We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flynn's Restaurant

Flynn's Restaurant
17 Eacham Road, Yungaburra, Queensland, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Yungaburra
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Established 2002. We are a small restaurant serving quality fresh food made from local produce. We cook French /Italian cuisine. Family friendly. Children's meals are available. Fully licensed, we serve quality wines, beers and spirits. Wheelchair accessible.
Nerang, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delightful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Had a lovely French inspired lunch at Flynns. Fresh, delicious and we'll worth the visit. Great service from our friendly polish waitress. Thanks Liam.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovation17, Owner at Flynn's Restaurant, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear MRB08,

Thank you for your delightful feedback on a our little restaurant, Flynn's, in Yungaburra Village.
Sadly my waitress, Sophie, has returned to her home in Paris where she is continuing her studies in journalism, but I have passed on your lovely remarks to her and she sends her regards.
But we are still cooking up food with love here and we look forward to hosting you again whenever you next visit the beautiful Atherton Tableland region and Yungaburra.

Warmest wishes and many thanks,
Liam Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    19
    5
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Give it a miss the prices are way too high for the quality of the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The food is ok but for the prices we paid the food should have been amazing the experience was average at best I had the duck which was ok a little overlooked and a tiny sides then we order salad which was missing something the taste just wasn't there then we had creme brûlée and to my amazement it was burnt on the top we also had chocolate dessert which again was ok we tried
Several dishes between the three of us and all we're not to be praised and were only just passable
I was disappointed with the whole experience and my family and I will not go back in my option they need to change the menu or charge according to the food quality pub food at best

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovation17, Owner at Flynn's Restaurant, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi M H,
We are dismayed by your poor review of our restaurant. Poor in content and poorly written.
You mention that the Brulee was burnt on top. But that's how it should be as "Creme Brulee" means "Burnt Cream" in French. Google some images of Creme Brulee and you will find that they are exactly as we serve it here.
You say that "Something was missing - the taste" from the salad and that everything you ate here was "just passable" and comparable to pub food. Wow you must eat in some amazing pubs. I would suggest that something is missing with you - like a general sense of good taste.
You mention our prices are way too high, yet our prices are lower than many restaurants in Cairns and surrounds, places that we beat regularly in independent industry awards that recognize the high quality of food and service that we provide. In fact our lunch prices are comparable to the local pub. But your comparison of our real food to that of a pub is laughable to say the least.
You mention the chocolate cake as being "OK". Everyone else who eats it reckons it is the best chocolate cake they have ever had! Which is not surprising because we use fresh local farm eggs and the world's finest chocolate to make it. Callebaut Chocolate from Belgium if you must know. But with your poor taste, perhaps you prefer Cadbury's.
When asked by the waitress if everything was alright, why didn't you tell us about your opinions of our food? You lied and said everything was good. We are always willing to change things if there is a problem. We remember you and we are delighted that people like you will be eating somewhere else next time. Our food is obviously too good for you and your family.

Regards,
Liam Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing staff and food! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Just had a fantastic lunch here! Sonia and Liam are amazing and they try to cater to your dietary needs as much as they can! They are vegan/vegetarian so it wasn't hard for them to turn the menu into vegan options! Definitely recommend this place! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovation17, Owner at Flynn's Restaurant, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear VeganSabine,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We really enjoyed having you dine with us. We are especially happy that we could accommodate you with your love of vegan food. We always do our best to serve anyone who may not prefer meat options and as a matter of course we usually have quite a few gluten free options on our small daily menu. As you experienced we prepare our food with love which we enjoy serving to our happy guests. We look forward to serving you again next time you visit from Cairns.

Warmest regards and many thanks,
Liam Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Marvellous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

What a surprise to find such a good chef in a little country town. We were hoping for a reasonably good meal - our expectations were well and truly exceeded. All the food was to a high standard and the chef's crème brûlée is just astonishingly good.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovation17, Owner at Flynn's Restaurant, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Hi KenB111,

We are delighted that we managed to exceed your expectations and also with your thoughtful review of our little place here in beautiful Yungaburra Village.
All our food is cooked with love and we really enjoy making our guests happy.

Warmest regards and many thanks,
Liam Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“An enjoyable dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The food is always nice (have eaten here 4 or 5 times over the last few years) as is the atmosphere. The serving staff are always polite and attentive. One of the nicer restaurants in Yungerburra. The only negative is that the chef/owner is sometimes unnecessarily rude/ demanding of his staff, which I found off putting.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovation17, Owner at Flynn's Restaurant, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Hi Sarah M,

Thank you for your positive review of our little restaurant, Flynn's in Yungaburra. We are happy that you enjoy the food and atmosphere that we provide. At times in past, I admit I have been prone to stress and a short temper and this is something that I taken steps to improve upon and with successful results.Kitchen work is highly stressful in a busy kitchen.
I hope that you join us next time you visit Yungaburra and I look forward to cooking for you with a much calmer demeanor in the kitchen.

Warmest wishes and many thanks,
Liam Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flynn's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Flynn's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flynn's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.