We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to white water rafting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach to your Saves list
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2 Pacific Parade, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Mission Beach
Perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Close to white water rafting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We were referred here by local residents. Staff on every level were excellent. Really seemed to be bright and interested in what we wanted. Mission Beach is beautiful. Take an early morning walk along it. Breakfasts very good. Pricing system (included for continental; $10 for a la carte hot) was sensible. More hotels should have this easy to understand system. Half an hour in the bus to white water rafting on the Tully instead of two hours from Cairns. Having a "roll out" bed saved us a fortune, but it was rock hard. Overall a lovely place with a great feel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmelie J, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear "Close to white water rafting"

Thank you so much for taking time to write a comment here on Tripadvisor. We very much appreciate the feedback we get here as it is a great way for us to improve and constantly keep on top of our game.
It is so great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially your feedback about our staff. I will make sure they hear your positive comments.
As for the closeness to the white water rafting you could not be more right! This is exactly what we are trying to spread the word about. Why spend 2 hours on a transfer bus when you can stay the night here and only travel 30 minutes.
Thank you and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    105
    45
    37
    18
See reviews for
66
158
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mission Beach, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Our organization, Australian Talent Source, hosted a three day fashion shoot in, glorious Mission Beach, on the doorstep of The Great Barrier Reef. Not only did this location provided the stunning backdrops for the shoot , wonderful food and accommodation, the management & staff were all so friendly and obliging.
It was, truly, a 'five star' hospitality experience; both personally & professionally.
A huge THANK YOU!!! to everyone at Castaways Resort & Spa.

Room Tip: Lots of options of room types and different beach front accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmelie J, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear “A 'five star' hospitality experience; both personally & professionally.”

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback! It was great to have you here as our guests and look forward to having you back with us for more amazing shots.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

As family of the bride, we booked the Beach house and it was perfect! It was suitable for a pre-wedding gathering the night before, plenty of room for bride & bridesmaids to prepare on the day, a great view of the gathering guests and a simple walk to the ceremony. The reception venue was simple but elegant, with a great atmosphere. Although adjacent to the resort, it allowed for substantial privacy. Staff were helpful and friendly, and very professional. The beach house itself had everything we needed (except for a barbecue!). Only suggestion is a set of instructions for how to/not to lock the front door and a few of the appliances, but apart from that it was perfect! Wished I could have stayed longer to enjoy the pool and spa!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmelie J, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear "The perfect wedding venue with everything we needed"

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your feedback here in Tripadvisor. We value our guests comments and take them to heart so that we can continue to improve our resort and our services.
Great to hear that you all fully enjoyed your stay and everything went according to plan for such a very important day.
All the best to the bride and groom!

Look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Beach, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Our two bedroom unit at Castaways looked out directly over the pristine 25m lap pool, down to the palm trees on the edge of the beach and out across to Dunk Island. The staff were always helpful and cheerful who seemed to really enjoy their jobs and interacting with guests. I asked for recommendations on things to do and they spoke from personal experience in recommending a sailing trip to the reef. My daughter loved the day spa at the resort as well.
We arrived on a Sunday afternoon and were famished after the trip to Mission Beach - all was well thanks to Sunday afternoon Pizza and Cider. The food was excellent with some of the best Eggs Benedict I have ever tasted and great dinner menu. While we were there for a holiday I did notice a beautiful wedding reception venue attached to the resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmelie J, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear "Tropical Paradise with Friendly Staff"

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your feedback her in Tripadvisor. It is greatly appreciated!
Lovely to hear your positive feedback comments about our staff and our little piece of paradise that we have here.
We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

When we arrived, they had got our booking wrong and we had to wait a few hours for them to find us a room. We also got locked out of the room for different reasons on each of the 3 days we were there. Apart from that, beautiful location!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmelie J, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear "Ensure you print a booking confirmation before you arrive"

I am sorry to hear that you experienced some problems during your check-in. I am happy to hear however that you overall enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Has the lot. Best stay on a long working and fun break. Upgraded to a two bedroom suite with spa!
Views for ever even though raining and windy still sublime, quality fittings, great staff, food and wine list affordable and interesting, bar singer better than usual run of the mill one man bands. Breakfast with the little extras included in the continental a nice addition. Walking distance to town, beach and shore strolls pleasant and relaxing or step out and get a workout - up to you.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to have a balcony - but ask for 3rd floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmelie J, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear "Surprised all round"

Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us even though, from what it sounds like in your feedback comment, the weather was not great.
If we could only control the weather we would have brought out lots of sunshine for you. As this was not an option, it is a delight to hear your positive feedback about our staff, food and wine.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Have just returned from a 4 night stay,& would like to congratulate the obligeing & courteous staff.
whose endeavours made for a memorable stay.
The view to the open shore line & beyond is to die for!
The refurbished rooms were well appointed, with entire refurbishments due to finish in July.
The restaurant meals were reasonably priced & presented, perhaps 8 out of 10 to rate.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmelie J, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear "If you employ good staff, you're well on the way to having a good business"

First of all I would like to say very well put in your head line comment. I can only but fully agree to this and we are very luck to have been able to find and keep our gems.

Thank you also for taking time to write your feedback here on Tripadvisor. It means a lot to us and I will make sure the staff gets to hear your nice comments also.

Look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach

Address: 2 Pacific Parade, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Mission Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally positioned absolutely beachfront on the white sands of Mission Beach and the sparkling Coral Sea, Castaways Resort & Spa, Mission Beach was named as "One of the World's 10 Best Beachfront Hotels" by Frommer's in July 2011. The resorts is perfectly suited for couples, families with children or groups of friends travelling together and we are also a very popular wedding destination. Get the feeling of being on your own deserted Tropical Island but with all the perks of boutique resort services and facilities right there with you! All our stylish rooms boast uninterrupted views of Dunk Island and the Coral Sea that can be enjoyed from your private balcony or ground level patio. Castaways Resort and Spa has brought a new level of contemporary style and relaxation to Mission Beach. Our resort's Drift Spa offers the ultimate environment for total relaxation and rejuvenation. Imagine drifting off with a blissful massage listening to the waves of the rolling ocean outside. The resort's Bibesia Beach Club Restaurant and Cocktail bar is absolute beachfront overlooking the coconut palm fringed beach ... Alfresco dining at its best! For a truly unforgettable experience, ask the chef to set you a candlelit table directly on the beach near the coconut palms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach Hotel Mission Beach
Castaways Resort And Spa Mission Beach
Castaways Hotel On Mission Beach
Castaways Resort On Mission Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.