salad can be made vegetarian $24, the marinated garfish and chips can be grilled if you prefer a lighter option $24. And anything else we can create for you from the items listed on the menu.

Again thank you for your review we endeavour to improve all aspects of your business and our customers feedback is very important to us.

Sincerely
Elizabeth
Aquacaf Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    34
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointing food experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

So disappointed with the menu. Boring! Where did the light meals go! Flavours are non existent. Really miss Jordan's food-fish pasty, ragu's, salads and Stephanie's amazing lemon curd meringue cakes. Aqua cafe you need to up your game. Service still good so not a total disaster.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquacaf, Manager at aquacafe, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Aquacaf, I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience. Unfortunately we will never be the same as the previous owners and would never attempt to replicate their signature dishes so can not bring back items you may have enjoyed with them. However if you would like to let me know specifically what you had and why you very displeased we will endeavour to improve all aspects of our business.

Sincerely
Elizabeth
Aquacaf Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Visited here for lunch a couple of days after Xmas with family from interstate. Food was great, service professional and just the right balance of riverside holiday town friendly. New owners a doing a great job!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquacaf, Manager at aquacafe, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Aquacaf in Goolwa, great to hear you enjoyed everything and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely
Elizabeth
Aquacaf Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
“A friendly and fun experience with a personal touch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Visiting Aquacaf was a peaceful experience, with ideal seating and views to make me love summer!
A very baby friendly place with service to suit our needs, the menu was varied, easy to choose from, while not being bombarded with options.
The renovations are refreshing and hip with staff to match!

It as been busy, real busy so book in advance especially over summer.

New managment, doing well from where I'm standing, must me tough in this game!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquacaf, Manager at aquacafe, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A family favourite ruined?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We used to love this restaurant. We turned up, anticipating our favourite dishes, and found, to our dismay, that the venue has been renovated, has new chefs and a new, unexciting menu. None of my family enjoyed our meals. Even the kids were disappointed with the kid's menu. The location is lovely and the service was good. Unfortunately, the food was not good and was expensive. I will be reading future reviews and looking for improvements before I venture back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquacaf, Manager at aquacafe, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Aquacaf and I am sorry to hear you were not happy with your dining experience. If you ever return to the Aquacaf and are never completely happy with anything please feel free to let us know at the time so we can endeavour to fix the problem then and there. We offer four options on the childrens menu including battered garfish and chips, squid, chicken tenders and spagetti bolognaise if you have any further suggestions on what we could offer please let me know via this webite or our website www.aquacaf.com.au. You also mentioned you found the menu boring any contructive criticism is welcome. We took over the business 9 months ago and have renovated the business to offer more all weather dining facilities for our customers to enjoy but still offer in door dining, covered out door dining and outside dining.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed aquacafe also viewed

Goolwa, South Australia
 
Goolwa, South Australia
 

Been to aquacafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage aquacafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.