We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment - It's not the Mouses House” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Amytis Gardens Retreat & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Amytis Gardens Retreat & Spa to your Saves list
Amytis Gardens Retreat & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   51 Malones Road | Kiels Mountain, Sunshine Coast, Maroochydore, Queensland 4559, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Maroochydore
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“What a disappointment - It's not the Mouses House”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at Amytis Gardens from a voucher that was purchased through Spreets. When i booked i was informed that due to popularity they had extended the promotional period, which was great as we had parents visiting from Overseas the only week day available. The extension period however only had two spots available on a friday and saturday and during the week but we would have been in Japan. We were informed that if we couldn't stay during the week we had to pay an additional $200 for the weekend. Despite the voucher not specifically saying that it was not available on weekends or there was additional charges for weekend stays, i agreed to pay as i didn't want the voucher to go to waste.

Upon arrival to Amytis you drive up a service past other properties that are a mess and do not really give a good first impression of the spa. We were taken through several key things at the reception desk, but was unimpressed that we had to do our own dishes at the end of the stay and to wash the glasses by hand because their cleaner was unable to carefully open the dishwasher to avoid the glasses from breaking.

The "chalets" are not really what i would call secluded and private. The chalet we stayed in was right next to another chalet which we could see straight into, and vice versa. The layout of the Chalets could have been better thought out. The Bedroom looks right out onto the service road, so there is no sleepy lay ins admiring the "spectacular view", because there was no view and if walking past you can see straight in. The walls of the bathroom did not go all the way to the roof, so anyone in the chalet can hear you go to the loo. Not very attractive. The spa is in the bathroom with the toilet and shower, so once again, if you are sharing the spa with your husband/wife etc enjoying a nice glass of champs and one needs to pop to the loo - no chance, cover eyes and ears.

The website claims that it is situated on 16 acres of rainforest. This is not rainforest at all, i wouldn't even call it thick bush. There are bush trees (gum trees) but it's not very picturesque. There is a pond of black looking water which was not very appealing as it hardly looked like clean damn water. There is no vegetation around the chalets so they are exposed and not private. There is a pool and BBQ area but this is all share/communal equipment and attached to the main spa.

Part of the deal we had was a continental breakfast and complimentary bottle of wine. The breakfast included was hardly large enough for 2 people x 2 days (see picture). The breakfast we had was waiting for us included 4 mini boxes of Kellogg's sugary cereal, 4 eggs, yoghurt, fruit and toast. The wine was horrible. A clear skin fruity white wine which was horribly sweet. We didn't the eat breakfast apart from the eggs and toast.

When the website states it has a kitchen please be advised that this includes a fridge, microwave and sink. There is also a toaster, and kettle. The hot plates they have are electric plug in the wall hot plates. Trying to cook eggs and bacon in the morning was the biggest nightmare. What a simple breakfast but it's dreadfully impossible when the frying pan doesn't sit flat on the electric hotplate. We gave up on even contemplating cooking a dinner or breakfast the morning and ended up having to go into moorchydore to eat.

When it came time to check out, i had to go looking for someone to advise and hand the DVD's we borrowed back to. After waiting in the reception for 10 minutes and ringing the little bell, i went on the search and found the lady sitting in another building enjoying a cup of tea with someone. When it's 9.45 and check out is at 10am it would make sense that there would be someone at reception.

I was unimpressed that we were forced to pay this additional $200 which at the time of booking i thought "not a problem they are busy i understand" when we arrived there was one other chalet with people in it (and the ladder on the rood gave me the impression this may have been occupied by friends or family or a longer term stayer). I was furious we had to pay additional money when the place was empty.

There was also an incident with my credit card prior to arriving where when i made the booking i authorised the payment of the additional $200. A week later i was then issued an invoice for the $200. When i enquired i was told that they didn't process it through while i was the phone to them and when they did finally process it was declined. I then informed them that i was not happy that the payment was not processed when on the phone and they card would not work as i was booking accommodation for our trip to japan. I did not hear anything back from them. I then checked my credit card several days later and saw they had just went and processed the $200 regardless of the email telling them the card would not be able to used.

I am aware that this needed to be paid, and i had agreed to this, but i was under the belief that it was processed while i was on the phone to them, not 7 days later. While i waited for a response that didn't come in relation to me telling that it wouldn't go through, i find that they just process it anyway is not good.

I have also included photos of additional charges including a $40 cleaning fee if the cleaner has to clean, or an additional $25 (or $30 depending on what page you look at) for wood if you require more wood for the fire. If you go in the winter take your own wood, it's cheaper and you get more if you buy it from a servo.

Overall, while this place was clean and tidy but it is not something i would call romantic. As my partner said to while we were watching TV "what a shame if i was planning on proposing to you because this place is a massive disappointment,i thought this place was supposed to be cosy and romantic, it is anything but".

For the same price you can go to The Mouse's House in the gold coast hinterland, for a truly wonderful, private, secluded, romantic get away.

Ps. Two of the lights didn't work, included the outside light so we couldn't sit outside after dusk. Didn't really bother us too much,but worth a mention. For a 4.5 star one would expect all lights to be working.

Room Tip: - Don't put the dishwasher on at night when you are going to bed, it will keep you awake. - Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matilda72, Manager at Amytis Gardens Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Wow, how disturbing, this lady was angry when booking on the phone, taken photos in the chalet after she has inhabited the chalet and she has taken photos to suit her mood. This lady was most angry on checking in and out. Yes I am again sick in the stomach with this woman report as I was when she checked in. We do not present our guests with unmade beds and the cereals we use are approved by the National Heart Foundation.
This ladies report is a continuation of her deceit. Our quests are cherished by us as they are our business. Shirley Bonser Owner/Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    2
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
3
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aust
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is a great place to relax, have the treatment in the spa and just get away from it all
Joe and his wife have a lovely place nestled between Maroochydore and Woombye in the hills.
The quaint cabins and peacefulness adds to the total environ to assit you in relaxing.
People come from all over just to get away from the pace of todays world and what a place to get away to.
Nothing like the 5 star all bells and whistles costing you an arm and a leg.
Just good old comfort, solitude and quality and relaxing massage etc.
Great staff and customer focused service with no plastic smiles etc
If you thinking to find a getaway for a mid week or weekend and value add with the relaxing therapy then I cannot rate this place high enough.

Room Tip: Book ahead + say Howard sent you ;-)H
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita C, Manager at Amytis Gardens Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2015
Fantastic words thanks Howard! You have pretty much summed up what we are all about in your review. I am more than happy that you received all the benefits of staying locally, what a perfect arrangement. Thanks again your review has helped other travellers in their plans. Regards Anita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The deal that I bought - as a birthday present - was completely inaccurate, the full continental breakfast was a couple of pieces of fruit, 1 tiny bottle of juice, 1 small serving of cereal and 2 pieces of toast, which was fine, untill I enquired where our breakfast was the next morning - only to be told that, no, that was your breakfast for the two day - to feed 2 people! Which wasnt the end of the world, I was polite as can be about it, but then when I requested 2 robes, which was entitled in the voucher, the mananagers/caretakers husand who I was speaking to turned in to the most rudest person I have EVER dealt with (and I work in customer service by the way, which says something!). He flatly refused and went on a rant about how long his day was and that it was not his problem, we were asking too much apparently, Some of the things he said during this were absolutely disgustingly rude. Then I proceeded to take the matter up with his wife, who dennyed that he would have been rude at all, she would not accept a word I said. She then became even ruder than her husband had been! I have NEVER been treated like that before in my life. I have never written a bad review of anything before so I am not out to have a winge - but this was absoltely appauling. Would never go back their even if my life depended on it. Yes, the cabins are very nice and the bush is lovely and quiet - but the treatment we received was horrid. They refused to listen and in the end make a million excuses and said we could have a $20-$30 refund (after a lot of argument and yelling!) - out of a two night stay that we used 1 night of and were treated like lower human beings. Do yourselves a favour and go somewhere else. Big thumbs down!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Amytis Gardens for our Anniversary and we were blown away by the beautiful location and the quality of the chalets!! They were amazing and what a great way to escape the city and just be alone. The chalet was very modern and had everything you need in a romantic getaway. The owners were really great and made it a very special anniversary. The Spa was bliss and very relaxing, and we sat in the courtyard after, with a glass of champagne and I asked my partner if she wanted to marry me, and she said yes :) The best ever!

Room Tip: The chalets are wonderful and peaceful with a view of the forrest, very relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matilda72, Manager at Amytis Gardens Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Congratulations, we wish you well for your happy beginnings. I also see you have some artistic creation, we love your photo of the cheese platter. Hope you come again and renew your memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have tried other places on the Sunshine Coast and they do not come close to this place. The staff just couldn't do enough for you. The cabins were everything that was on their web site. The massage was great the staff were good. We preordered a few things and they were there in our cabin waiting for us.I would certainly recommend this place if you want to get away for a couple of nights and destress

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matilda72, Front Office Manager at Amytis Gardens Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thanks Guys, you were a pleasure and glad you enjoyed your massages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed the quiet, the spa bath, the sleep ins - and the spa treatments! The bed was also super comfy and we enjoyed the fire with a glass of wione and the cheese platter. Thank you for a lovely stay. Highly recommended for rest and relaxation

Room Tip: All chalets seem lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in Tuscan sunset chalet. The chalet was modern, clean, private and very comfortable. The spa bath was delightful - best I have experienced in a long time. The chalet has all you could ask for including a fire place, air con and a great kitchenette. The bed was super comfy. We enjoyed our breakfast on the verandah - it was wonderful to experience such solitude and only a short drive to beach, shops or the hinterland. Would have loved to stayed longer.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matilda72, Manager at Amytis Gardens Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thanks you for your comments, I see you are well traveled and we do like to provide the quite welcome touches, glad we could be included in your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amytis Gardens Retreat & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amytis Gardens Retreat & Spa

Address: 51 Malones Road | Kiels Mountain, Sunshine Coast, Maroochydore, Queensland 4559, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maroochydore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Maroochydore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amytis Gardens Retreat & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private Mountain hideaway amongst 16 acres in the Heart of Australia's Nature Coast. Just 10 minutes behind golden beaches of the Sunshine Coast, offering superb mountain chalets. Amytis Gardens provides the ultimate getaway. Cooking classes for the foodies, and a Day Spa to restore your bodies energies - nurturing massages, face and body spa therapies are a must. Chef prepared meals are available for those of you who wish to escape the kitchen, and breakfast baskets available. Four Chalets, well appointed with sunken spa bath and crackling fire place offer a complete escape sanctuary. Each elevated chalet is decorated in a French Provincial theme, with the Australian treetops your view from the indulgent sunken spa bath. Polished timber floors sweep throughout to reach exquisite Argentine hand painted glass window features. A panel of white shutters separate lounge from bedroom giving you that holiday feeling. Not to mention the radiating warmth of your wood fireplace keeping you toasty on winter days. Equipped for comfort with kitchenette & dishwasher facilities, you have the freedom to make a snack or your own personal banquet if you desire. Relax with a book on your private balcony or take a leisurely swim in our ozone treated swimming pool - float away looking up to clear blue skies and cool native Eucalypts. You can even keep in touch with the office ...if you must. The chalets are air-conditioned and have screened wooden louvers to catch the cool of the summer breeze. Native birds surround your Chalet (including a few cheeky kookaburras...), and local wild-life are frequent visitors to our natural coastal region. Escape back to nature with simple luxuries within reach at Amytis Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Amytis Gardens Retreat & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amytis Gardens Retreat & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.