We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks Geoff for your kindness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outback Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Outback Motel to your Saves list
Outback Motel
95 Elderslie St, Winton, Queensland, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Winton B&B and Inns
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Thanks Geoff for your kindness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

After driving from Cairns we couldn't find any accommodation. I called the Outback who also told me they were full. However, he kindly offered us the Queenslander which was perfect, ok it's not modern but it was comfy and we would happily stay there again. Although I'm sorry Geoff and Lynn but you can keep your water in Winton, my goodness, I'd heard the reputation Winton water had but........ Lol. It's one way to make sure you don't stay in the shower longer than a minute ;)

Room Tip: Personally I would opt for the Queenslander if you have children, it may not be modern but it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    15
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
14
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed in the new section. Room was clean and well equipped. There is now a bypass for heavy vehicles, so they no longer thunder through outside the motel. Wi-fi, but until the new router extension is fitted, not in the new section, where we stayed, but near the Office. Works well there.

We slept well

Room Tip: New section's probably better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

No wardrobes to hang clothes, noise is a major concern.

Wifi is promoted, but not accessible in portables!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

After spending two weeks at Burketown we found the Outback Motel at Winton and we could not have been treated better. Jeff & Lyn are the most friendly hosts I have ever come across in my travels. The motel is neat and clean, rates are great. I would highly recommend if you are travelling up that way stay at the outback Motel you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Just stop and ask you will not be disappointed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Innes NSW
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Fairly standard (for western Qld) donga style accommodation. Bed was comfortable, and room was clean and well appointed. However, the shower was a little cramped, and the sulfurous water can take some getting used to.
Owner was very accommodating, and his recommendation of the Tattersall's Hotel for dinner was very accurate. Wireless internet connection was free and no problems encountered.

Room Tip: Reserve a room before you travel. Especially in tourist season, bookings can come in thick and fast
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
330 helpful votes 330 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Winton has the reputation of being “Queensland’s friendliest town” (2009) and I daresay it is well-deserved. Almost everyone we met in town smiled at us, even though we were passing through and staying one night.
The friendly service continued at the Outback Motel, with the owner persuading me to check out one of his 6 newly-built rooms; each with ensuite bathroom and carport. These rooms looked bright and welcoming compared to the older rooms which were available for around $100. $120 later and we were using Room 16's tea-and-coffee-making facilities, munching our complimentary Arnotts.

The motel provides free wi-fi internet, although the only drawback of the newer rooms is that they are not situated near the access spot (Reception). The bed was clean and comfortable, the large screen TV had Austar, the bathroom was spotless and had a remarkably large shower – unlike what you normally find in motels.
The Outback Motel was also a short walk to what looked like the only place to order a cooked meal on a weeknight – the Tattersalls Hotel. Friendly bar staff, relatively quick service (for a country town!) and a pub manager with a penchant for frog-spotting; all made for a good night out.
I would definitely recommend the Outback Motel as a comfortable and convenient place to stay, and Winton a worthwhile town in which to stop.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Stayed at the Outback Motel for two nights. Very clean, comfortable and easy to walk into town or to the Tattersalls hotel for a meal. A pool would have been nice. Good wi-fi connectivity.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outback Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outback Motel

Address: 95 Elderslie St, Winton, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Winton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Winton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winton Outback Motel is centrally located in the heart of historic Winton. Home to the famous Waltzing Matilda Centre and close to excellent dining and outback pub experiences. The property offers 20 new and newly refurbished rooms including three upstairs family units. All rooms have private bathroom and tea/coffee making facilities. Free parking onsite and off-road. Come along and meet your friendly hosts Geoffrey and Lynn who love to show you around their home town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Outback Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outback Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.