We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabins pretty good (for a stopover)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Theodore

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Theodore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Theodore
Save
You added Hotel Theodore to your Saves list
The Boulevard, Theodore, Queensland 4719, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Theodore B&B and Inns
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cabins pretty good (for a stopover)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Spent about 4 nights in the river side cabins over Christmas - surprisingly pleasant. Not luxurious by any stretch of the imagination - they seem to be set up for time-on-time-off mine workers. But well appointed, self contained, air conditioned (essential in this part of the world), one double bed & two singles in a separate room, satellite TV, and great verandahs overlooking the Dawson River, which are perfect for drinking a relaxing beer at the end of the day. Restaurant in the pub (which the cabins are attached to) probably won't win any Michelin Stars, but offers well priced typical pub food in a classic pub setting. Cabins might be a tad overpriced, but (as mentioned) they are aimed at well paid mine workers. Most people probable wouldn't voluntarily spend 5 days in Theodore in the middle of Summer, but if you do (and especially if there's more than 2 of you), the Theodore Hotel cabins are a good option.

Room Tip: Further from the main bar, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QldHotelTheodore, Manager at Hotel Theodore, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you Lockmac07 for your comments. We always appreciate feedback from our guests and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately we cannot do anything about the Central Queensland heat except to ensure that the air-conditioners are working and the beer that you can enjoy on your cabin's verandah is cold! We have recently undertaken a whole-of-complex refurbishment so on your next visit you can enjoy new beds, linen, curtains and furniture throughout as well as new bathrooms in most of our motel units. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to our lovely town!
Trish Cotterell - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
5
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I had the displeasure of being stuck in Theodore during flood season, and this is where I had to stay. Yes the hotel was cheap, but it was nasty too! The room was old and empty, consisting of 2 single tube beds that were so bare you could feel the springs of the mattress, a small cupboard, and a plastic garden chair. Beware, shared bahroom facilities was unpleasant, putrid, and scary! The staff were generally uninviting, and the 'regulars' treated you like a piece of garbage. On the positive, there were noisy air conditioners in each room, and 2 foxtel channels on the tv. Oh, and don't forget thr food, which was very cheap for a huge tasty portion, but you'll be up with diarrhea all night. Wouldn't ever come here by choice!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QldHotelTheodore, Manager at Hotel Theodore, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you wattostudios for your feedback. We are sorry that you found our facilities to be so unsatisfactory however we can advise that since your stay with us we have undertaken a whole-of-premises refurbishment. Our Hotel rooms are still Hotel rooms but now boast new beds and linen, curtains, furnishings. The entire complex boasts new beds, linen and furnishings and many of our motel units have new bathrooms. Our staff are experienced, enthusiastic and friendly and we hope that should you decide to stay with us again, we can impress you with our updated facilities and attitude.
Trish Cotterell - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The accommodation in the Motel was very good for the price $95 a night. It was Clean and Basic with a lovely spacious shower. The toilet didnt smell to fresh, a bit of disinfectant wouldnt go amiss. We ate in the bar and had Steak for dinner which was a typical country pub meal. Cant complain. Although if you order the Rib Eye Fillet you will get a Scotch Fillet steak, so dont be surprised. Had a few beers, an excellent sleep and then in the morning ordered breakfast, which again was a typical country pub breakfast quality. I had poached eggs and my man had the big breakfast, value for money okay. I would definitely stay again BUT only in the MOTEL rooms. A tip would be to book in advance and ask for a MOTEL room.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool. Room 22 was a good one, near the road but very quiet. Most excellent bake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QldHotelTheodore, Manager at Hotel Theodore, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you Kazzav for your feedback. We always appreciate it when patrons take the opportunity to comment on our facilities or services. We are pleased you found the Motel room to your satisfaction and apologise for any concerns you had about hygiene. We continually revisit and review our cleaning procedures so believe that on your next stay with us, you should have no concerns. You will be pleased to know that all our accommodations have had some refurbishments - new beds in all motels and cabins and in most Hotel rooms, new soft furnishings throughout and much more. We can recommend our two bedroom self-contained cabins for any larger groups and we are soon to open eight single-persons accommodation units! Oh yes, a swimming pool would be great too although for now, any fitness fanatics can enjoy the marked walking and running trails around the town and our guests have access to the town's community gym! We look forward to welcoming you back to Theodore and the Hotel Theodore. Cheers, Trish Cotterell - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Mackay, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Clean basic motel accommodation of which there are approx 11 units and also 19 separate cabins. The motel units are clean, basic with fridge & a good aircon (a must in the QLD heat). The bathroom is good with door on toilet and roomy main area. Shower is very good. The hotel has a bistro with very reasonable meals. The area is peaceful, Theodore is a small town, dependent on nearby mines,gas & roadworks. You should book ahead. There is a breakfast available and expresso coffee.

Room Tip: Motel units for two people, any more take a cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QldHotelTheodore, Manager at Hotel Theodore, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review the Hotel Theodore JamesL. We appreciate all feedback. We are very proud of our community owned Hotel and are very pleased to advise that we have recently undertaken a refurbishment of all the accommodation. Our cabins, motels and hotel rooms now boast new beds, soft furnishings and some furniture and many of our motel rooms have new bathrooms. So we look forward to making your next stay with us even better!
Trish Cotterell - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Theodore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Theodore

Address: The Boulevard, Theodore, Queensland 4719, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Theodore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Theodore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A range of accommodation styles from self contained, two-bedroom cabins, motel rooms and budget Hotel rooms. All newly refurbished, clean and comfortable. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Theodore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.