We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Misses the Mark Though” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wilpena Pound Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wilpena Pound Resort to your Saves list
Wilpena Pound Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Wilpena Road | Via Hawker, Flinders Ranges National Park, South Australia 5434, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3 nights for 33% off
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Location - Misses the Mark Though”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

This resort is obviously in a very special location in a wonderful part of the world. It was refurbished in recent years but the rooms need work again. We stayed in an Arkoona room. The bathrooms are very dated and don't feel clean with old grout and scratched tiles. The bed we found quite uncomfortable. Everything else was OK, but it doesn't add up to value for money given high rates especially when you pre book. Stand by rates for our first night were 25% less than we paid because we pre booked. The design of the accommodation is unfortunate and mean you need to keep curtaining closed most of the time to have any privacy. This means you can't take advantage of the bush view and can't get maximum ventilation with windows open as the walkway is straight outside the room.
We ate in both the pub and the restaurant and found both satisfactory with friendly service. Prices were fair except for beer.
Do yourself a favour and drive to Blinman for lunch at the pub. Great drive, excellent cheap food and cold beer - perfect.
The sunset from Stokes lookout is amazing and only a ten minute drive.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudekerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthologyTravel, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for making the time to review your stay at Wilpena Pound Resort. I am sorry to read you were disappointed with the Aroona rooms. We do have four different room types at the Resort. All have benefitted from a refresh with new furnishings and decor in recent years. Your comment regarding cleanliness in the bathroom has been passed on to our housekeeping team and will continue to be monitored closely. We appreciate the criticism and please be assured it is taken seriously.
Your recommendation of driving up to Blinman is a good one. It's a picturesque, historic town that is definitely worth a visit and the pub serves a good lunch indeed,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We booked an Edeowie room on a stay for 3 pay for 2 nights deal. We chose the self contained unit so we could self cater. When your only eat out option is the resort restaurant (which I believe to be good quality) it is more economical to prepare your own. The room was quite large, with two distinct sleeping areas, one with a queen size bed and the other with two singles. The bathroom is large and well equipped with a good shower and separate bath. The kitchenette area has a cook-top, microwave and a larger sized bar fridge. There was enough cooking equipment provide for all our needs. The rooms are surrounded by native gardens which attract a lot of the local wildlife and there is a set of outdoor furniture at front door.There are many interesting walks available, varying from easy to arduous which start at the National Park centre, just down the road. There is also a licensed general store next door which sells just about everything. Staff were friendly and helpful with good knowledge of the area. Wilpena is a beautiful part of the Australian outback, full of wildlife, serenity and sunsets.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthologyTravel, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Wilpena Pound Resort. The Edeowie rooms are a great option for families and guests who want to do some self catering during their stay. It sounds as though you enjoyed exploring the National Park and took advantage of the many bush walks in the area. I am glad you enjoyed the experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed with another couple for two nights recently.
We stayed in the Heysen rooms which are very well equipped.
The meals, although expensive are of high quality and there are BBQ's available if you wish to cook for yourselves.
The scenery is well worth the trip and there are many places within easy driving distance that are well worth a look.
Overall it is value for money as you would pay as much in a capital city without the beautiful views and serenity.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthologyTravel, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Wilpena Pound Resort. I am glad you felt you had good value for money out of the experience. We have unique challenges operating in a remote location and feel privileged to be able to showcase such a beautiful part of Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Recently stayed in Wilpnea Pound Resort in one of the Aroona rooms for a weekend. It was clean, comfortable & quite spacious (handy fridge too). The bar area had just been refurbished, so it was looking good, & the restaurant was brightly decorated (overhead lights might be a bit on the bright side!). The menus in the bar & restaurant were not very extensive & they had very similar options available on both. The meals we did eat there were of a good standard. The staff were all helpful & friendly, both in the resort & the visitor centre. We went on the 4wd tour of the gorges & had a great time with a very knowledgeable guide. A good range of walks are available & all clearly signposted. I would visit again as would like to do more walking in the area (only had time for one walk) & would be happy to stay at the resort again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthologyTravel, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Wilpena Pound Resort. We'd love to welcome you back one day to experience more of this beautiful part of the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

It takes a bit of effort to get here if you are staying in Adelaide, but is well worth the effort. The scenery and wildlife are wonderful..We staying in one of the basic chalets near to reception and would recommend that you try to get further away from this area if possible. There is quite a bit of traffic noise during the day as people come and go to reception and the dining room, but then you are rewarded by grazing wallabies and emus on the lawn outside your room. The rooms are a reasonable size but there are no real facilities such as toaster, microwave etc, just things to make a cup of tea or coffee. We took our own toaster and breakfast things so that we wouldn't have to spend too much in the dining room and we also took food for the first evening. There is a 'fridge in the room. We ate twice in the dining room and the food was okay but nothing special and the taster plate of bush food was over priced. The pub was closed during our stay and we had no warning of this and no reduction for limited services. Having said all this we did a number of walks and they were spectacular, peaceful and full of interest and wildlife. We would definitely come again

Room Tip: Go for one of the better rooms away from Reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferMary46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthologyTravel, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for commenting on your stay at Wilpena Pound Resort. We have four different room categories in the Resort. The Brachina rooms (where you stayed) are closest to Reception and our lead-in price. Aroona rooms offer good value and are located near the swimming pool. The deluxe Heysen and Edeowie rooms are larger and suitable for families. Edeowie rooms also have a kitchenette.
Thanks too for your understanding regarding the refurbishment of our restaurant and bar. We tried to do this work with minimal disruption to guests over the low season and really pushed to make sure it was completed by Easter. Pre-booked guests were being advised prior to arrival, so I apologise if you were not contacted. It was worth the effort as the new look restaurant and bar has made a difference to the Resort and the guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Beautifully-positioned campsite with level pitches, but old and basic facilities. Shower block is very tired and rudimentary. No campers kitchen or other facilities provided. The resort is ok but nothing special and appears to be lacking in investment and upkeep, although they were renovating the bar at the time so some things are being improved, slowly.

Drive to Blinman is worth doing - takes about an hour or so through gorgeous scenery, with a great cafe (Wild Lime) in the village. Totally worth it (although there is nothing about the drive at the resort which is focussed on getting you to spend as much money as possible on site).

We took one tour - the ridiculously overpriced $55 sunset tour - here's our top tip: drive out the resort (car is fine, no 4wd needed), turn left, drive for ten minutes to the look-out, take some wine and a bit of cheese and save yourself the bucks. Added bonus is you won't have to put up with Michael - possibly the world's most self-important tour guide.

Room Tip: campsite location and surrounds are very nice but facilities are poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthologyTravel, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Wilpena Pound Resort. I am really pleased you enjoyed the experience and managed to explore some of the National Park. You'll have to stay longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
140 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

A friend and I stayed at the Wilpena Pound Resport for one night on 9 March 2013. What a delightful place. Parking near the reception building you're greeted by the sight of wallabies grazing on the lawn and the amazing landscape of rocky red hills behind the accommodation buidlings. The room (we stayed in the Aroona Room) was comfortable and a good size so you avoid getting under each other's feet. After we arrived, the late afternoon walk (a gentle 2 hour-ish walk) to the Hills Homestead and the Lookout opened up whole new landscapes and an amazing amount of wildlife, especially wonderful sightings of Ring-necked Parrots and Euro. The staff are helpful and friendly. It's also worth stopping into the Visitor Centre. Darren is very knowledgeable and extremely helpful and friendly - and quite willing to answer as many questions as you've got. It would have been lovely to have been able to stay a couple more nights to really get out and about into the Pound and surrounds.Thoroughly enjoyable experience and absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheetahgirlBris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthologyTravel, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your brief visit to Wilpena Pound and hope you can return one day to stay a little longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flinders Ranges National Park
8.4 mi away
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas
#1 of 5 in Flinders Ranges National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
17.2 mi away
Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park
14.5 mi away
Arkaba Station
Arkaba Station
#2 of 5 in Flinders Ranges National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilpena Pound Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilpena Pound Resort

Address: Wilpena Road | Via Hawker, Flinders Ranges National Park, South Australia 5434, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Flinders Ranges > Flinders Ranges National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flinders Ranges National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Wilpena Pound Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wilpena Pound Resort has 60 rooms. Every room was refurbished in 2009 and upgraded to a 4-star category. Brachina and Aroona Rooms suit individuals and couples travelling together, whereas the Heysen and Edeowie Suites are larger with more extensive facilities suitable for families or people needing a little more space than a traditional hotel room. All rooms have Austar satellite television providing a wide selection of channels free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Wilpena Pound Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilpena Pound Hotel
Wilpena Pound Resort Flinders Ranges National Park, Australia - South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing