We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small well kept Motel in a lovely town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tramway Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tramway Motel to your Saves list
Tramway Motel
110 Broad Street, Sarina, Queensland 4737, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sarina
Bundaberg Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“small well kept Motel in a lovely town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Very nice Motel, although it was sugar cane harvesting time and we did have the cane railway right next to the Motel.
It didn't worry us too much as we are from the Bunaberg area so we are used to cane trains!
Lovely rooms big enough for the two of us, very clean and very comfortable bed.
There is a new shopping centre behind the Motel which is very handy and if you want you can walk around the corner to get to it rather than drive your car.
The grounds are a credit to the owners kept very tidy and pleasant on the eye. Pool looked lovely we didn't try it as it was still a bit cool I would think in another month or so we would have enjoyed a dip in the pool though!
The owner was very friendly too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
10
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

As a business traveler, this is the perfect motel for me. With a large room, that is exceptionally clean, & well fitted out, more than enough desk/bench space to work and organize meals on etc.
All mod cons including a larger than standard bar fridge, microwave, tea & coffee, as well as good air-con and ceiling fans. I have yet to find decent accommodation in Mackay, so for a quick 30 minute drive, well worth the effort. Also shower water pressure is excellent (and good for tall people) as well as the free Wi Fi. Will stay here from now on every time I pass through the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had stayed two days and two nights and our accomdation was excellent, the beds are the most comfortable of beds (ever), cleaning services is 10/10 and the staff are so friendly. The swimming pool was so clean, and in the perfect of spots, the main road and busy traffic didn't bother me, in fact I forgot it was there. I love my early morning walks, the local amenities in Sarina are walking distance and so convienient. The managers are lovely people, always smiling, and having a dog there, it gives it that family warmth to it, like home. I am so glad I chose the Tramway Motel to stay, although I wish I had extended our stay longer, rather than having to stay two nights at Sarina Beach (sigh!). I will definately be making the Tramway Motel my next holiday retreat, thank you for making my stay, Perfect guys. I will certainly be recommending your Motel to my family and friends in NSW.

Room Tip: Rooms 12-10 are quieter and private and away from the busy road. There is a clothesline at the side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the tramway for one night and found it a lovely place to stay. While the room was very clean and comfortable, the grounds were also very well kept and peaceful to be in.

The owners David and Michael were very pleasant and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the two room cottage. Good value considering that there is bedding for five and you could comfortably squeeze in eight for an overnighter. It actually works out cheaper to book the two room cottage which is very cosy instead of booking two individual rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

I have been a loyal customer of the Tramway for the last 10 years but David's behaviour has ensured I will never stay again. The Tramway has always been happy for my dog (that has also been travelling with me for over ten years) to sleep overnight in the car. This year David refused to believe that the dog stays in the car and without any hesitation charged me an additional $65 for cleaning!!!!Apparently my dog that never enters the rooms is responsible for the stained carpet in room 11. Be very wary of this owner, I doubt I am the only person to be stung by his unscrupulous behaviour!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tramway110, Owner at Tramway Motel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thanks for your review. There is nothing unscrupulous about enforcing our Pet Policy which was given to you. It clearly states there is a $15 fee for each pet and a minimum cleaning fee of $50. It is indeed a shame when the behaviour of a minority few affects the outcome for the majority of responsible pet owners.

TRAMWAY MOTEL PETS POLICY
Tramway Motel is a pet friendly motel that understands pets are an extension of your family. We do welcome pets for overnight stays only, however, they must have their own bedding as we do not allow dogs on our beds, furniture, carpet etc.
A pet fee of $15.00 is required for each pet. (Maximum 2) Rooms for guests staying with pets undergo special cleaning procedures including the use of specially-filtered vacuums to remove pet allergens in preparation for subsequent guests.
Pets must not be left unattended in the motel room.
Dogs may be exercised on grassed areas at the side and rear of the property. Guests are responsible for cleaning up after their pet.
Any disturbances such as barking must be curtailed to ensure other guests are not inconvenienced.
Guests are responsible for all property damages and/or personal injuries resulting from their pet.

Please ensure that these above conditions are followed. Any excessive cleaning required following your stay will incur
an automatic $50(min.) cleaning fee charged to your credit card.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Friendly and helpful staff.
The rooms were cosy enough and had the usual creature comforts.
New plasma on the wall and bar fridge that wasn't too noisy.
Couldn't hear the neighbours but could hear the train going past quite frequently. I am a light sleeper so this was annoying. I am told by the owner it is the Cane Train and is seasonal. October is near the end of the season for another 6-7 months before it starts up again.
Host was very helpful and supplied me with a map of town, pointing out the best meal spots etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tramway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tramway Motel

Address: 110 Broad Street, Sarina, Queensland 4737, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sarina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sarina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 12 rooms including two self contained 2 bedroom units. All rooms have queen size beds, microwave, toaster, flat screen TV with Austar, air conditioning and ceiling fans. Breakfast and dinner available served to your room, pets by arrangement, saltwater swimming pool and a BBQ area. Tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer, iron and ironing board are all standard inclusions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tramway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tramway Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.