We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcomed and spoilt” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Allumbah Pocket Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Allumbah Pocket Cottages to your Saves list
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
24 - 26 Gillies Highway, Yungaburra, Queensland, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CONTACT US CLICK HERE
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Yungaburra
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Welcomed and spoilt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We felt warmly welcomed and very spoilt with a delicious breakfast package complete with freshly baked bread and all sorts of healthy treats. Cosy cottage with spa and log fire, simple but adequate kitchen facilities, comfortable bed and spacious bathroom. Central, clean, quiet and easy to find. Close to platypus viewing, walks and cafes. Beautiful goats milk soap supplied- buy some more and treat yourself - nicest soap ever! Great value and the owners even baked some more fresh bread for our third day. We would certainly stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet cottage at the end of the driveway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sallyanne45, Owner at Allumbah Pocket Cottages, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion of our facilities with others. Always an incentive for us to exceed guests expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night in August. This allowed us to explore the key atractions of the area, and be within reasonable distance from Cairns (about a 90 minute drive away). Given that the rates for the property next door (Eden House) were $100+ more expensive at the time, I thought it was good value. Note that the Eden House restaurant was shut down at the time of our stay.

The cottages are located on the main road of the town within easy walking distance of the amenities, however traffic noise and volume wasn't a problem.

The cottage is 1 bedroom, open plan. There are nice touches such as the vase of fresh roses on the table and goats milk toiletries. The reverse cycle air con was a bit noisy, but sufficiently heated up the cottage. The bathroom is large, however the shower stall had no door/curtain, resulting in a very wet floor. This dried out by the morning.

The king bed was very comfortable, with good quality linens and pillows.

The cottage was very clean throughout. The owners were very hospitable and provided alot of helpful advice on the local attractions.

The breakfast pack had a nice selection of local yogurt, muesli and fruit. The loaf of home baked bread was another nice touch. I would recommend paying extra for the breakfast pack rather than self catering from the local supermarket (actually works out cheaper this way). Free wifi was provided, and whilst the connection quality was patchy, it was still very useful given the poor mobile phone reception.

Note that many businesses in Yungaburra seem to be closed for 2 days a week, and start closing around 3-4pm in the afternoon on trading days. The heritage buildings in the town are worth checking out, including the historic pub, but save your "shopping" for when you arrive at one of the bigger towns; alot of the knick-knacks for sale in the little shops can be readily found elsewhere at less expense.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

If you are looking for a delightful little cottage that is attractive, well appointed and private, then look no further. The owners, Rob and Melanie and very friendly hosts who have put a lot of thought and effort into making this a great place to stay. Breakfasts are self cooked but all ingredients are provided ... locally produced eggs, jams, yoghurt, fresh strawberries, etc and also home baked bread which Melanie made herself and delivered warm from the oven. Such a treat! We were also able to check in early which is always a bonus!! As for Yungaburra, it is a very pleasant village with good walking trails and the like. It also has good eateries, quaint shops and a great little fashion boutique that is near the Allumbah Pocket Cottages. Worth a visit!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sallyanne45, Owner at Allumbah Pocket Cottages, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you so, so much for such an excellant review. Your comments have inspired us! Our new amenity, which I suspect you saw going up, a guest lounge and kitchen was finished last week. Its presence now allows guests to enjoy a 'happy hour' together admiring the garden, or 'playing' with the new smart TV on its wall. We are hoping that the new amenity will be the icing on the cake; guests can now meet each other, relax in comfy armchairs, read, get onto the internet, download bigpond movies or watch live sports on foxtel at their leaisure. Once again, thanks for taking the time to place a review, we are walking on air today.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Aust.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We were fortunate enough to spend a night at Allumbah Pocket Cottages, and will definitely be doing it again! Enjoyed the ambiance of the cottage, with its huge spa, queen bed and comfortable sitting area and enjoyed the tableland produce provided for breakfast so much that we stocked up on them before the drive home! Just lovely! Thank-you!

Room Tip: No pool but outside spa near the fully-stocked barbecue area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The "Allumbah Pocket" is the name of an area of rain forest in the locality. I expected the rooms to be very small, but they are very roomy. There were 3 in our party and we stayed in a one bedroom/sitting room setup with loads of space to spare.

Everything was very clean, our cottage was very private and the management were great. We had booked direct and continental breakfast was included. The breakfast items were of very high quality, including fresh fruit and excellent local produce.

The famous monthly market takes place just across the road from Allumbah Pocket Cottages and was extremely good. The Cottages are right in town, close to a fun restaurant and shops.

My only problem was with the lighting inside the bedroom, which we all agreed was too low to be able to read in comfort. But I'm giving the cottages a high rating because everything else was so well done. I'd like to return there one day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We spent only 1 night & could have stayed longer.

The cottages were lovely, very clean, well provisioned & the reception staff very friendly.
The rooms are very private & quiet which was quite surprising as they are just off the road leading in to town.

The only fault we found was that once you've used the spa the hot water runs out & you can't have a hot shower in the morning.

Would definitely recommend at stop here & a look at the gorgeous village of Yungaburra.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Only spent 1 night but would have been happy to stay longer. The cottage was lovely, spacious and very well equipped. The grounds are lovely.

Room Tip: All cottages seem to be much the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Allumbah Pocket Cottages, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for taking time out of a busy schedule to compliment out business. We much appreciate your review. Rob and Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Allumbah Pocket Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allumbah Pocket Cottages

Address: 24 - 26 Gillies Highway, Yungaburra, Queensland, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Yungaburra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Yungaburra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner 2012 Tourism Tropical North Queensland Hosted Accommodation Award! Self contained cottages right in the heart of Yungaburra. King bed, double spa, heritage ambience. Nestled in beautiful gardens. Free wifi and breakfast packages. Perfect getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Allumbah Pocket Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allumbah Pocket Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allumbah Pocket Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.