We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas

Save Saved
You added Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Wilpena Road | via Hawker, Flinders Ranges National Park, South Australia 5434, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in an Eco Villa for 2 nights. We had just the best time away, we loved our private balloon flight with Richard, and were lucky enough to have a private sunset tour with the lovely Amy. We will definitely visit again, the villa was so comfortable and the views from the floor to ceiling windows were amazing as was the star watching through the sky light above our bed, Bliss!!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony458, Owner at Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It is very rewarding to hear your comments for everyone that provides the service to satisfied customers. Well done Richard & Amy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    43
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
100
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Meningie, South Australia, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We visited Rawnsley Park for 4 days in April 2013, and found our visit very enjoyable,
On arrival the staff were helpful and pleasant, Infact our whole stay they were the same,
Our camp site had a spectacular view morning and night,the amenities were first class,
We ate at the woolshed restaurant, the service and meal matched the caravan park (exellent)
If you can take a balloon flight (unbelievable)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony458, Owner at Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
It is very pleasing to see such positive comments. April/May is my favourite time for camping in the Flinders Ranges - the balmy days of Indian Summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Rawnsley Park Station is situated at the base of Wilpena Pound and the whole resort has wonderful views of the rugged Pound walls and the distant Elder Range.
We stayed in an eco-villa, which was located in a group of villas, all discrete and private from one another and separated from but convenient to other facilities.
The quality of the villas is superb. They are very well designed and constructed from ecologically sustainable rendered straw bales. The villa had a spacious open planned sitting and dining room, fully equipped kitchen (with generous breakfast supplies, a mini bar and complimentary cheese and bottle of wine) and laundry, luxurious bathroom (with a deep bath - what a luxury in the outback where water is so scarce!) and a large bedroom with a very comfortable king sized bed above which the skylight covers can be opened to reveal the night sky whilst recumbent. There is also a wrap around verandah with table and chairs, a bbq and an expansive view over bushland, which in the evening was populated by wallabies, birds and rabbits.
The furnishings, linen and fittings are tasteful and top class and the villa superbly maintained. We really could not fault anything. This would be six star accommodation in the city!
The Woolshed Restaurant serves a range of quite adequate food at prices which in view of the remoteness were very reasonable, with a modest wine list and cheery staff. The store is comprehensively stocked with a wide range of foods, drinks and camping stuff and the prices again were remarkably reasonable. We brought provisions with us for one night's bbq, but we enjoyed the verandah so much we decided to eat there again and had no difficulty in procuring good quality (frozen) meat and surprisingly fresh salad items from the store.
We took a day long 4 wheel drive tour through the Flinders Ranges visiting various gorges, the wonderful Prairie Hotel at Paralchina and the old mining township of Blinman. The trip was very interesting and we saw some amazing country - the antiquity of the place is palpable. Our guide, Amy, was delightful - charming, informative and very friendly and attentive. (All the staff we encountered at the Resort were friendly and helpful.)
We also took a great 30 minute flight over the Pound, which was marvellous, and walked two of the very well marked walks.
A wonderful experience very well done by an obviously caring and very competent management for whom remoteness is no longer a challenge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Whilst a high-end budget option, this is certainly worth it and is great value. Clean, modern but in-keeping with the surroundings, the Eco villas are a great option. We self catered and found the kitchen fully equipped with a BBQ and large balcony to enjoy our meals. We also paid for the hot air balloon ride with Richard who I'd highly recommend to fully appreciate the views and sunrise.

Room Tip: We stayed in number 5 which we loved And enjoyed the sunset but all looked like great options
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony458, Owner at Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Villa No. 5 (Acacia) was the first site that we chose for a villa back in 2004. It still has a special place in my heart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed two nights in Eco-Villa number 1 ("Hakea") which is a two-bedroom villa with direct views to Rawnsley Bluff. The villa is very spacious with lots of light and high cathedral ceilings. Each bedroom has its own ensuite bathroom with a separate shower and large bath. Both bedrooms feature a skylight with an electronic retractable blind. The kitchen is well appointed with a large fridge, dishwasher, microwave oven and four-burner stove top. There is no oven. Outside, on the long, wrap-around sheltered veranda is a gas BBQ. Broadband Internet (with decent speed) is available at a cost of $10 for two hours. We found the staff at the resort to be uniformly helpful and friendly and we loved the food and service at the resort's restaurant (the chef is French).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony458, Owner at Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for a great review for everyone at Rawnsley Park Station. I have to tell you that Jean-Pierre is Swiss-French (there is a difference to French, as he will tell you)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Rawnsley Park station is located in a remote spot off the main Hawker - Wilpena road, probably 30 or so Km from Hawker.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here for two nights to enjoy the Flinders Ranges, in one of its Eco-Villas. Although these villas are located quite a way from the centre of the station and the restaurant, their siting gives wonderful views of the surrounding landscape from the veranda on two of the sides, or through the large sliding doors and windows which open onto the veranda from the Villa. The Villa itself is beautifully appointed with wooden floors, master double bedroom, separate bathroom with shower, bath and Bain, separate WC, and a separate laundry room equipped with washing machine, tumble dryer, and a plentiful supply of washing powder, and a fully equipped kitchen area complete with a pre-stocked fridge, etc. Coffee, Teas, milk, are provided, as are croissants, bread, eggs cereals etc for you to prepare your breakfast. There was even a complimentary bottle of wine and cheese and crackers! A luxury haven of peace and quiet with wonderful views.
There is a restaurant on-site which serves basic food and provides some take-always early in the evening, and a general store selling limited food supplies, etc., and petrol. All roads on the station are gravel unmade and rough in parts. There are a range of self controlled excursions available as well as escorted 4WD tours of the area, and scenic flights of varying duration over he surrounding countryside. We took the full day Flinders Explorer which was a great tour through the Flinders Ranges via gorges up to the Prairie Hotel at Parachilna and the old mining town of Blinman, and back to Rawnsley - we saw Red and Euro Kangaroos, Wallabies, Eagles, Lizards, even some Dingos, all up really close. Amazing! We also thoroughly enjoyed a short scenic flight the following day with a great pilot giving interesting commentary as we traversed the mountains and gorges. If you have the funds it's probably the only way to appreciate the scale of the Wilpena pound and see where the 4WD tour had taken us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony458, Owner at Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
It sounds like you have a wonderful day trip and flight. It is not often that you will see dingoes in the Flinders Ranges. Also, thanks to Spen McCourt and John Badman the road into Rawnsley has been recently graded so that it now resembles a speedway track.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location right next to the pound, very good customer service. Rooms are fully equiped and very clean. We were 9 of us and only stayed for 1 night and we all loved it. There are also a lot of outdoors bbq area.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas

Address: Wilpena Road | via Hawker, Flinders Ranges National Park, South Australia 5434, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Flinders Ranges > Flinders Ranges National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Flinders Ranges National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 430-kilometres north of Adelaide (approximately five hours drive), Rawnsley Park Station is a multi-award winning property that adjoins the Flinders Ranges National Park and overlooks the southern side of Wilpena Pound. The Flinders Ranges is one of Australia's 'National Landscapes' characterized by rugged mountain ranges, spectacular gorges, sheltered creeks lined with River Red Gums and abundant wildlife. This area is world-renowned for its geological history, Aboriginal rock art sites and impressive fossil remains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HostelWorld so you can book your Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas Hotel Flinders Ranges National Park
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas Flinders Ranges National Park, Australia - South Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.