We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, basic and good space” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Tinaroo Holiday Park

Lake Tinaroo Holiday Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tinaroo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Tinaroo Holiday Park
Save
You added Lake Tinaroo Holiday Park to your Saves list
4 - 28 Tinaroo Falls Dam Road, Tinaroo, Queensland 4872, Australia (Formerly Discovery Holiday Parks)   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable, basic and good space”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

As above and also was very quiet. Was nice to wake up to the bird life sounds. Grounds very neat and tidy. Lake access is good. Overall it is a nice place to stay, especially if one brings a fishing rod !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
13
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mackay, queensland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in a Superior Villa. Was really happy with the service, facilities, cleanliness, location and price. Everything was great. Only one disappointment. We stayed here because you could hire boats to take to the lake. My partner was so excited to go fishing with my father and son. So we went to hire the boat and was told that park staff must launch the boat for you. That was fine with us. Problem was they was only one person on all day that day so they had no one to launch it as they couldn't leave the office. Very disappointed. Couldn't you put a sign on the door saying 'back in 10 mins'? Especially seeing that the lake is directly over the road it would only take 10 mins to back the boat in. We were paying customers who had stayed here for the exact reason of hiring a boat. Not to mention that all day that day, and every other day, the boats sat out the front with 'HIRE ME' written on them. Bit of false advertising. You would think during the Easter Holidays that you would have enough staff on to cover someone hiring a boat. Disappointed :(

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara-Jane Q, Manager at Lake Tinaroo Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi Keenie 1979 I understand your frustration and was not aware of this issue. Thankyou for your feedback and if you can contact me I would like to discuss this further. Regards Kara-Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mortlake, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here in on of the family cabins (sleeps 6).
The cabin was warm and cosy and the setting was very tranquil in the bush.
The best part is it is right across the road from the Park Headquarters and therefore right on the edge of the park.
The staff at checkin were friendly and helpful and the shop had a great range of groceries at a reasonable price. (Surprising given the location).
The only negative was the bed in the cabin. A lousy nights sleep on a lumpy hard mattress.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I've been here before and I was doing a triathlon the next day and I needed somewhere to stay I also had my mum with me. So I rang up and I got a friendly greeting over the phone and I got a great deal because I'm a local. The staff are great with their service and we had great budget accommodation. I would fully recommend this Hotel to anyone. It's a cooler climate, good for short and long breaks and for family fun weekends. Had a great time and it was nice to be away from home for a change.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara-Jane Q, Manager at Lake Tinaroo Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay look forward to seeing you next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Older style accomodation at a 5 star city price in the 'heart' of down town Lake Tinaroo at the height of the "Barra Bash" will cost you around $280 for 2 nights.
The accomodation, while clean and tidy was mediocre ESPECIALLY the double bed (which was a Sealy brand..) One bedroom with a sleepout (two single beds) and one large airconditioner which cooled the whole place if you turned it right down to freezing in the TV/Kitchen/sleepout..

Every day was a new experience to see where you ached the most, caused by the stiff as a brick wall mattress and screaming pipes from the adjoining unit when the water was turned on.

While the staff are friendly, you are very much a captive audience and a 5 star hotel about a 'kay away would be a much better option and as we found, nearly the same cost ($40 difference in the same time period)

Value for money - don't even consider it in peak periods
Access to the Lake - good, but everywhere around has the same accessability.
Cleanliness - good, but expected for near 300 bucks and the beds weren't even made daily, no change of towels and a nice little note in the kichen advising that if you make a mess, you would be charged a clean up fee..?

We couldn't wait to bug out, this one will never be considered again.

Oh and a cancellation fee would not be considered if you had already booked in..proudly displayed in reception.

Room Tip: Don't expect anything more than a 2 star TOPS at the old accomodation block
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn P, Manager at Lake Tinaroo Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Bob S,
Thank you for your trip advisor comments. We appreciate any feedback that is constructive. We strive to provide clean accommodation at all levels and I will pass on your positive comments to our team.
Discovery Holiday Parks Lake Tinaroo was given the four star rating by AAA Tourism based on selective criteria judged across all of our accommodation. We do have accommodation from 2 star up to 4 star. With consideration given to your comments it would be assumed that you were in the lower rated accommodation offered at $139 per night for two people staying. This is far from any “5 star city accommodation prices” advertised even on special. The Barra Bash weekend is a peak season with accommodation fast filling for next year’s event.
The Standard Family Units have been found to have a pipe hammer and this will be addressed this week by our plumbers. We have been unaware of this issue up until now as it has not been reported to us.
All advertising material from the “5 Star Hotel about a kay away” shows this as Rated four and a half stars by AAA with Mid-week specials priced higher than the $ 40 difference claimed. As with all accommodation providers we have a cancellation policy and the statement on the wall is “Please book carefully, No refunds for early departures or cancellation once arrived” has been recommended by Government departments. I do not refute your claim that the accommodation chosen for your stay was 2.0 stars however I would suggest that if you seek a higher rating then book accordingly to save disappointment.

Kind regards
Kathryn Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tinaroo hotels

Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The family and I stayed in one of the water front cabins at the Holiday Park and it was lovely!
There were 5 of us and we fitted well into the cabin, it was a bit snug, but easily to cope with.
The cabin was clean, had comfy beds and appropriate facilities. But the view was the main thing, we could look over lake Tinaroo and it was a 2 min walk from the cabin to the lakes edge.

The staff were friendly and helpful.
The only issue we had was that the hot water heater for the cabin was small and 3 people showering drained all the hot water.

Overall, it was a lovely stay and we are planning to return to this site again in the future!

Room Tip: The waterfront cabins were lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn P, Manager at Lake Tinaroo Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We strive to make your stay as comfortable and as memorable as possible and to have achieved that is the best thank you we can receive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Derbyshire, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed in April 2012, just ahead of Easter.

As the Easter 2012 weekend was threatening to fill up places at Cooktown and The Daintree, the owners kindly rang ahead for us, at their own expense, and confirmed that spaces would be available for us and the campsites there. They even convinced one of the campsites to take a booking for us on trust. That took the pressure off us, and for that we were very grateful.

Generally the Tinaroo setting is delightful, and the location ideal for about 3 nights of running around the Tablelands. Get up in the morning and take in the birdsong down by the lake as the sunrises over the misty lake.
I have some more photos on flickr if you copy this link
http://www.flickr.com/photos/andrewjansen/sets/72157629420060200/

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn P, Manager at Lake Tinaroo Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. As a team we all work together to provide the best hospitlaity we possibly can. We appreciate it is sometimes daunting travelling off into places unknown so if we can make the transition between two places more relaxing then we will do so without hesitation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Tinaroo Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tinaroo Holiday Park

Address: 4 - 28 Tinaroo Falls Dam Road, Tinaroo, Queensland 4872, Australia (Formerly Discovery Holiday Parks)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Tinaroo
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Tinaroo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a short walk opposite Lake Tinaroo, set on 18 acres of beautiful land, we have a well equipped grocery store, reception, plenty of powered and unpowered sites, accommodation from budget to luxury waterfront villas. Camp kitchen, large BBQ pit for large groups and a cafe / take away, located to the right of Reception. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Tinaroo Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.