We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tree Top Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mt Quincan Crater Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mt Quincan Crater Retreat to your Saves list
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
Peermon Rd, Yungaburra, Queensland 4884, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Tree Top Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed a wonderful 6 niqhts in tree-top luxury and relaxed completely. Kerry and Barb were charming and attentive hosts who were so concerned that we were comfortable and enjoyed ourselves. We certainly did. The tree house we stayed in was perfect, comfortable and we felt we were living in the forest canopy, which we were. We saw green ringed possums, a tree kangaroo, a cute little bandicoot and a friendly crowd of inquisitive scrub turkeys. We even saw our first platypus in the wild down at Petersens Creek at nearby Yungaburra. We dined on the little outside balcony surrounded by the swaying lush green forest canopy while scrub turkeys foraged in the bushes below. We walked down into the crater and enjoyed being alone with the scrub. Each afternoon we visited the spacious glass-walled guest top floor of the reception building perched on the edge of the crater to enjoy the dramatic 360 degree view of the beautiful Atherton Tableland. We enjoyed every moment of our time at Quincan Crater. It was a wonderful base to explore the Atheron Tableland from. Thanks Kerry and Barb. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
133
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

If you have someone you want to spend time alone with this is the spot! It is so beautifully quiet, well stocked and well appointed all you have to do is enjoy. The spa and fire are wonderful as is the view from the window seat or balcony. Sunrise was spectacular! The outdoor shower was delightful as well. The cabins were all located well apart which gave you the feeling of being completely alone which was delightful. What can I say I would like to live there forever.
If you have been admiring the website for years (as I had) but hadn't quite gotten there grab a bottle of bubbles and go!
A word of warning though, inspired by the actions of the previous occupants of our cabin. Rose petals and spas are not a good mix. I know it seems they are but really they aren't. :-)

Room Tip: The outdoor showers are worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and what a way to start a honeymoon! Everything was perfect in the beautiful private treehouse with spectacular views, from the welcoming hamper with pumpkin scones, delicous breakfasts, romantic spa, cosy fireplace, outdoor shower and tree kangaroos spotted from the balcony. Such a luxurious place to stay, Barb and Kerry have really thought of everything to make your stay as wonderful and private as possible.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Retreat for two nights and had a wonderful experience. The cabins are beautifully located in the forest around the Mt Quincan crater and are very quiet and peaceful. All that can be heard is the wildlife. And there was lots of it - birds, wallabies, tree kangaroos, possums. The owners, Barbara and Kerry, are extremely friendly and happy to talk, as well as being nice interesting people. The cabin was supplied with everything you could wish for and there are small touches which show the thoughtfulness of the hosts - chocolates, home made muffins and bread, port, binoculars - all supplied free of charge. For anyone wanting an escape from the speed and pressure of everyday life, the Mt Quincan Crater Retreat is the perfect place. I recommend it unreservedly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

This place is awesome. The location is lovely, and each treehouse private and well-appointed. You will need Champagne, and you will need to light the fire (even if it is not cold) - it adds to the experience, believe me, although it was colder in the evenings - my excuse anyway. The added touches enhance the Mt Quincan experience (I can't tell you too much or it will spoil the surprises). Barb and Kerry are great hosts and do not disturb you at all - and you will not be disappointed. The provisions for breakfast are fantastic and you will not go hungry.
Plenty to do in the tablelands, but you will not want to leave unless you have to. Suggest definitely relaxing for a whole day at the property (we checked out the touristy stuff and were away far too long each day).
The tree kangaroo was elusive, but the wildlife and birdsong made up for it. Totally recommended and want to go back.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

If you want the ideal romantic getaway, or just simply some peace and quiet, then this is the place. Forget all about the world around you and relax in the tranquil surroundings and the only neighbours you have are the Tree Kangaroos, Pademelons and the Brush Turkeys. The fridge is well stocked for breakfasts and the extra touches of port and roses (not forgetting a few chocolates) you are well set up for your break from a normal hectic life.
Plenty of areas to go walking (to walk off the breakfasts) and lots of local places of interest such as Lake Barrine and Gallo cheese and chocolate (yes more chocolate) factory.
Barb and Kerry are the perfect hosts where nothing is too much trouble...need more logs, no problem etc. However, you only see them when YOU want to.
We will definately be back

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We arrived to find a basket of goodies (including knitted socks), a well stocked fridge and delightful touches such as roses and chopped wood for the fire. After meeting our hosts they made it clear that unless we needed something we would be left in peace- such a lovely concept in such a busy world. We enjoyed three relaxing nights and on our second afternoon were so very lucky to spot a tree kangaroo eating just off our balcony- we enjoyed this for a couple of hours to ourselves (unless you count the Paddymelons and brush turkeys) and celebrated with a late afternoon spa overlooking the many moods of the Atherton Tablelands.
Highly recommended for those who want to escape and relax and reacquaint yourself with nature- especially the outdoor shower- what a wonderful surprise- didn't want to leave...
Many thanks Kerry and Barb for your attention to detail and the opportunity to see our very own tree kangaroo! We will tell all our friends!!

Room Tip: Ask for the chalet with the outdoor shower!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mt Quincan Crater Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Quincan Crater Retreat

Address: Peermon Rd, Yungaburra, Queensland 4884, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Yungaburra
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Yungaburra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning award winning 4 ½ star rainforest treehouses are designed exclusively for couples. Centrally located in the heart of the lakes and waterfall district of the Atherton Tablelands, the luxurious self contained pole treehouses are completely separate, private, secluded and romantic with king bed, double spa (with unbelievable views), wood fire, dishwasher, laundry, bar-b-q and private deck.Breakfast provisions are supplied each morning of your stay. Enjoy our unique wildlife, bushwalks and romantic isolation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your Mt Quincan Crater Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt Quincan Crater Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.