We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a lovely retreat And very special!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mt Quincan Crater Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mt Quincan Crater Retreat to your Saves list
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
4.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Peermon Rd, Yungaburra, Queensland 4884, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“It was a lovely retreat And very special!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Retreat on our last few days together before he went overseas. From the moment we pulled up to the moment we left we experienced such hospitality was amazing. The rooms were lovely and they thought of everything!! I would recommend the added extras they truly made it more special with roses on arrival on the door step to a cheese platter ready to go. It was a really memorable experience. I would recommend them completely. Thanks again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
147
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Taggerty, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My partner and I are animal lovers. We both work in hospitality, and hence, when we go away - we want to avoid people! Mt Quincan is perfect for this.

The accommodation is adorable... just loved our treehouse. We could happily live in it! And as for the wildlife... well, two tree kangaroos outside the kitchen window every morning??!!! Who could ask for more than that!

Not to mention pademelons bickering hilariously over food thrown from the balcony (healthy wildlife food helpfully supplied by the hosts)... and possums eating out of our hands on the railing.... such fun!

And we couldn't get over the amount of (human!) food supplied! We felt well and truly spoiled.

Thankyou so much! We will recommend to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, South Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Wonderful setting on the crater edge looking out over the Atherton Tablelands. Although the weather was a little cool and damp it was a great place to relax. Even better is the access to some wonderful restaurants in nearby Yungaburra.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just what we needed after many hours of driving. Wonderful hosts, great food supplied and the tree house was so romantic and beautifully decorated. We shared our breakfasts with turkeys on the balcony and enjoyed the most remarkable misty view in the mornings. The extra outdoor shower in amongst the trees was the icing on the cake and we thoroughly enjoyed the whole 2 day stay. Candles, log fire, and spa overlooking the valley made the stay extra special. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: I think all the houses have unique views so ask the host what would suit you best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We selected this location to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary and it did not disappoint from the scattering of rose petals that awaited our arrival at the door, to the breakfasts that were delivered daily, to the outside shower and the tree kangaroo! If you're going to be in the Queensland area, this is a must place to stay. Unique and very romantic. Private and serene.

Room Tip: They are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Mt Quincan was amazing from the moment we spotted the sign we knew this place was going to take our breaths away.. and that it did! Kerry & Barb are amazing hosts and have deffinitly thought of everything to make staying in the Tree Houses as tranquil and romantic as possible! This place was the perfect location for a proposal & I am lucky my fiancé thought this too.. I left Mt Quincan with not only a fantastic diamond ring but also a love for the Table Lands and a desire to go back and spend a week at Mt Quincan Creater Retreat x

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Mt Quincan retreat was perfect. Gary and I had the most amazing stay. Kerry and Barb are the perfect hosts who have thought if everything. The setting and views were spectacular. A peaceful beautiful escape. In the words of my husband....serenity.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mt Quincan Crater Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Quincan Crater Retreat

Address: Peermon Rd, Yungaburra, Queensland 4884, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Yungaburra
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Yungaburra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mt Quincan Crater Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning award winning 4 ½ star rainforest treehouses are designed exclusively for couples. Centrally located in the heart of the lakes and waterfall district of the Atherton Tablelands, the luxurious self contained pole treehouses are completely separate, private, secluded and romantic with king bed, double spa (with unbelievable views), wood fire, dishwasher, laundry, bar-b-q and private deck.Breakfast provisions are supplied each morning of your stay. Enjoy our unique wildlife, bushwalks and romantic isolation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Mt Quincan Crater Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt Quincan Crater Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.