We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tropical Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Tropical Escape B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added A Tropical Escape B&B to your Saves list
A Tropical Escape B&B
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   13 Spurwood Close, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Tropical Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this amazing place for two wonderful nights in July. The hosts are caring, breakfast is delicious. The spot is absolutely clean and looked after.
If you are looking for a secluded beach this is the place to go. From the B&B it is only 8 Minutes to the beach, which is amazing. We could just recommend going there.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
83
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Trier, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed in this B&B in November 2012 for 2 nights and truly enjoyed my stay. Dot and Noel are wonderful hosts, very friendly and welcoming, taking care of you 100% and giving advice on trips to the area. They really made me feel at home. Not to forget that the breakfast is really yummy and highly recommendable! I can highly recommend to stay at A Tropical Escape B&B and would always return there should I come back to Mission Beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

4 of us stayed here in Nov 2012 for 2 nights and it was a real treat. Dot and Noel were really welcoming and Dot's breakfasts were superb. A cassowary called for his breakfast of bananas both mornings we were there and Noel took us to a wildlife sanctuary where there were lots of orphaned wallabies that we could hold. He also drove us to a local eating place and then came back afterwards so we could have a glass or two without having to drive. There is a fridge in each room for your duty frees and also a communal area where you can help yourself to tea,coffee and soft drinks etc.
A Tropical Escape is so relaxing and was such a lovely break on our drive up the coast.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here early in December 2012 for 3 nights.
It's is an excellent B&B. it seems to have 4 1/2 stars from the tourist authorities, I can't understand why it doesn't have 5 stars, there must have been a leaf out of placed somewhere!! I couldn't fault it.
Dot &Noel are excellent hosts. Dot's breakfasts are brilliant, just the thing to set you up for,the day.
There are just 3 rooms in a purpose built bungalow, with the owners being at the other end of the building from the guests. There is a very large lounge, eating, entertaining room. Both our bedroom and bathroom were large, and beautifully decorated and perfectly clean.
The B&B is in a quiet street, a very short walk from a beach and a short drive to the shops and restaurants.
Whilst we were there, there were another couple and the tales exchanged over breakfast were side-splitting. Ask Dot and Noel to tell you about the couple with the swearing parrot!!!!
There are a number of local restaurants, Scotty's and Miller's, and North Mission Beach is not far away with more restaurants.
We recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the Mission Beach area

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We went to Mission Beach to stay for a night before we went skydiving the next day. All I can say is that Dot and Noel made our experience absolutely wonderful. They drove us to a great local joint, Scotty's, and also talked to us about the different places we could go and explore in Mission. Dot made an excellent breakfast the next day too - I would absolutely recommend this place for anyone, any day of the year!

P.s. skydiving in Mission Beach is amazing!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springwood NSW Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at Dot and Noels home for 3 nights back in Sept 2012. Their B&B has everything that anyone would want in a B&B. Situated in a very quiet street, it has off street parking, walking distance to the beach, plenty of room to sit and talk, a very comfortable bed, great hot shower with plenty of water pressure, snooker table, free coffee , private entry to your room, swimming pool, the list goes on and on. Not to forget Dots famous breakfast which was to die for and of course Noels freshly cooked toast. A real treat.
If you go to Mission Beach, QLD and not stay at "A Tropical Escape B&B" you will have missed out on a special treat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Just had a wonderful 3 nights at A Tropical Escape in Mission Beach, probably the best B&B we've ever stayed in. Our hosts Dot and Noel made us feel like part of the family and just couldn't do enough for us. It's a small B&B, incredibly clean and comfortable and the bedrooms are very well appointed. There's a lovely big lounge for use by the guests and Dot puts out complimentary tea, coffee and soft drinks which you can just help yourself to. Breakfast is superb-fresh fruit, cereals, yogurt and then Dot makes a fresh cooked breakfast of your choice, complete with toast and the most delicious filter coffee.

There's a lovely swimming pool in the garden, which we made use of and it was divine - just like swimming in a warm bath. While we were out there, a wallaby came into the garden and a cassowary and her chick (a huge, colourful endangered bird in this part of the world) which we were very lucky to see. We were made to feel so welcome by our wonderful hosts, Dot and Noel, that it was hard to leave. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Mission Beach, Queensland, Australia, get in touch with Dot and Noel -they'll look after you.

On a separate note, if you do go to Mission Beach, it would be worth your while to book a day trip on Big Mama, a wonderful sailing yacht. Also, if you are looking for a great place to eat, look no further than NanaThai, which serves the best Thai food we've had anywhere, including Thailand!

Room Tip: All rooms are good and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Tropical Escape B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Tropical Escape B&B

Address: 13 Spurwood Close, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Mission Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — A Tropical Escape B&B 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Tropical Escape Bed and Breakfast has enjoyed great traveller reviews over the last eleven years. Eight minute walk to pristine beach through shaded beach access track. All of our three guest rooms have full ensuite, air-conditioning, TV, DVD player with complimentary DVD library, bar fridge, ceiling fan and private exit/entry via patio door. FREE Wi Fi and off street parking. Guests can walk to local restaurants, the Woolworths shopping village, pub/resort, chemist, gift shops, hairdresser, clothing boutiques and takeaway food outlets. Complimentary pick up from the Wongaling Beach Bus Station where Greyhound buses travel north from Townsville and south from Cairns, guests need to notify us of what time they will be arriving to utilise this service. Tour bookings can be made for you upon arrival. This property is not suitable for young children and please note we do not have any twin rooms. A full cooked breakfast is included in rate plus BBQ and self catering dishes available for guests to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your A Tropical Escape B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Tropical Escape B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.