We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely nights stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Licuala Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Licuala Lodge to your Saves list
Licuala Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   11, Mission Circle, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Raft / Skydive Package
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Lovely nights stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed in the King Suite and it was lovely to have a little space to unwind in. The rooms were lovely and clean and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was a lovely surprise with a great selection of fresh fruits, yoghurt, breads and a choice of a hot breakfast.
The only downside was the March Flies that were outside on the deck and at the pool area. Also an A/c would have been great. The King Suite is in the main house with breakfast served outside your room which is very convenient, but if you were to try to sleep in it could be awkward.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    26
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
116
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuranda, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Mick and Sue are lovely hosts and their beautiful property is a credit to them. Clean, comfortable rooms and a fabulous communal kitchen and lounge area all help to create the perfect Mission Beach escape. Although the gardens have been seriously damaged by Cyclone Yasi, they are recovering and are still really lovely. We loved the little extras like a diverse DVD collection and shelves full of interesting books. We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay and will be going back. Oh, and breakfast.... delicious!!!!

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get the King Suite for a real treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

we stayed in the king suite - was great to have the private lounge as we were a little jet lagged and it gave us a bit more privacy , breakfast was great and more than we could ask for. Mick and Sue were very friendly and willing to chat and recommend trips, ideas and restaurants. The cyclone has done a lot of damage in this area but the people are wonderful and it is well worth the visit. The beaches are still beautiful and there is lots to see, including the cassowary which visited with a mate while we were there. We also enjoyed the free beer and wine on the deck in the evening. Hope the tea cosies are coming along Sue!

Room Tip: loved the king suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

A little shangri-la .Mick and Sue are the perfect hosts and this in spite of them only recovering from the cyclone damage.
Excellent rooms and facilities-swimming pool included. Great lounge, kitchen and barbeque facilities and free drinks. Yummy breakfasts and choice.
We felt truly at home and only wish we could have stayed longer than 2 days.
Hope to return and greet Mick and Sue again. And the cassowary!

Room Tip: Any 1 of those in separate house
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

Our stay here was amazing. Although it rained, this didn't spoil anything. Mick and Sue were charming and the rooms, residents kitchen etc. were all fantastic. The garden and pool are gorgeous, due to Mick's constant hard work, and the Cassowary visit each day is a wonderful added bonus. We didn't know where to eat the night we arrived but Mick soon sorted us out and off we went with Sue and Mick in a minibus preceeded by a glass of wine on their balcony. We could have stayed much longer it was so relaxing, and every need catered for. Sues breakfast included everything (more than we could eat). They surely know how to run a successful B & B and deserve to be full all the time and we couldn't recommend them too highly.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orpington kent
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

We stopped here for three nights having driven down from Cairns = a three hour trip during which we hit a pothole, resulting in a flat tyre and damaged back tyre -not the best start to this bit of our Australian adventure!
Nonetheless, Mick and Sue made us welcome, showed us the fridge of help yourself beers and soft drinks and up to our rooms on the verandah. Charlie the cassowary appeared straight away and made regular appearances throughout our stay -we also were visited by a wallaby, and kept company with an extremely large spider who fortunately was not going to leave the giant web she had spun. The gardens were stunning filled with tropical palms and trees and there is a small but delightful pool to cool off in. We would have welcomed airconditioning in the room as the overhead fan and bedside fan just didn't cool the room sufficiently and also would have liked a simple slatted blind across our door to create privacy rather than the heavy curtains, but this did not spoil our time here.
Mick and Sue arranged the booking to the Great Barrier Reef which was one of the best things I've ever done and also allowed me to make endless calls to Qantas to rearrange our flights home. They were very helpful with all our "problems" we brought with us!
A great place for a short tropical break, especially if you want to visit the Reef.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

I had a great experience here. It was the first b&b that I've ever stayed at and was plesantly surprized. There are only 4 rooms here so it is very quiet. You can hear foot steps when people are walking around. The grounds are beautiful and scenic. I got to take pictures with one of the cassowearies that live there. They have a game room with free beer and soda.

I'm used to having a tv in my room so that was a bit of an adjustment. There is no a/c. I was there in early spring and it was a bit warm and humid but not too bad. It is about a 3 mile drive to the beach and restaurants.

Mic and Sue are really nice. The breakfast is awesome. I had the pancakes and they were the best ever! They are really helpful when it comes to booking activties. Mic booked a diving trip and a rafting trip for me and I had a great time. You have to do the rafting-best part of the trip in this area!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Licuala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Licuala Lodge

Address: 11, Mission Circle, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mission Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Licuala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Queenslander timber home in world heritage rainforest just 1.5 kms from the beach. Guest accommodation, separate to the main house, overlooks award winning lush tropical gardens. Large swimming pool with waterfall feature. Price includes a wonderful breakfast. The magnificent (and sadly endangered) Cassowary is a daily visitor to the Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Licuala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Licuala Hotel Mission Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Licuala Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.