We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABOVE OUR EXPECTATIONS...FRIENDLY HOSTS, SPOTLESSLY CLEAN, GREAT BREAKFAST” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Tropical Escape B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added A Tropical Escape B&B to your Saves list
A Tropical Escape B&B
13 Spurwood Close, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
MOONEY MOONEY
1 review
“ABOVE OUR EXPECTATIONS...FRIENDLY HOSTS, SPOTLESSLY CLEAN, GREAT BREAKFAST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

Congratulations & thank you to the hosts, Dot & Noel for the outstanding superb accommodation & hospitality that they offer. Excellent location, short walk to the beach, stroll to nearby restaurants, spacious room, privacy plus. Beautiful, peaceful & relaxing surrounding environment. Carparking facility offered was an unexpected added bonus during our nearby island holiday. Great value $$$. Highly recommend. Definitely stay longer next time.
JOHN & MARIE-CLAIRE HAMILTON MOONEY MOONEY NSW

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
78
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NSW
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

Tropical Escape lives up to its name, it truly is the perfect place to escape in a beautiful tropical paradise. We have stayed at Tropical Escape Bed & Breakfast in Mission Beach a number of times and hopefully will make it back for another stay very soon. The rooms are spacious bright and clean and most important the beds are really comfortable. The quiet area, tropical gardens and the very friendly property hosts Dot & Noel make you feel instantly relaxed and in holiday mode. The property is not right on the beach but don’t be concerned as the beach is a really pleasant stroll along a pathway through tropical rainforest. We recommend this walk every day after one of Dot’s really delicious breakfasts.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

We have stayed at Tropical Escape Mission Beach a few times since February 2005 (we were last there in December 2008) and can say in all honesty that we actually go out of our way to spend a night or two with the best hosts in the B&B business that we have met so far. We knew Dot & Noel were special people the first time we stayed there as they were most helpful and quite knowledgeable about where to go and what to do to get the best out of the time that we spent in the Mission Beach area.

We have stayed in all the rooms at least once and they are all great. I work in the accommodation industry and will say that the standard of the rooms is far better than quite a lot of the hotels I have either worked in or stayed in over the years.

And the best part of the stay (apart from the great chats with the hosts) is the wonderful breakfast - Dot prepares the best bacon and eggs, not to mention the "Tropical" fruit salad (sorry Mum, but dots eggs are to die for).

If you're going to be in the Mission Beach area, stay with Dot and Noel!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sendai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

I really enjoyed staying there. The room was fantastic and clean. The owners were very friendly and hospitable. I was alone so they took me to the market and showed around by car. I didn't get bord thanks to their help. The breakfast was great !! I saw a bird called cassowary in the yard. I will go there again definitely.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

We stayed at the Tropical Escape Bed and Breakfast and can thoroughly recommend this to couples looking for that extra special place to stay, sorry families but no children are allowed. This is a beautifully presented house, everything is top quality, the rooms are furnished to a very high standard, spotlessly clean. There are two lounges to relax in and a constant supply of baking, soft drinks and tea/coffee. The breakfast is excellent with a wide choice on offer. the house is a 8 to 10 minute walk through to the beach and local eateries, and around 10 mins drive to Mission Beach pub and restaurant area. Your hosts are helpfull, friendly and nothing seems to be too much trouble. All up a good choice if you want to be pampered at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2008

When normally seeking out and subsequently booking a B&B on-line, it can often be a little bit of a gamble. Rest assured though, that when you walk into the 'Tropical Escape', you realise that you made the right choice! This place is pristine and as nice a place as you could want to stay in. The whole place is immacualtely decorated and the rooms are spacious and bright.
It's rated as a 4* place but when you see it, you might want to give it 5*s yourself.

The hosts (Dot & Noel) are very friendly too and you instantly feel at home. I just wish that my stay was for longer than just 2 nights.

Oh, and Mission Beach is quite lovely too. When you walk the 8 minutes to the beach from the B&B and see it, you might just feel that you've found paradise!

Simon, UK

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Tropical Escape B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Tropical Escape B&B

Address: 13 Spurwood Close, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mission Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst lush tropical gardens, Mission Beach Tropical Escape B&B adds a touch of luxury to the joys of bed and breakfast holiday accommodation in the tropics. A luxury 4.5 Star AAA Tourism rated property with rainforest and tropical gardens in quiet location. Eight minute walk to pristine beach through shaded beach access track. All our guest rooms have full ensuite, air-conditioning, TV, DVD player with complimentary DVD library, bar fridge, ceiling fan and private exit/entry via patio door. Four minutes walk to best restaurant in Mission Beach and ten minutes walk to shopping village, pub/resort, newsagent, chemist, butcher, supermarket, movie hire, gift shop and clothing boutiques and takeaway food outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your A Tropical Escape B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Tropical Escape B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.