We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Little B&B at Mission Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Licuala Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Licuala Lodge to your Saves list
Licuala Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   11, Mission Circle, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Raft / Skydive Package
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best Little B&B at Mission Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was simply the greatest find on our travels. Great hosts and great value for money. Set in lovely gardens full of birds and butterflies this lovely comfortable stop is highly recommended. Located not far from the beach it is a comfortable base for seeing the area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mick a, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi Wombat - thanks for the review. We're soooo glad that you did find us and that you enjoyed your stay here. When the weather is good there is always an abundance of beautiful butterflies in the garden - especially the Ulysses and the Cairns Birdwing.
Our yellow Sunbirds are very active at the moment, and very inquisitive. Always flitting around people's cars looking at themselves in the wing mirrors.

Hugs to all in sunny Cleveland

All the best

Mick and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    26
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
116
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

A last minute getaway from our hectic life in Cairns took us to this amazing place which could have been a million miles away from anywhere.
From the very moment we arrived we were warmly welcomed by Mick & Sue and shown to our room which was immacuately presented and cosy.
The tropical rainforest surroundings provided us with an abundance of wildlife to gaze at whilst sipping wine on the verandah, including cassowaries, butterflies of all descriptions and more. Breakfast was an experience in itself, where else would you find home made bread freshly baked and bunches of passionfruits hanging off the vines as you walked through the gardens.
The attention to detail given in this amazing place would put the majority of high end resorts to shame.
Pure relaxation!
Thanks for a wonderful experience Mick & Sue.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mick a, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi Aussiedragon - thanks for your kind words. Sue has now been baking her own bread for some time and yes it tastes and smells like bread used to taste and smell. No preservatives in the bread. And she makes various kinds of bread - something for everyone.
The passion fruit is doing particularly well this year, as is the dragon fruit. Fingers crossed for our mango tree - we've had it now for six years and still no fruit so far.

The Lions just managed to win last Saturday - that will have pleased you no doubt. The next test will be tight again.

All the best

Mick and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Licuala Lodge for 2 nights in June 2013 and would definiately stay again if in the area and recommend to others. We made good use of the communal facilities such as the lounge. Kitchen, bbq area, laundry and pool. After 2 weeks of travelling hotel to hotel we really enjoyed the home away from home feeling that licuala lodge offered, and to be in such beautiful surroundings was a bonus.
The owners Mick and Sue are very friendly and helpful with plenty of time for their guests. The breakfast is delicious and served on the veranda giving stunning views of the immaculate gardens. It is also a great opportuntiy to meet and socialise with other travellers.
Also, although choosing to stay the 'safe' side of the fence we managed to see a Cassawary up close one afternoon and another during breakfast.
Overall, Licuala Lodge is a great find in the rainforest, perfect for a relaxing and peaceful escape. Just be sure to pack your insect repellent!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mick a, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi ScottonJones - thanks for the review. Many of our guests make good use of our kitchen facilities. Makes a welcome change from eating out all the time and a great way to socialize with other guests.
The Lions just scraped in with a win, hope you managed to get tickets for the game. Fingers crossed for the remaining two tests.

All the best

Mick and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful B&B for two nights in June 2013. It is located in a peaceful area about 4km from Mission beach village. The accommodation is set in the rainforest on immaculately kept grounds. We stayed in room 4, a comfortable queen sized room with ensuite.

The shared facilities, including guest lounge, kitchen, BBQ, outdoor dining and sitting areas and pool are of a high standard and we enjoyed using them.

Hosts, Mike & Sue are great people who operate their business well - they are attentive, helpful and have a down-to-earth and fun style.

Breakfast is excellent.

To top this off a Cassowary came to visit one evening. Such a treat to see this endangered species up close.

This B&B was incredibly good value and exceeded our expectations. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Hi Whareroa - thanks for your kind words. The Lodge is an excellent place to see a cassowary - we're very lucky to have three regular visitors. At the moment (June 2013) the male cassowary has a chick, only a couple of weeks old - and the chick is very shy but soooooo cute.

The grounds are now almost finished, just a few fruit trees to plant down the bottom of the garden, and maybe then the gardener will have a well-earned rest !!

Love to all in sunny Toronto

Mick and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Great breakfast, lovely rooms, Free casowary viewing!
The owners were extremely friendly and motorcycle - helpful.


Dean and Mary from beeston..
Great breakfast, lovely rooms, Free casowary viewing!
The owners were extremely friendly and motorcycle - helpful.


Dean and Mary from beeston..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Hi Dean and Mary - many thanks for the review. Always glad to have bikers staying with us. It allows them to swap stories with Sue - affectionately known in the area as 'the lady on the pink scooter'.

Love to all in sunny Beeston

Mick and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We recently stayed at Licuala lodge in lovely Mission Beach for a couple of nights and were really impressed with the wonderful place that Mick and Sue have. It is lovely and peaceful with just sounds of the great wildlife that live so close by. The swimming pool is a great place to have a refreshing dip from the heat and the garden is a delight of wonderful plants, especially to see the Brugmansia in all its glory is fab. The breakfast was a real treat and Mick and Sue were really helpful in booking a great trip to the Frankland Islands (which felt like our own private castaway island) along with a fab packed breakfast. The icing on the cake for me was the wonderful Casawary that came for his breakfast along with a lovely little sun bird nest. I would thoroughly recommend Licuala Lodge as a great retreat, but still with access to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hi Hooxy - glad to know that you are back safe and sound in sunny ole Blighty. Many thanks for your review.

We now have a new brugmansia/datura which (I think) is called the Crimson Swirl, and the flowers of this plant grow the opposite way to other plants of this species (ie with their openings pointing skywards). It won't be long before all our Poinsettias start turning a wonderful red and pink, and our Moonflower is just starting to flower. So the garden is looking good albeit a bit wet at the moment. And you'll be pleased to know that the two Sunbird chicks have flown the nest successfully :-)

Love to all in the big smoke

Mick and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Licuala Lodge at Mission Beach in April. We would highly recommend this property to everyone. Sue and Mick were extremely helpful and there were nice little touches, such as tea and homemade fresh scones and cream when we arrived. The rooms were a nice size and everything was of excellent quality. The facilities were excellent too, including laundry room, refreshments available and plenty of room in the lounge to either watch Tv or read a book. Pool looked nice, although we didn't use it as it rained for the two days we were there unfortunately. A lovely find in the rainforest with plenty of wildlife too, including the Cassowary which we spotted in the garden. Lastly, but by no means least, Sue's beautifully breakfast each morning was delicious.

Room Tip: All rooms were of the same standard. Excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LicualaLodge, Owner at Licuala Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Hi - many thanks for the review. Hope all is well in sunny Woking. So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us despite the weather. Sadly not much we can do about the weather, but at least here in North Qld it is always warm albeit wet on occasions.

One of Sue's better ideas (naturally she has nothing but good ideas) was to start baking her own bread a few months ago and that is proving to be a big hit with our guests. Home made stuff is always better than shop bought :-)

Love to all in ole Blighty

Mick and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Licuala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Licuala Lodge

Address: 11, Mission Circle, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mission Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Licuala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Queenslander timber home in world heritage rainforest just 1.5 kms from the beach. Guest accommodation, separate to the main house, overlooks award winning lush tropical gardens. Large swimming pool with waterfall feature. Price includes a wonderful breakfast. The magnificent (and sadly endangered) Cassowary is a daily visitor to the Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Licuala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Licuala Hotel Mission Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Licuala Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.