We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yellow Cabin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Eacham Tourist Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lake Eacham Tourist Park to your Saves list
Lake Eacham Tourist Park
Lakes Drive, Lake Eacham, Yungaburra, Queensland, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Keynsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yellow Cabin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We spent 3 very comfortable nights in the Yellow Cabin. It was equipped with everything we needed, and the owners couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. The area is delightful and the walk round Eacham Lake not to be missed. We enjoyed meeting the livestock and feeding them some treats. The free wi-fi was a bonus while enjoying our delicious Devonshire Tea.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here two nights as a base to explore the area. We enjoyed our stay very much. The couple that run the lodge were extremely helpful in pointing out the highlights in the area. They also have a well stocked store with lots of food and souvenirs. We stayed in a cabin that was cozy and home-like. The parking next to the cabin was very tight for our 4W drive. We took night walks along the road and spot-lighted quite a bit of wildlife. The cabin comes equipped with a full kitchen so we stocked up on food and did our own cooking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Entrance NSW
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

It's not often you find a hidden treasure like this, but when you do it makes all the travelling worthwhile. Set in rainforest, this park is within walking distance to beautiful Lake Eacham. Lionel and Liz have been running the park for going on 9 years and they continue to offer exceptional value for money. As a single I paid just $20 for a powered site - very reasonable. The amenities are clean and there's plenty of hot water. There is a small general store that will supply you with just about all the things you'll need or might have forgotten - bread, milk, groceries, a freezer with steaks, sausages etc. etc. And the best part is that most items are almost at supermarket prices!

But wait - there's more! This is one of the only parks I've been to that offers FREE WiFi! Sit in the very pretty garden and type away to your heart's content surrounded by birds and the tinkling of a fountain. And while you're at it you just have to have the Devonshire tea. A mug of flat white (excellent coffee) two light and fluffy scones with (real) whipped cream and strawberry jam, all for $6.50! Yes, that's not a misprint. You could pay up to triple that in some places and not get the quality.

This is a special place and one that will hold some very pleasant memories for me. If you're travelling on the Atherton tablelands, don't miss it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This site is the kind of place I love, down to earth, quirky, maybe a bit old fashioned, but has everything you need and the location is fantastic. Nearby is the beautiful Lake Eacham, a terrific place for a swim and all around are amazing birds and beautiful flowers and the ancient trees of the rainforest.. The owners are friendly and welcoming and run a good shop (petrol also available) Thank goodness there are still places left like this,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

This is budget accommodation at its best. Basic cute cabins, chooks wandering around and close to the magnificent Lake Eacham. Very friendly and knowledgeable hosts make this a great base for exploring the area. Great HCT toasties and excellent coffee. Good for birding . Lovely spot.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Our first impression was that we'd arrived in heaven the grounds and the area surrounding are truly beautiful the peace and quiet just the sounds of the variety of birds. The town of yungaburra is quite pretty. There is a great gem store there. The cabins themselves are quite ordinary. We had one with two rooms one is a lounge room with divan, separate outdoor toilet and shower with this one.basic kitchen we didn't use crockery or utensils because we'd brought our own and we were glad because the stuff in the kitchen cupboards wasn't very clean. The beds are uncomfortable and the whole place smelt so we opened up the windows and put a few gardenias in bowls to combat this. If the state of cabin doesn't bother you then it's worth it for the tranquility the sound of those beautiful birds

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The site itself is well laid out and the cabins are suitable if you are going to be out most of the time. I liked the verandah where we could sit in the evening with a glass of wine watching the local wild life and listening to the noise of birds and insects. The hosts were very friendly and well-informed about everything on offer in the neighbourhood. We got lost a few times and they were very helpful in directing us. There is a shop on site for all basic needs and although we had our own bathroom the two teenage girls with us preferred to use the shower block as it was bigger and had more room to spread all their beauty stuff around. There is a camp kitchen for the people in caravans but the girls used to go down in the evening to play board games and get out of our hair. The lake itself is just over a kilometer away so it is possible to walk and only takes two minutes in the car. There is everything at the lake if you want to spend a full day - picnic tables, barbecues, toilets, changing rooms and easy access for swimming. There is also a proper track all the way round the lake and it makes an interesting short walk.

Room Tip: All the cabins are in a row so position doesn't matter but if you go when it is very hot only 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Eacham Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Eacham Tourist Park

Address: Lakes Drive, Lake Eacham, Yungaburra, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Yungaburra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Yungaburra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Lake Eacham Tourist Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Eacham Tourist Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.