We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location amidst the rainforest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silky Oaks Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Silky Oaks Lodge to your Saves list
Silky Oaks Lodge
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Finlayvale Road, Mossman, Queensland 4873, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mossman
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Fantastic location amidst the rainforest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The wow factor for this accommodation is definitely its location. Even the drive to the lodge from Mossman is beautiful, passing the sugar cane fields with the rainforest looming ahead. You know you're in for something special! When I arrived, it's like entering a different world, with lush forest, fresh air, and a clear river just adjacent to the accommodation. What's more, although this is a luxury accommodation, the whole staff are warm and helpful. They made you immediately feel welcome.

The treehouse lodge is comfortable without being overly large. The hammock on the balcony is a nice touch, and so is the spa tub (although it took forever to fill up, and the jets are not strong enough). There's no TV in the room (which is good, as it would be sad to stay here to watch TV), but there's a Bose CD player (I think they should upgrade this to an iPod dock).

In any case, you should not spend too much time in the room, as there are lots of activities for people to participate - some of them free (yoga, guided walk in the rainforest). The hotel has a swimming pool which looks nice, but I chose to swim in the river, which was very refreshing and croc-free. A little bit upstream there's a "beach billabong", where if you bring your goggles, sometimes you can spot turtles and fish underwater. There's also a small waterfall here that's like a natural spa massage jet (better than the one in the room!).

The lodge has two hiking tracks at the back (both involve significant walk and can be treacherous when wet). The Fig Tree Rapids track is the more rewarding one, I think. It ends at another great swimming spot, and along the way you see a lot of native plants (bring a map from reception). Once you've spent enough energy doing all these, you can have a relaxing spa and/or a nice dinner at the restaurant.
All in all, I had a marvellous stay here and would definitely go back if I have another opportunity!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    94
    29
    10
    5
See reviews for
56
342
18
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Silky Oaks was wonderful. We enjoyed a very relaxed few days, our tree house overlooking the river was beautiful, lovely facilities. All the staff were really nice especially to our son. The food was excellent and everything really well thought out, even down to the laundry room extremely useful when travelling.
Highly recommend, loved the peace sitting alone by billabong with fish and butterflies!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

If I could give Silky Oaks 10 stars, I would! Set in one of Australia's most beautiful locations, it's impossible not to relax from the moment you arrive. The rooms are hidden amongst the trees and it's the attention to detail that make them special. Relaxing music, local tea (complete with massive teacups!), huge spa bath, a hammock to chill out in while you listen to the sounds of the rainforest, comfortable beds and everything you could possibly need has been thought of here.

The meals are beautiful and the service is excellent. Staff are friendly and knowledgeable about the area and you get the feeling they genuinely enjoy working here. I was part of a large group but nothing was too much trouble. Whether we were swimming in the billabong (complete with turtles and platypus, but no crocodiles), joining a fun yoga class or enjoying relaxed conversations in the lounge area, this was the perfect place to shake off city stresses.

On our last morning we did a guided rainforest walk with Voyages Indigenous Tourism in the pouring rain - definately the best way to experience a rainforest! Unfortunately the heavy rain led to a hasty exit to avoid the risk of getting stuck, as the only road in would soon be underwater. None of us would have minded an extra night there but the Silky Oaks staff did a brilliant job putting together a delicious quick lunch as we prepared for a hasty exit.

In the rush to leave I accidentally left some belongings behind which were found and posted to me the next day. Again, nothing was too much trouble.

If you're looking for somewhere to relax, recharge the batteries and enjoy a unique rainforest experience, Silky Oaks is a 'must do'.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

A private treehouse in the rainforest by the billabong. A world class restaurant. Lovely service (thanks Stacey, especially). Impeccable grounds. No complaints. Just a hankering to go back. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This resort has got to be one of the best in the country. If your looking for a quiet and relaxing break, then this place ticks all the right boxes. The open 'treehouse' restaurant and bar are just so beautiful and the food and service is amazing. The rooms are just superb with stunning views of the rain dorset and the spa is a must! We will be back!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My wife and I were completely blown away by Silk Oaks during our honeymoon stay in January 2013. The setting is amazing - you are tucked right on the edge of the Daintree rain forest. The location allows you to enjoy several challenging and interesting hiking trails, as well as a secluded beach billabong and swimming/boating river right next to the main building.

The staff and the food deserve special mention - both went above and beyond our expectations. Everyone was friendly and helpful and genuinely interested in making our stay as pleasant as possible. Breakfast each morning was delicious weather you ordered a hot breakfast or ate from the buffet. The lunch and dinner menus had some of my favorite dishes all trip. Try the Tasmanian Salmon if you get the opportunity.

I can't recommend Silk Oaks enough. Our stay was amazing, and I wish it could have gone on longer. Five stars.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I'm sitting down in their spacious and airy dinning bungalow with the sounds of the jungle and beading water from the stream below. What a wonderful place to enjoy a meal. The service was attentive and friendly. I ordered a latte for breakfast and eggs Benedict! Bravo!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silky Oaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silky Oaks Lodge

Address: Finlayvale Road, Mossman, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Mossman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mossman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Silky Oaks Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silky Oaks Lodge & Spa is the ultimate destination from which to explore Far North Queensland. This luxury eco lodge consists of elegant spacious lounges and living areas adjoining the stunningly located open sided Tree House restaurant which overlooks the surrounding rainforest and river. Spectacularly located in the Mossman Gorge region adjoining the Daintree National Park offering complete privacy and isolation yet only 20 minutes from Port Douglas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Silky Oaks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silky Oaks Hotel Mossman
Silky Oaks Lodge Mossman, Australia - Daintree Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silky Oaks Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.