We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach to your Saves list
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2 Pacific Parade, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Mission Beach
Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“gorgeous location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed for one night at the end of December, the main areas of the hotel are beautiful, we ate dinner and breakfast there and the food and service were great and reasonably priced. Beautiful pools looking out onto a beautiful view of the beach. The rooms were nice with a private balcony; comfortable bedding with plenty of seats. The only downside was the ac - it was not very effective. The staff were very helpful arranging special requests before our arrival.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmelie J, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear "gorgeous location"

Thank you for taking time out and write a feedback comment here on Tripadvisor. It is great to hear that you enjoyed both your stay with us and the lovely location of Mission Beach.
Hope to see you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    105
    45
    37
    18
See reviews for
66
158
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Just returned from our second visit to Castaways Resort and while we had a relaxing time I really noticed a few things in need of attention this stay. As other members have pointed out the location of the resort is second to none. Beautiful views from every room looking out over the coral sea and Dunk Island. The beach is huge and long for those who enjoy a morning/evening walk. A life guard is present (probably during holiday season) and a well maintained stinger net is in place from November to May. There is a great little beach takeaway snack bar outside the north end of the resort for those who don't wish to pay resort price food all the time as well. The resort bar and dining area is an open plan arrangement that also looks out over the fabulous views as does the pool. However, the rooms are getting a little tired and housekeeping/maintenance needs to improve. On arrival we noted one lamp in our 2 bedroom resort room was not working and the desk lamp sparked when we tried to switch it on making for a pretty dangerous situation. The air conditioner control had flat batteries. After fresh batteries were replaced, try as we may we could not get it to operate the main bedroom air con leaving us to climb up on the bed to manually turn it on and off. The tissue dispenser in the bathroom had not been replenished and probably the most annoying thing was the glass sliding door that was really difficult to open. We notified reception staff of these issues and to their credit they were very prompt in dealing with these few issues. Also be aware - there is no screen door so the glass sliding door needs to be closed most of the time to keep any flying nasties out. There is a lack of mirrors in the bedrooms which leaves one to line up for the bathroom which lacks a decent amount of towel racks if you happen to be sharing with your teenage kids as we were. All rooms are suppose to be equipped with a torch for emergency situations but we could not find one in our room. Most of these things are small issues but together they make for a definite lacking of facilities especially when one is paying resort prices.
On the up side the food at the restaurant was great. Prompt, hot and delicious however continental breakfast in the morning was a bit poor. Staff are friendly and helpful. In all I was a bit disappointed in our second stay at Castaway Resort and would encourage the manager to relook at the room amenities and house keeping service with fresh eyes.

Room Tip: Room 101 on the ground floor offers a bit more outdoor space with an almost private lawn extending f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmelie J, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear "Needs some TLC"

First of all I would like to say thank you for coming back for your second visit to Castaways. We always love to wish returning guests back to us.
I would also like to say thank you for the very specific and detailed feedback. Feedback like yours is very much appreciated and we do take our guests comments very serious. It is the absolute best way for us to keep on our toes and make the necessary adjustments and changes where ever possible.
I do hope we will see you back with us again for a third time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Secured a reasonable rate for an oceanfront room as a walk in at this property which is located right on beautiful Mission Beach. Our room was large and well furnished with a fabulous ocean view. Yes, the bathroom was a bit tired, but it was spacious and had everything we needed, and the beds were sooooo comfy. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it for the best views! Breakfast was included in our rate and that was an excellent deal - for an extra $10 hubby upgraded to a cooked breakfast, but I was happy with the broad range on offer in the continental buffet - including a toastie maker and all the fixings for a yumming toasted sandwich. We were caught out by the helpful wait staff asking if we'd like tea or coffee when we arrived down for breakfast, nice to have a teapot bought to the table, but that comes at an extra cost and I'd just as soon make my own whilst serving myself from the buffet. Free Wifi in the lobby was popular (although there was a large children's group (local kindergarten?) meeting in the reception area of the hotel that morning so the noise and disruption was less than ideal ... pool side was lovely although the water was too chilly to attract us to swimming. The best bit was sitting on the balcony soaking up the views, and walking straight across the lawn to stroll along the beach - stunning! We wandered the short distance into the village to sample a local restaurant that night, and were happy for the experience.

Room Tip: Ocean front - 1st floor - magic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmelie J, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear "Best location in Mission Beach"

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback here on Tripadvisor. It sounds to me as you really got to experience the beauty Mission Beach has to offer. When our guest leave with such positive feedback we know we have succeeded at what we set out to do.
Look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night in November whilst on our way to Brisbane. the hotel is in a fantastic position right on the beach, the friendliness of the staff is what makes this hotel extra special cannot fault any of them. Would liked to have stayed longer and definitley would love to return

Room Tip: From what I have read from other reviewers they echo what I found a very clean room with plenty of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmelie J, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear "Excellent service and fantastic location"

It is so great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and even better to hear the very positive feedback about our staff. I will consider this a great early Christmas present!
We hope you had a pleasant drive down to Brisbane and look forward to welcoming you back to us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Fabulous location right on the beach. Lovely room overlooking the pool and beach. The friendliness and service from the staff was fantastic. Excellent meals in the restaurant We had a lovely relaxing stay. Would love to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmelie J, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear "Wonderful location and service"

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your time while staying here with us. Thank you so much for taking the time write your feedback on Tripadvisor.
I hope you will have a pleasant trip back to the UK when the time comes and we would love to have you back next time around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We spent a couple of nights here - and enjoyed our time relaxing in the pool and playing on the beach.
The resort is located right on the beach - not only on the beach, but right next to the stinger net swimming area. Gold!
The room was basic and clean. There is some rust on fixtures, in the room and around the pool. Some corrosion is to be expected as a result of the location.
Price of the room was ok - worth it for the location.
The only down side was the noise from fellow guests staying above us.
All of the staff were great - friendly and helpful. Rare in NthQLD.
The restaurant was also a great experience - perfect atmosphere and hard working staff (especially Marivic).

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmelie J, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear "Nice getaway - location is everything."

Thank you for your great and positive feedback about our resort and your recent stay with us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and especially the positive comments about our staff. They are the heart and soul of our business!
We hope to see you back with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed here for a week in November 2013 and had a fantastic holiday. The hotel is in a superb position right on the beach. The staff are what makes this hotel extra special - cannot fault any of them. They go above and beyond what you would expect. Keep up the good work!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a ground floor family room - just two steps away from the pool!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmelie J, Director of Sales at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear "Fantastic"

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback posted here on Tripadvisor. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and giving our staff such very positive feedback. I will make sure that they hear about your great comments.
Look forward to welcoming you back to us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach

Address: 2 Pacific Parade, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Mission Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally positioned absolutely beachfront on the white sands of Mission Beach and the sparkling Coral Sea, Castaways Resort & Spa, Mission Beach was named as "One of the World's 10 Best Beachfront Hotels" by Frommer's in July 2011. The resorts is perfectly suited for couples, families with children or groups of friends travelling together and we are also a very popular wedding destination. Get the feeling of being on your own deserted Tropical Island but with all the perks of boutique resort services and facilities right there with you! All our stylish rooms boast uninterrupted views of Dunk Island and the Coral Sea that can be enjoyed from your private balcony or ground level patio. Castaways Resort and Spa has brought a new level of contemporary style and relaxation to Mission Beach. Our resort's Drift Spa offers the ultimate environment for total relaxation and rejuvenation. Imagine drifting off with a blissful massage listening to the waves of the rolling ocean outside. The resort's Bibesia Beach Club Restaurant and Cocktail bar is absolute beachfront overlooking the coconut palm fringed beach ... Alfresco dining at its best! For a truly unforgettable experience, ask the chef to set you a candlelit table directly on the beach near the coconut palms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach Hotel Mission Beach
Castaways Resort And Spa Mission Beach
Castaways Hotel On Mission Beach
Castaways Resort On Mission Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.