We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of the Atherton Tableland week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Barrine Tea House and Restaurant

Lake Barrine Tea House and Restaurant
Gillies Highway | Yungaburra, Yungaburra, Queensland QLD 4872, Australia
07 40 953 847
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 12 Restaurants in Yungaburra
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Bonbeach
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Highlight of the Atherton Tableland week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

If you only have time to visit one place make it the Lake Barrine Teahouse and book the boat cruise if you want to have a memorable experience. Our food was delicious and served by very friendly staff who were happy to fill us up on yummy salads and scones. The guide who took us on the boat cruise was excellent and we learnt so much about the Lake and the area. Being a Field Naturalist he was enthusiastic in his commentary and answered all our questions happily. What a great enviroment... for me it was a perfect day.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    32
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tinaroo, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Crater Lake Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The Devonshire Teas are a must do, balcony settings overlooking a crater lake with all the beauty a rainforest has to offer and more. I must go back to do the boat tour!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An afternoon at the Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

After doing a little rediscovering of the Tablelands region & realising places were no longer in operation in other towns, we decided to head for home & call in for a spot of Lunch at the very pleasant Lake Barrine Tea House & Restaurant, only to be confronted by a busier than usual Lunchtime bustle. The popular & very pleasant spot beside the Lake was getting visited aplenty by Families & more. Even though the staff were rushed off their feet by in the influx of visitors on the day, they were keeping their cool, very well, indeed.
Lining up to place an order took about twenty or so minutes, but this had nothing to do with the staff, this was due to the amount of visitors there. Staff informed of the longer than usual wait time & gave the customer the opinion of having a meal or one of their 'famous' devonshire teas. We were happy to wait for a meal & having ordered 'The Lot Burger', were not disappointed.
Even though, with the amount of visitors there, on the day, the atomphere was still one of pleasantness.
On a 'normal' day.....sitting on the balcony overlooking the lake, enjoying one of their famous Devonshire teas with homemade award-winning scones, is a MUST-DO of a Tablands visit.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The boat tour which leaves from the tea house is amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We visited Lake Barrine Tea House on the recommendation of the Cairns tourist information and it didn't disappoint. The Tea House itself directly overlooks the lake and is a great place to relax with a coffee and a cake. The highlight for us was the boat cruise with guided nature tour which is also run from the Tea House. We cruised around the lake for an hour guided by a wonderful gentleman who introduced us to the wildlife of the lake. To our surprise and delight we were introduced to terapins, ducks, a wealth of native birds, eels, a bearded dragon and the most impressive of all ... a python! All from a safe distance I hasten to add! For us, this tour was a real highlight of the trip, I highly recommend it to anyone visiting Lake Barrine and the surrounding areas.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charters Towers, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely country teahouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

My husband and I visited the Lake Barrine Teahouse over Easter this year. The restaurant had a great selection of eats and the Devonshire teas are super too. We had bottomless coffee and scones while relaxing on the outdoor patio overlooking the lake. Service was given with a smile. I would definitely recommend it to everyone!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Barrine Tea House and Restaurant also viewed

Yungaburra, Queensland
Yungaburra, Queensland
 
Yungaburra, Queensland
 

Been to Lake Barrine Tea House and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Barrine Tea House and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.