We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mackays Mission Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mackays Mission Beach to your Saves list
Mackays Mission Beach
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   7 Porter Promenade, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mission Beach
Perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We recently called into Mission Beach and Mackays looked pleasant from the road and had a sign out the front saying 'standby rates'. We booked a room at a good rate and the staff were very friendly. It was just after 5pm when we arrived so we enjoyed a couple of drinks around the pool as it was 'happy hour'. The room was very nice, decor was modern and the balcony was so peaceful as we had a beautiful view of the pool and the lush, tropical gardens. We had a meal in the dining area. The service was excellent and we chose Indian cuisine from the menu which was lovely and very reasonably priced. We had a great night sleep (very quiet location). I would have to say our breakfast would have to be the best value breakfast we have ever had. We chose room service and it was delivered with a smile. My partner had the full cooked breakfast (i'm not sure how he got through it all, but he did!!!), it was huge. I had a fruit plate and yogurt and honey which was awesome, fresh and plentiful. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay if you want value for money, good friendly service and a great meal.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysMotel, Owner at Mackays Mission Beach, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
People from WA, long way from home, all they wanted was a hot shower, service and a good nights sleep, we propvided all the comforts that they wished for.
Thank you for your comment................
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    28
    5
    0
    6
See reviews for
10
50
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
tetney
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Lovely gardens and very clean room. The towels were changed every day and the toiletries topped up. The lady behind reception couldn't have been more helpful. If we went back to Mission Beach we would go back - I would definitely reccommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

very clean,friendly,helpful,gardens are really nice. only down side was that they did not cook every nite. food was well worth the money :) good choice for breakfast. we travelled for 3 weeks and this was the best motel we stayed in.

Room Tip: best to ask for an upgrade, and they will do discounts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

We were driving in pouring rain in Queensland and decided to come off the road for the night. We drove to Mission Beach and stopped in the first motel we came to. What a great place. The owners are delightful and instead of just staying for the one night as intended we stayed for two and just relaxed in their beautiful tropical garden which has a lovely pool which we had all to ourselves. We were swimming in the pool and the owner came over and brought us a little plate of snacks. The room was lovely, providing everything you would expect from a 4 star hotel. Very nicely decorated. Our room was on the first floor and had a lovely balcony overlooking the pool and with a glimpse of the sea which is about two minutes walk away through the garden. We ordered breakfast at a very reasonable price which was served in our room. It was delicious. For a small charge (cheaper than using the washer and dryer in the other motels we have used on this trip) I got the laundry done for me before setting off on our travels again. There were some improvements being made whilst we were there such as a new deck area round the pool. Not the cheapest but would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Choose a first floor room for the extra $10,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We stayed at MacKays in November and found the owner was trying to make it more comfortalbe and you could see signs that they are upgrading the furnishings and fixtures. The pre-ordered breakfast delivered to your room in the morning in a really nice touch.

I think with more feedback from guests, they will keep improving.

Nice pool area and location near the beach

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

We were utterly shocked and appalled by the host's reception and attitude at this place. When he couldn't find the room that we had reserved just 3 days prior, the host's response was: Lots of sighing, flipping through computer/written reservations, more sighing, asking my name again, more sighing...then he looked up at us, shrugged his shoulders when couldn't find our booking and said 'we're booked out - there's another motel up the road.' Disgusting - I've had better and more friendly service in a supermarket!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysMotel, Owner at Mackays Mission Beach, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
It was called CYCLONE "YASI" no one in mission Beach was all together over the months it took to recover.
Some people think they are just to good to have compassion and understanding of the trauma of what the Mission Beach residents and the surrounding area has just gone through.

I hope they never have to face any thing like a Clyclone in their life time, they just may understand what we went through.........................
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

This place is the pits. The owners/managers are rude and arrogant. They double-book rooms and don't bother to tell you even when they have your mobile phone number. I'd rather sleep in my car than stay here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackaysMotel, Owner at Mackays Mission Beach, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
It was called CYCLONE "YASI" no one in mission Beach was all together over the months it took to recover.
Some people think they are just to good to have compassion and understanding of the trauma of what the Mission Beach residents and the surrounding area has just gone through.
We had no powewr, hot water not even a phone, some people just do not understand.

I hope they never have to face any thing like a Clyclone in their life time, they just may understand what we went through.........................
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mackays Mission Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackays Mission Beach

Address: 7 Porter Promenade, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mission Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mackays Mission Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation at Mackays Mission Beach has been specifically designed for living in the tropics. Our boutique accommodation has 18 motel units all featuring covered outdoor living areas that overlook lush rain forest gardens and a landscaped natural stone pool under the canopy of a giant poinciana tree. To further enhance the scene, two of Australia's finest resort islands, Dunk Island and Bedarra Island, are mere minutes offshore. Discover Scuba Diving off the Great Barrier Reef, White Water Rafting on the Tully River, Island Cruising, Fishing, Kayaking, Skydiving, Walks in the World Heritage-listed rain forest or just relaxing on our Beautiful Beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mackays Mission Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackays Hotel Mission Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mackays Mission Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.