We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mackays Mission Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mackays Mission Beach to your Saves list
Mackays Mission Beach
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   7 Porter Promenade, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mission Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way north. We wish we could have stayed longer. Our room was large, well equipped and very comfortable. We were able to walk out of the motel through the garden, down the road about 300 metres and get to a very pleasant, smallish area of restaurants and bars right by the beach. However we didn't need to eat here because the restaurant at the motel is excellent. We had a wonderful and interesting meal at a fair price. Barbara, the owner along with her partner Alan, is very pleasant - we didn't meet Alan. We really liked Mission Beach and this motel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysMotel, Owner at Mackays Mission Beach, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We both thank you for your comments, we strive to give good old fashion services to all of our guests.
Our small dining room serves great food at a fair price, even the Locals enjoy our service and our two deck areas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    32
    6
    0
    7
See reviews for
11
52
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed the same time last year and enjoyed our stay. Happy to find it was as good as before. Great food and nice gardens. Good place for a stopover when heading north. Staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysMotel, Owner at Mackays Mission Beach, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
It is always a pleasure to see our returning guests, we treat them like family.
Thank you for your response, see you soon....................
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Staff were very friendly. Stayed there for one night whilst in mission beach for a wedding so was perfectly located to the wedding venue. Had difficulties with shower (not working correctly) and toilet (toilet lid broken) which staff were very apologetic about and rectified immediately.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysMotel, Owner at Mackays Mission Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
You are welcome to stay again if you decide to come back for a Holiday.
Thank you for your response, and the shower is working like it should be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is long but needs to be told. My partner and I booked this hotel for a 3 day break back in march to stay in June after my cancer treatment had stopped. The rate we were quoted was $100 a night (Wotif) and as we were staying 3 nights they would upgrade us to a deluxe room. That was really nice we thought. But that was the end of that. When we received our confirmation it said deluxe room and single bed as requested for $125 a night. When we questioned it, Barbara told me that no one there would have done such a deal and she would look in to it. Did not hear back. We couldn't afford the extra $$ so we phoned the next day and cancelled.
In June they took $375.19c out of our credit card. I phoned and spoke to Barbara who recalled the cancellation said she would refund it. They are now refusing to pay the full refund because no email confirming. This has been reported to the ACCC

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysMotel, Owner at Mackays Mission Beach, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
The booking in question was not cancelled either via phone nor email, we did how ever refund one nights stay, and then offered the person a room if they wanted to rebook at a later stage,
.
Our Cancelation Policy is very clear, we could not relet the room on the weekend as the booking was not cancelled, and therefore the cost was deducted as per our policy.
We have tried to reach an amicable solution with the lady in question, but we cannot reach a solution as the game plane changes each time we speak to the Lady in question.

Email as sent to Chris Brookhouse.

Dear Chris,

We have paid an extra $62.50 plus the $125 already refunded, that is half the bill as requested by you now the (total $187.50).


Sorry.....................
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed as a family with two children (7/10). We opted for two of the cheaper motel rooms. The rooms were perfectly adequate with plenty of room, very clean with good beds, shower and aircon if required but we did not use it.
The grounds were very tropical and well maintained.
We ate in the restaurant on both evenings as we'd had such a lovely meal the first night that there was never an option to go anywhere else. The second night did not disappoint. I thought the value of the meals and drinks was very good.
We had breakfast delivered both mornings and ate it on the verandah outside the rooms. It was so relaxing and food was cheap but scrumptious.
All the above things add up to a fantastic motel but the absolute best part of it was the staff who were brilliant from check in to check out.

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms were fine and handy for the pool and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysMotel, Owner at Mackays Mission Beach, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Our guests come first, service, value and we give them a sense of home.
Thank you for your feedback about our Motel, we need your feedback to gauge our performance in providing what our Guests require when staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days. Our hosts were very welcoming and happy to help us. The breakfast, served as room service, was fantastic. It is moments away from the beach. The restaurant serve great food, with Korean options to choose from. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysMotel, Owner at Mackays Mission Beach, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for your input, we have a good response from our guests that our meals are good value for money.
You must start your journey with a good breakfast, and our breakfast is a good on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay here, especially the in-house restaurant which was just a few steps away from our room! Negatives would be the decor, as dark carpet, dark feature wall & fabric headboard added to the warmth of a very hot & humid day!! Owners were lovely! I was unwell on our second day so couldn't make it to restaurant, so our good was delivered to us, & my health was enquired after, which was appreciated!
Traveller tip : use air/con on a hot night as its quiet & not too cold like some!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysMotel, Owner at Mackays Mission Beach, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your response to your stay, we continue to upgrade our rooms, so next time new décor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mackays Mission Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackays Mission Beach

Address: 7 Porter Promenade, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mission Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mackays Mission Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation at Mackays Mission Beach has been specifically designed for living in the tropics. Our boutique accommodation has 18 motel units all featuring covered outdoor living areas that overlook lush rain forest gardens and a landscaped natural stone pool under the canopy of a giant poinciana tree. To further enhance the scene, two of Australia's finest resort islands, Dunk Island and Bedarra Island, are mere minutes offshore. Discover Scuba Diving off the Great Barrier Reef, White Water Rafting on the Tully River, Island Cruising, Fishing, Kayaking, Skydiving, Walks in the World Heritage-listed rain forest or just relaxing on our Beautiful Beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Mackays Mission Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackays Hotel Mission Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mackays Mission Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.