We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience in a six week Aussie holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silky Oaks Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Silky Oaks Lodge to your Saves list
Silky Oaks Lodge
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Finlayvale Road, Mossman, Queensland 4873, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mossman
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best experience in a six week Aussie holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Everything worked as advertised Rooms were well appointed and clean. Service was excellent. Food was excellent and the wine list was quite good. Easy access to the GBR. If I lived in Asia where there was nonstop access to Cairns, I would use this place regularly for getaways. Great job.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    94
    28
    10
    5
See reviews for
56
341
18
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with a tour group in March 2013 we had some dining room problems at first that the management apologised for and rectified. Whilst not everyone in our party enjoyed the experience? I will always remember this one of my personal highlights whilst touring Australia. On our second day we went snorkelling out from Agincourt Reef on the Great Barrier Reef with Quicksilver. The Hotel environment is unique in that the accommodation fits into the rain forest in a sympathetic manner and appears natural?
The food and facilities are very good not much alternative unless you have your own transport but why would you want to leave anyway. On our last day visited Cape Tribulation swam in Masons creek walked through forest at Marrdja boardwalk and had a Daintree River cruise.
It doesn't get much better than this and it didn't. Will be back some day

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems request a lodge near the hub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently held our wedding at Silky Oaks lodge and couldn't be happier.

This was our third visit to the lodge and each time we have experienced wonderful service and the staff have always been excellent. The effort and energy that each staff member put in to making not only our wedding the most perfect day but the rest of our time there very enjoyable was just amazing.

The lodge is situated in the rainforest next to the stunning Mossman river. It's uniqueness of location is what makes the lodge so incredible. Each room is a separate little hut with a wonderful view of either the rainforest or the river and the most relaxing comfortable hammock I have ever been in.

The lodge's uniqueness is its beauty. We enjoy it because of that - there are no televisions in the room which allows you to truly absorb the beauty of the location. There are also plenty of activities (snorkeling, walks etc) to keep you occupied if you really need the stimulation but our favorite past times were simply to swim in the clear water of the river and lie on the pool side lounges! The restaurant is also superb (and stunning) and we were never once disappointed with the food.

If you enjoy somewhere a little bit different to your standard 5 star hotel where you can be at one with the beauty and atmosphere of the rainforest then this is the place for you.

Thank you to all the staff who were so personalised, warm and caring of us and our guests during our wedding and the days either side. In particular, thank you to Michelle, Jade, Sharada, Amelia, Mark, Stacey and Barbara (and the really tall porter whose name we have forgotten sorry!)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Our specialist honeymoon travel agent gave this lodge glowing reviews and said it would be a real shame and a mistake not to stay here for at least a few nights for our honeymoon.

The mistake we made was getting our hopes up and paying over $500/night for a deluxe treehouse room with breakfast (and not much else!) included. The lodge had very few guests staying there as they had reportedly just cleared out a wedding which was the reason given for how poorly we were looked after on our honeymoon. Our room smelt musty in all of the cupboards and the 'information' compendium stated that there was no longer room service as it attracted animals etc. When you pay for accommodation expecting high class quality and service in a beautiful rainforest setting and get musty, no room service, no minibar & poor service- you get very disappointed guests. Which is exactly what we were.
The service and information given to us throughout our stay was lack-lustre and it seemed we were more an inconvenience as opposed to a valued guest. Our room had not been serviced by 4pm on our first full days stay - when I informed staff of this I received and 'oh well, it will get done - I dont have any way of checking on that' and a blank stare. When by 5.30 it still had not been done I made a phone call to reception I got a bit more of a concerned tone however when I then informed her that we would be checking out early and expect to hear from the travel agent for a refund, she said "oh just 'cos?'...I went on to say how incredibly disappointed we were with the service, considering it was our honeymoon and we were paying so much money, we had expected more. She said "aww, ok....are you coming down for dinner!?” I got off the phone laughing at how bizarre the conversation was but was pleasantly surprised by a note and a nice candle (with 2 pieces of stale chocolate which had turned white) which was left in our room as part of the turn-down service as compensation for our room being missed on that day.
We decided to try the restaurant for dinner after reading some good reviews - second mistake. A mistake that was bound to be made considering there are no cooking facilities (not even a toaster or microwave) to use as an alternative for paying through the nose at the restaurant.
I paid $45 for a main of 3 very strong fishy smelly prawns (with a nauseating looking head and tail still attached) and a minuscule piece of nannygai fish and my husband got the chicken. Both dishes were incredibly bland and it is difficult to fathom how any restaurant in their right mind could produce such poor quality & tasteless dishes and expect their guests to pay so much for it. We also paid $15 for bread and house dip which was essentially a regular lunch sized bread roll and a tablespoon of cream cheese dip. I have experienced the pleasure of high quality restaurants and I know what to expect when you fork out that sort of cash on a meal and this was not it. Considering where the lodge is located there is little to no other options for meals unless you have a car and are willing to travel 20+mins to the 1 restaurant in Mossman or into Port Douglas (good option) or are happy with cup-a-soup for dinner.

It was such a shame because it also made us wary of spending large amounts of money at the lodge for fear of disappointment again. I was looking forward to letting loose on the spending and enjoying some spa treatments at the day spa there however hesitated after all of the let downs and again a huge price tag associated with the services.
The complimentary activities which were a strong selling point for the lodge were also underwhelming. There are no televisions in the rooms so you need to make use of your surrounds and company. The canoes/kayaks were actually 1 x broken canoe and 1 x single person kayak with mismatched oars. The snorkelling equipment was filthy and had mud all up the snorkel and my mask strap was broken and tied in a knot. The one unexpected bonus was the tractor tube at the beach billabong- whoever put that there saved Silky Oaks for another night. The lodge is situated in a beautiful spot on the Mossman river but gee that poor river and rainforest is carrying the lodge on its back.

One of the only staff members who actually seemed to be doing their job to the standard you would expect for the price we were paying was the male staff member (?restaurant manager) who was helpful, enthusiastic and very pleasant the few times we saw him throughout our shortened stay. Hire 10 more of him and you would be getting the brilliant service you expect.

On our last day at the lodge and prior to checking out a day early, we went down to breakfast and were confronted by the reservations receptionist who- in the middle of our breakfast- came up to me and in a passive aggressive way went on to tell me the mini bar only gets stocked if you request certain items (as though this was the only issue we had) and we can have an upgrade and a free (you couldn't pay me to eat at the restaurant again) dinner that night but no refund if we leave. I was shocked and again felt so upset and again slapped in the face by this place. Another excuse was that they didn't realise it was our honeymoon - in my opinion whilst it would be nice to get special treatment, ANYONE who is a paying customer (especially when you are paying so much) should get well looked after and be valued as a guest. Not just if you are on your honeymoon - so I don't accept that as an excuse to being treated as a lower class citizen.

To the credit of the director of the lodge, when they finally woke up and realised how disappointed we were and how many things had not met expectations, she offered several generous compensations to us but unfortunately the damage had been done and it was too late to come back. She organised us alternative accommodation in a sister resort in Palm Cove where we got well looked after and the meals at the restaurant were amazing. Thankfully, this saved Silky Oaks from completely tainting the last night of our honeymoon. Apparently they were devastated and this 'NEVER' happens and only affected us - this didn't make us feel any better and I was quite surprised to hear it - all of our quality service and inclusions must have been given to all of the other guests at the lodge...I hope they enjoyed it.

Overall, if you are willing to pay huge amounts to lay in a hammock reading a book all day then this the place for you. If you expect good service, accommodation inclusions and luxury in the rainforest for over $500/night then I would be spending my money elsewhere.

Room Tip: Apparently rooms closer to the Lodge have a nicer 'vibe' about them. However they are extrem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharada V, Guest Relations Manager at Silky Oaks Lodge, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
1. The Lodge regrets the missed room service and the inappropriate response by an inexperience (unattended) receptionist who unfortunately did not advise back office or management. Subsequently reception did organize an expensive Glass House candle present to be left in their room on the evening service/turndown which was accompanied by a card and an apology.
2. The Canoe is not broken and only 8 months old but quite dented due to a guest attempting to shoot the rapids on the rocks. There are now 2 Kayaks with a paddle canoe ordered to replace the repeated incidents with the canoe (the missing paddle was further along the river bank but there are complete sets as are there 10 good sets of snorkels and masks
3. As stated on our website the Lodge offers a large range of activities ranging from hiking trails, guided walks, tennis, yoga, bike routes, tennis, gym to swimming in the pool or river, etc. There is a TV room with a large selection of complimentary DVDs.
4. On arrival all guests are given an arrival pack with a welcome letter, lodge map and information in regards to the optional mini bar (replacing the one outdated item in the room Compendium) which only contains complimentary bottled water, milk, chef’s biscuits and plunger coffee. It advises to contact reception if they would like any items from the mini bar menu. The Lodge offers room service at all times and has never refused the request for any delivery of meals etc to the rooms between the hours of 6am till 10pm and later if planes are delayed.


5. All at Silky Oaks Lodge strive that all guests have a wonderful stay and in this instance the Guests above were very disappointed with their various issues and in response, the Lodge sincerely wished to compensate them. The guests were given a full refund for the last day of their reserved 3 day stay and were booked into a luxury beach resort in Palm Cove where Silky Oaks Lodge paid for the full accommodation and breakfast including dinner before their return to Melbourne the following day. This was a saving to the guest of over $650.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belair
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had two nights here. Our first disappointment was to find that the milk in the fridge had expired two days previously. Then we we had no hot water, which meant we had to use another villa for showering. We were looking forward to soaking in the huge spa bath. Then the fan in our room stuck on high sped only due to a broken switch. Small things, but for the high price you pay to stay here, you would expect none of this to occur. However the food is superb, and service unsurpassed. The setting is perfect for a romantic getaway in the rainforest. Just check the room out first.. Out room had white ants .

Room Tip: Any of them are great, but check everything before you unpack
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The wow factor for this accommodation is definitely its location. Even the drive to the lodge from Mossman is beautiful, passing the sugar cane fields with the rainforest looming ahead. You know you're in for something special! When I arrived, it's like entering a different world, with lush forest, fresh air, and a clear river just adjacent to the accommodation. What's more, although this is a luxury accommodation, the whole staff are warm and helpful. They made you immediately feel welcome.

The treehouse lodge is comfortable without being overly large. The hammock on the balcony is a nice touch, and so is the spa tub (although it took forever to fill up, and the jets are not strong enough). There's no TV in the room (which is good, as it would be sad to stay here to watch TV), but there's a Bose CD player (I think they should upgrade this to an iPod dock).

In any case, you should not spend too much time in the room, as there are lots of activities for people to participate - some of them free (yoga, guided walk in the rainforest). The hotel has a swimming pool which looks nice, but I chose to swim in the river, which was very refreshing and croc-free. A little bit upstream there's a "beach billabong", where if you bring your goggles, sometimes you can spot turtles and fish underwater. There's also a small waterfall here that's like a natural spa massage jet (better than the one in the room!).

The lodge has two hiking tracks at the back (both involve significant walk and can be treacherous when wet). The Fig Tree Rapids track is the more rewarding one, I think. It ends at another great swimming spot, and along the way you see a lot of native plants (bring a map from reception). Once you've spent enough energy doing all these, you can have a relaxing spa and/or a nice dinner at the restaurant.
All in all, I had a marvellous stay here and would definitely go back if I have another opportunity!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Silky Oaks was wonderful. We enjoyed a very relaxed few days, our tree house overlooking the river was beautiful, lovely facilities. All the staff were really nice especially to our son. The food was excellent and everything really well thought out, even down to the laundry room extremely useful when travelling.
Highly recommend, loved the peace sitting alone by billabong with fish and butterflies!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silky Oaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silky Oaks Lodge

Address: Finlayvale Road, Mossman, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Mossman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mossman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Silky Oaks Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silky Oaks Lodge & Spa is the ultimate destination from which to explore Far North Queensland. This luxury eco lodge consists of elegant spacious lounges and living areas adjoining the stunningly located open sided Tree House restaurant which overlooks the surrounding rainforest and river. Spectacularly located in the Mossman Gorge region adjoining the Daintree National Park offering complete privacy and isolation yet only 20 minutes from Port Douglas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Silky Oaks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silky Oaks Hotel Mossman
Silky Oaks Lodge Mossman, Australia - Daintree Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silky Oaks Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.