We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Thai I've ever eaten” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Som Tam Thai Restaurant

Som Tam Thai Restaurant
1/39 Aerodrome Road, Maroochydore, Queensland 4558, Australia
(07) 5479 1700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 133 Restaurants in Maroochydore
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Thai I've ever eaten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I love Thai and have eaten a lot of it everywhere but this restaurant takes the cake! The most flavor some and real tasting Thai I have ever had! Not this bland stuff most Thai restaurants sell these days!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    19
    6
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warana ale Australia
1 review
“AWESTRUCK!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I went there with 10 other women. We had the most beautiful mouthwatering meals. Good prices, good sized meals. Can't wait to go back. I can't recommend it enough. Thank you Som Tam!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Delicious pad thai and awesome satay sticks. Although I didn't enjoy the massaman curry as the chunks of meat were huge and a little off putting. But overall a fantastic restaurant

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Try the Spicy Cashew Chicken stir-fry with Coconut rice. To die for. Absolute favourite!
Very friendly service, and a nice atmosphere. There is no better Thai food on the Sunshine Coast than SomTamThai.
We drive 20mins (often), just for this meal.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Food - Best Prices & Best Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This place is a must for the Maroochydore visitor, & locals if you haven't yet discovered Som Tam...... Authentic Thai Food which caters for all taste buds from mild to HOT!!, you could be in Thailand, the atmosphere is such. So when the prices are affordable & the service is top notch, why go anywhere else!! They also cater for large groups at the one table, just take some cash as they don't split the bill (a small negitive for a positive experience),,,, Enjoy!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Som Tam Thai Restaurant also viewed

Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
 
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Som Tam Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Som Tam Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.