We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tattersalls Hotel

Tattersalls Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tattersalls Hotel
Save
You added Tattersalls Hotel to your Saves list
78 Elderslie Street, Winton, Queensland 4735 , Australia   |  
Ranked #4 of 5 Winton B&B and Inns
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yummy dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We can't comment on the rooms, but we had a great dinner here while staying in Winton.
We arrived and were greeted by a friendly man asking how he could help us. He showed us the blackboard dinner menu and offered us a drink as we looked at it.
I ordered a mango chili chicken salad an my husband ordered a beef lasagne. Both our meals came in good portions an were really yummy.
We say outside and watched the sun go down over the town. We had a really good evening... Thanks for making our night so lovely!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
7
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Across from our accomodation, the hotel and 'pub grub' were recommended to us and we partook of a chicken parmi with veg and chips. While the veges were good, the chicken parmi was burnt black as a Dunlop tyre and the chips never arrived until they were asked for well after the main meal was finished. A bad night, I don't know, but small portion burnt chicken and having to ask for a part of the meal was certainly a downer for this pub on this night.
Willing to give it another go but I certainly hope and expect a better meal next time due to the previously glowing reviews.

Room Tip: Order the barra as it was well cooked and very tasy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I really wish we had a few more days here to sample more from the menu. Everyone friendly, children welcome, food delicious.
I was not sure what the food would be like especially as it was so well priced, so went with a steak sanga, when my OH's meal came out my mouth was watering, he had a lovely ham steak, cooked to perfection, fresh veg and buttered new potatoes.
If ever we are travelling through again we will be calling in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Let's face it, the best one can hope for in the great Australian Outback in terms of food is "simple and honest." Tattersalls pub/restaurant is such a beautiful surprise. I've read the reviews, and took them with a grain of salt.
Thank goodness, we decided to have our one main meal in Winton there, even though staying across the road.
The barramundi was sensational, melting in our mouths. Surf and turf's steak cooked to perfection, pink, tender and glorious. Apple pie and chocolate cake just perfect. The only giveaway that we were not eating in one of urban top eateries was food's presentation, but we kept closing our eyes with delight, the taste and textures of what we ate were so good, so who cares.
Thank you for such an amazing experience, heart warming Outback pub atmosphere, and Paul's gorgeous hospitality.
Do not miss out on that when next in Winton.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We've eaten here three of four times now - on our way to or from points further west. The restaurant is on the footpath, under the pub awning. The locals drink just around the corner - as well as in the Bar. Very atmospheric - one of the local's pooches wandered close by. Made it all feel really 'outback'.

You order at the bar - and the food is good. Hearty, tasty meals - with reasonably priced wine available, as well as all the usual bar drinks.

A genuine rural Queensland experience, good value and honest friendly service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Great friendly pub. The rooms are clean and cheap and the food is pretty damn sensational! Paul the publican and his staff are friendly and helpful with local attractions etc. Great value!

Room Tip: Try not to get one near the front verandah. If other guests are out there being noisy it makes sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

What a beautiful pub. We ate on the verandah, it is a magical place. The wooden columns and blinds create a great space. The street scape is quiet and pretty. The furniture simple and comfortable.

Our group of 6 arrived on Sunday night, so only the roasts were on the menu. I had the lamb: delicious, simple home cooking, generous servings.

Couldn't persuade Paul the owner to come to our Social Media and Marketing talk the next morning: too busy!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tattersalls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tattersalls Hotel

Address: 78 Elderslie Street, Winton, Queensland 4735 , Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Winton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Winton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tattersalls Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.