We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total peace and tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages to your Saves list
Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages
1 Eacham Close, Yungaburra, Queensland 4884, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Total peace and tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We recently stayed at the Crater Lakes Rainforest Lodge and it was a highlight of our trip. The setting is amazing, surrounded by rainforest and only minutes away from beautiful Lake Eacham and Lake Barrine. The owners went above and beyond to make sure our stay was perfect. The theme cottages are gorgeous (we stayed in the Bali cottage), each tucked away in a patch of rainforest for complete privacy. The wildlife was amazing! Each morning we has breakfast on the balcony and all sorts of birds came really close, one even taking grapes from my hand. Wallabies and musky rat kangaroos were seen daily right outside. We will definately be back!

Room Tip: The Bali cottage is located at the end of the shared drive, so does not get other guests driving pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
62
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
2,582 reviews 2,582 reviews
215 hotel reviews
Reviews in 343 cities Reviews in 343 cities
1,150 helpful votes 1,150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We've been a few times but Lynn being a keen birder is very specific that she wants to see the rifle bird display.
Although nothing is guranteed we constantly badger John and Jenny as to the numbers of birds and are they displaying.
On one of our last trips, we were lucky as the male did his ritual on the verandah directly in front of us.
No such luck this time, Lynn had to work hard for the displays - the first day was almost wasted as Lynn did her research as to where the males were during the day.
On the next day, she took her scope and chair into the undergrowth and just sat and waited.....and waited.........and waited.
She did find though that an early start, say 6.30 am gives you more chance of a sighting.
When the male did his mating ritual on the branch of a tree l, it is an absolute joy to watch - he wraps his whole body and wings around the female and it is one of the most amazing sights to behold in the bird world.
But the beauty of the Cottages is that they are so close to so many other attractions - I still love going to Lake Eacham and Yungaburra.
But also, the Bromfeld Swamp is fantastic for any keen birders - each night at say 4.30 - 6.00 pm,hundreds of brolgas fly home to nest for the night.
Watching them glide in to land with such style and grace is an absolute joy.

Room Tip: If you go for a bird watching experience, best to allow an extra night or two as there is no gurante...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

These self catering cottages are surrounded by rainforest, close to Lake Eacham and not far from Yungaburra. They are very clean, well maintained, comfortable and charming. There is bedroom and seperate living area with a good workable kitchen with full stove/oven and refrigerator. There is also a bbq on the covered verandah. There is also an immaculately clean small laundry for guest use on the premises. We chose the location as a base for three days of birdwatching trips. A number of the species we were hoping to see were in fact resident in the gardens surrounding the cottages which was wonderful. Close up views of the male riflebird as it tried to steal my partners breakfast were a highlight. The owners were very helpful and pleasant to deal with. For example, there is no mobile phone coverage at the cottages so John and Jenny cheerfully allowed us to use their landline to confirm a booking with a guide. We would happily have stayed longer in this magical spot and highly recommend the experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We chanced upon Crater Lakes by accident. We had two spare nights in Cairns and wanted to experience life in a rainforest.

Previous reviews have highlighted the bird and animal life, nearby attractions and friendly hosts, I agree wholeheartedly. Every little detail has been carefully planned and executed. From the welcome breakfast hamper, decanter of port on the table, chocolates, wood-burning stove and spa-bath, it was pure heaven. Although I am sure it must be difficult to maintain a property in rainforest conditions, this was not the case here. The cottage was pristine and well maintained, with very clever use of vintage items, to add to the atmosphere.

Although there are a few cottages, each cottage is situated to maximise privacy, to allow each resident to experience the wonderful life contained in the rainforest.

Only wish we could have stayed longer. It will stand out as one of the highlights of our trip to Australia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the Pioneer cottage..and what a wonderful spot! the four cottages are nestled in the rainforest in teh Crater Lakes Park. Evening barbeques for dinner worked out fine (great steaks from the local butcher in Yungaburra). Amzing bird life...some spectacular spiders (well...by English standards). The first night 'hamper' was a great start for the next morning.

Local interest was teh various strangler fig trees / Hypipimee crater / and platypus watching in the stream in Yungaburra... we were spoiled by a very coopertative little platypus!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Crater Lakes for 3 nights in late June/ early July. We were absolutely blown away by everything about the place. Spectacular location right in the middle of beautiful rainforest, abundant wildlife, excellent facilities. The service we received from our hosts was top notch and they are very friendly people. The cottages have everything you need and the little extras like fresh flowers, breakfast hamper and port were much appreciated. We can't wait to return to our now favorite holiday destination.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in the 'Bali' Cabin....huge bed and sumptuous bathroom and a verandah where the Victoria Rifle Birds could be tempted down by banana and give us the most amazing display....it was gloriously quiet....just the Spotted Catbirds calling at night in the forest....while sitting quietly by the pool in the garden we saw many many birds come to drink....a particular interest since my husband is a birdwatcher...Hastie's Swamp is particularly recommended for any birdwatchers....a big beautifully kept hide overlooking a large lake where there were Magpie Geese, Plumed Whistling Ducks, many Forest Kingfishers and Cranes feeding on the field opposite..... the 'breakfast hamper' provided was a great boon... particularly since we arrived in the dark and used some of it to make an evening meal so we didn't have to go out again that evening.... the little supermarket in Yungaburra (4 miles away) has a really good stock of food to make good meals in your cabin....whose kitchen is well supplied with everything you will need....VERY comfortable bed and huge spa bath were welcome after a day's exploring.

If you want a private, romantic hideaway somewhere spectacular.... this is the one...

particularly recommend the cream tea at Lake Barrine... warm scones just out of the oven and the best tea I have drunk anywhere....and walking the circular walk at Peterson's Creek in Yungaburra where if you are still and quiet you have a good chance of seeing a Platypus... as we did....have an orange and lemon fresh juice at the Whistle Stop Cafe....yummy and a delightfully whacky and hippy place to rest awhile...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages

Address: 1 Eacham Close, Yungaburra, Queensland 4884, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Yungaburra
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Yungaburra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury cottages in world heritage rainforest next to Lake Eacham far north Queensland 1 hours drive from Cairns international airport, Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crater Lakes Rainforest Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.