We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst sleeping experience ever! Check mattresses as your better off taking swag and sleeping outside.:-(” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wilpena Pound Resort

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Agoda.com
and 8 more sites!
Wilpena Pound Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Wilpena Road | Via Hawker, Flinders Ranges National Park, South Australia 5434, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Adventure in Style
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worst sleeping experience ever! Check mattresses as your better off taking swag and sleeping outside.:-(”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Worst bed we have ever slept in!! No sleep after long drive Im glad we only stayed for one night for that one reason. Lovely surroundings and walking trails,quiet and relaxing.
Would have been better off sleeping on the floor. Rooms quiet and relaxing. Large windows to open curtains and enjoy the scenery.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthologyTravel, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Wilpena Pound Resort. I am sorry for the uncomfortable night’s sleep you have experienced while staying here. We have since completed an audit of all beds to ensure they meet the standard we have set and will be replacing as required. It was pleasing to read you have enjoyed the walking trails and surroundings.

I hope we can welcome you back to Wilpena Pound Resort in the not so distant future.

Kind regards,
Matt Coxon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    56
    22
    5
    1
See reviews for
27
55
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

A beautiful setting. We stayed in a Heysen Room, it was a great size, with large windows, and well set out. The weather was cool, and we found the blankets on the bed insufficient for warmth at night - and are not keen on sleeping with the air conditioner on. The reception staff were very friendly and provided advice on the walks that could be completed during our 2 day stay. We completed the Ohlssen-Bagge and Drought Busters walk (combined), and the following day completed the Tanderra Saddle loop walk and Wangarra Lookout (combined), which provided great views of the Pound. The Restaurant had good choice for dinners and the meals were good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthologyTravel, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Wilpena Pound Resort. It sounds as though you took advantage of the wonderful walking trails within the National Park. I believe that one of the best ways to experience the Flinders Ranges is on foot.
I have noted your comment about the bedding and can advise that extra blankets are always available from House Keeping if required. We will make sure that is more clearly understood by guests in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Wilpena Pound is such a beautifulmspot in the Flinders Ranges. The caravan park is well appointed with sites dispersed throughout the park rather than crammed together like commercial parks! So much to do, too little time - highly reccomend the geological drive!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthologyTravel, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We agree with you. There is so much to see and do in the Flinders Ranges, you do need to allow at least 3 days for your stay. I hope that you can visit us again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I recently visited this lovely place set in the 'Flinders Ranges'. I was with 2 friends and we had a great size room, big enough for 4. Very clean and bright with the usual tea & coffee making facilities plus toaster. We had meals at the bistro and were very happy with the choice. The onsite shop has a good variety of groceries such as breakfast cereals, bread etc.
We did an early morning flight over the 'pound' which couldn't have been better. The sky was clear blue and with very little wind so the flight was quite smooth. magnificent views abound.
On the 2nd night we went up to the 'Stokeshill Lookout' for the great sunset. It was quite cold and windy so take a jacket. We had our 'Chanmpagne and nibbles' to a lovely backdrop.
Would love to visit again one day. Even the drive from Adelaide to the Flinders was interesting. Such a lovely drive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthologyTravel, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Wilpena Pound Resort. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the experience. Please visit us again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, West Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a powered site in the camp ground.

The service at reception was poor. I enquired about disabled facilities in the camp ground but neither of the women on reception knew if there were any. Both reception staff dealt with my check in (only needed one of them), whilst other people were waiting to be served.

I found the ablutions to be too far away and to get to them you have to walk through fenced walkways (like a cattle race). It had rained 35mm while we were there and the paths were flooded as they are lower than the surrounding ground. The showers were great with good pressure and hot water.

We were given info about a scenic drive in the Park, which was great, but it was difficult to get specific answers.

We had heard about the Skytrek drive on Willow Springs Station. Reception told us we must collect gate key, trip notes and pay at the homestead between 10 and 10.30am. We arrived at 10am to find out we could have been there from 8am to 10.30. As a result of wrong advice, we finished Skytrek in the dark on the most difficult section of the track. Worst of all, we missed the best views of the ranges on this drive.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthologyTravel, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your comments have been used to provide refresher training for our team to ensure we maintain quality and consistent service levels with accurate information given to all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast QLD
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed here two nights on our Birdsville Track outback trip, it was winter time and we were in the camper trailer, wow it was soooo cold! I remember getting up before the sun rose and as soon as it did our milk on the camping table for breakfast started to frost up! However the views of the flinders ranges was spectacular, there are many options for great walking tracks through the park and the walk up to the lookout to see the Pound is definitely worth it. They seem very organised at reception and overall it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthologyTravel, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in the Wilpena Pound Resort Campground. We think it is one of the most stunning campground locations in the country... but perhaps we are biased. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

This resort is obviously in a very special location in a wonderful part of the world. It was refurbished in recent years but the rooms need work again. We stayed in an Arkoona room. The bathrooms are very dated and don't feel clean with old grout and scratched tiles. The bed we found quite uncomfortable. Everything else was OK, but it doesn't add up to value for money given high rates especially when you pre book. Stand by rates for our first night were 25% less than we paid because we pre booked. The design of the accommodation is unfortunate and mean you need to keep curtaining closed most of the time to have any privacy. This means you can't take advantage of the bush view and can't get maximum ventilation with windows open as the walkway is straight outside the room.
We ate in both the pub and the restaurant and found both satisfactory with friendly service. Prices were fair except for beer.
Do yourself a favour and drive to Blinman for lunch at the pub. Great drive, excellent cheap food and cold beer - perfect.
The sunset from Stokes lookout is amazing and only a ten minute drive.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthologyTravel, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for making the time to review your stay at Wilpena Pound Resort. I am sorry to read you were disappointed with the Aroona rooms. We do have four different room types at the Resort. All have benefitted from a refresh with new furnishings and decor in recent years. Your comment regarding cleanliness in the bathroom has been passed on to our housekeeping team and will continue to be monitored closely. We appreciate the criticism and please be assured it is taken seriously.
Your recommendation of driving up to Blinman is a good one. It's a picturesque, historic town that is definitely worth a visit and the pub serves a good lunch indeed,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wilpena Pound Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilpena Pound Resort

Also Known As:
Wilpena Pound Hotel
Wilpena Pound Resort Flinders Ranges National Park, Australia - South Australia
Address: Wilpena Road | Via Hawker, Flinders Ranges National Park, South Australia 5434, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Flinders Ranges > Flinders Ranges National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Flinders Ranges National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilpena Pound Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wilpena Pound Resort has 60 rooms. Every room was refurbished in 2009 and upgraded to a 4-star category. Brachina and Aroona Rooms suit individuals and couples travelling together, whereas the Heysen and Edeowie Suites are larger with more extensive facilities suitable for families or people needing a little more space than a traditional hotel room. All rooms have Austar satellite television providing a wide selection of channels free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Wilpena Pound Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilpena Pound Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wilpena Pound Resort to your Saves list