We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Leichhardt Hotel/Motel

Leichhardt Hotel/Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Taroom
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Leichhardt Hotel/Motel
Dawson Street, Taroom, Queensland QLD 4420, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Taroom
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Rang and booked a room. Drove 150km to get there only to be told that they had looked at the wrong night and there were no rooms. Didn't give a damn that I had no where to sleep. Couldn't have cared less. Will never go near that place again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
1
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moree, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here twice in the past mth or so, getting in late and leaving early so cant comment on the food at the pub but i have had good sleeps both times. Very clean tidy and the rooms down the back are huge. Everyone i have delt with on the ph has been very plesant and helpful. Only issue was hot water took forever to come through but was really hot so no complaints here. I will continue to stay here on trips up nth. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsthorpe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

When working in Taroom this last week I had the misfortune of attending this hotel for meals, when my meal arrived, which was supposed to be a rib on the bone I got a rib fillet and when I said that this is not what I ordered I was told to just eat my meal and p... off and don't come back. The Manager of this establishment was very rude towards me and told me I did not know what a good meal was. In the process of the inquiry he also told the butcher and the butcher made comment on How was my meal? And I do not think that it is right to be asked to east a meal that I did not order and I paid (27.50) for a rib on the bone and was given a rib fillet. I would really like to discuss this with the owner of the establishment as there is no point of discussing this with the manager as his attitude towards customers is wrong.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingham, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

What a great spot for a stop-over when travelling from Brisbane to Rockhampton or Emerald.
The rooms are comfortable and warm (it gets down to zero overnight), The bistro gives you a good choice at reasonable prices and the bar staff are friendly. Set close to the river Taroom is a small clean country town well worth a visit and the road from Miles to Banana (named after a big yellow bull) is a very pleasant drive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2007

This was an experience out of the ordinary; A dusty little village consisting only of a few houses in the middle of nowhere.
The village is known mainly because the explorer Leichhardt cut his name in a tree there before the village existed.
The Leichhardt Hotel Motel is the combination of a motel, a restaurant, a pub, and a drive through off-license.
The staff consists of members of the same family and they were all very serviceminded and friendly. Even the dog was friendly...
The rooms are placed in separate bungalows behind the pub. They were clean and without much additional furniture apart from a table and a few chairs. Breakfast was served to the room in the morning.
The steaks served in the 'restaurant' part of the pub are gigantic (seen from a European viewpoint at least) and the atmosphere in the pub very very local. Nearly like stepping into a road movie...

  • Liked — Familiar feeling about the establishment
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Still looking for a hotel?
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taroom
Heritage Lodge Motel 4.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews Cattle Camp Motel 3.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
Show Prices
View all 1 hotels in Taroom, ranked by popularity

Been to Leichhardt Hotel/Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leichhardt Hotel/Motel

Address: Dawson Street, Taroom, Queensland QLD 4420, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Taroom
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Taroom
Also Known As:
Leichhardt Hotel/ Hotel Taroom
Leichhardt Hotel/Motel Taroom, Queensland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leichhardt Hotel/Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Leichhardt Hotel/Motel to your Saves list