We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silky Oaks Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Silky Oaks Lodge to your Saves list
Silky Oaks Lodge
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Finlayvale Road, Mossman, Queensland 4873, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mossman
Beaconsfield
2 reviews
“Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

From the moment we went to reception you could tell you were at a place of pure beauty and the staff that knew what they were talking about. The room was large and the private balcony over looking the Mossman Gorge was exceptional. We ate in the restaurant every night because the food was so good the first night why go anywhere else. We also experienced the thermal facial spa and it was the most relaxing treatment I have ever had. The staff were very helpful and went out of their way to assist us. I was particularly impressed with there knowledge about the things to do in the area and were not disappointed in any of the suggestions. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    99
    32
    12
    5
See reviews for
58
371
19
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
darlinghurst
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Just returned from a FANTASTIC two night stay at Silky Oaks Lodge. Each of us was upgreaded to our own treehouse - what a luxury!!
We received a warm welcome at Reception, then a personalised tour by the owner.
Beautiful home made biscuits were in our rooms when we arrived - lights were dimmed & candles glowing. Such a lovely way to enter a room.
Our dinners each night were delicious & served by very friendly staff, as were our breakfasts. Our picnic lunch was served in the amzing Jungle Perch which makes you feel like you are suspended over the Mossman River.
Activities included the 3 hour hike through the Daintree and a 2 hour speer fishing adventure with a local. Yoga with Erin was relaxing, if not providing a few laughs for us middle aged women.
Could not recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Go on a guided tour of the Daintree with staff from Silky Oaks. Local knowledge we received from Eri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in March, 2013. It is one of the most peaceful, romantic, beautiful places we have ever stayed. Located in the rainforest, our suite was over looking the river, which added to the already mystic surroundings. The owners and their staff were attentive, friendly and first class in every way. And this was gourmet dining at its best. Do not miss dinner in the octagon, set apart and perfect for the beginning of a seductive evening…
The activities available are varied, unusual and well planned, such as a walk bare footed through the mangroves with a local aboriginal who will cook the shell fish you collect when you are finished. The grounds and quasi-natural pool are superb, as are the suites and furnishings. A great memory!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is an amazing retreat. The staff were wonderful and the rooms were superb with lovely added touches of class with great views and beautiful surroundings. The food was amazing and service was fantastic. The bush walking tracks along the river were easy and the afternoon tour guide provided an interesting and informative guided tour of the surroundings. The spa treatments were absolute luxury. I would highly recommend this beautiful spot and hope to make it back someday for a longer stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I had a 3 night stay here and had a wonderful time - the lodge is located in paradise.
Staff - the service was excellent. everyone was very friendly, professional and helpful. The staff were always happy to help and nothing was too much trouble.
Food - the Restaurant is amazing. I love to cook and I am very fussy about the ingredients that I use. The chef uses locally sourced produce and everything is made on site (no mass produced desserts). The quality of all the dishes was amazing and the presentation was excellent. The fish is caught locally and the chocolate is also sourced from a local grower.
Rooms - these are large and private. If you want a romantic getaway or a place to completely relax then you are choosing the right spot.
The resort - the pool is beautiful. It has been designed like a fresh water oasis. The resort is on the side of the Mossman river and the water is crystal clear and perfectly safe to swim. We kayaked up the river which was a nice experience. There are also lots of walks to do if you want to experience the rainforest.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Top Contributor
382 reviews 382 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
274 helpful votes 274 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Silky Oaks is really one of a kind experience that cannot be missed in Daintree.
Is rougly 1 and 1/2 hour drive from Cairns. Call the hotel to get directions cause google maps provide a totally wrong address in the middle of Daintree Rainforest!
Also the route to get there is emotional. You pass through huge sugar cane fields and then get into the rainforest itself. Suddenly in the middle of tall trees and palms and tree-ferns you arrive to this unique lodge.
The lodge is drowned into the rainforest itself facing a little river and some billabongs. The sound of the nature and birds is incredible. The structure is amazing. There is a main building with reception, spa, a bar and a big porch where dinner and breakfast are served. Then there is a beautiful billabong shaped pool. Long paths in the middle of the trees drive you to the rooms.
Rooms are single houses on piling facing the river. Are nice and spacious all with natural materials. There is a living area and bedroom with a huge terrace and a hammock. View and sounds of the nature are unique... Breakfast is served in the main porch. Everything is buffet with a selection of hot dish like toast or eggs. The most amazing thing is the view from breakfast area: several meters above the river you see all around the forest. Is really impressive and this is just worth the stay there. Is also possible to have dinner at night with candlelit. The food is good but price is really high. In any case to celebrate a special occasion is really a romantic place..
A must try experience is the SPA. With award of Winner Luxury Spa in 2011 is really unique.
Being on honeymoon we did the romance spa ritual. 2,5 hours of treatment. First a scrub, then a warm bath in a bathtub facing the rainforest and then a relaxing massage... never forget that experience!
In addition several activities can be done while there: a reef cruise (we found quicksilver excellent), a daytour in the daintree and mossman with a look at cape tribulation. The hotel can help you and is fully organize to arrange for you booking and pick up. Also if you want stay in the area, there are suggested paths and activities like kayaking than you can do from the lodge.
Overall an amazing experience in one of a kind scenario.. not to be missed...

Room Tip: ask the rooms facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is a wonderful retreat - with so much to do at your doorstep.
You could simply hide out in your room, wak alng the banks of the river, take photographs of the beauty or hav as many pamperings and do an array of amazing tours in the vacinity of the lodge.
We did the latter.....Cooya Beach Tour with the Walker Brothers, Cooper Creek Wilderness Ancient palm Forest, Birding Adventure with the local guide - named Sauce!, the Dreamtime tour with Harold at Mossman Gorge, and the mandatory pamperings in the Wellness Spa at Silky Oaks....this itinerary filled our 4 night soujourn...we ate at Silky Oaks every night an totally endulged in the quality of the meals, having a full 3 course dinner every night.
The setting is sublime, the rooms are very neat and simply decortaed. They are very clean and well maintained. The calming rainforest music, candles at night, little bedside treats, helpful staff who will arrange your itinerary and make all necessary reservations...will leave you enjoying as much or as little as you like.
The treat is the privacy and escape from it all. There is a smallish pool, but it is not of world class standards...it is quite pretty but not what most guests go there for. Enjoying the Barrier Reef from here is also possible- we had done this previously.
We stayed at Silky Oaks 10 years ago for 4 nights and were not disappointed on our return.
The resort and treehouses reflect the beauty and the setting is quite beautiful. If you are interested in discovering aboriginal ways, being enchanted by the rainforest, and doing this while in a wonderful resort - this is it. Silky Oaks brings you back to the basics...beauty, relaxation and fine food at dinner time. Breakfast buffet was not filled with tropical diversity, but the cooked aspects included are all very nice and provide ample start to the day.
The open air dining area is beautiful and quite romantic.
It is not a 5-star Villa ...but it is beautiful in it's own way......we will definitley be back again at some point.
The staff and management have maintained a first rate experience in the Daintree.

Room Tip: We were in Room 7 - beautiful view of th Mossman River and Rainforest. There is a TV in this room bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silky Oaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silky Oaks Lodge

Address: Finlayvale Road, Mossman, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Mossman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mossman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Silky Oaks Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silky Oaks Lodge & Spa is the ultimate destination from which to explore Far North Queensland. This luxury eco lodge consists of elegant spacious lounges and living areas adjoining the stunningly located open sided Tree House restaurant which overlooks the surrounding rainforest and river. Spectacularly located in the Mossman Gorge region adjoining the Daintree National Park offering complete privacy and isolation yet only 20 minutes from Port Douglas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Silky Oaks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silky Oaks Hotel Mossman
Silky Oaks Lodge Mossman, Australia - Daintree Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silky Oaks Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.