We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Cafe

Scandic Cafe
12 First Avenue, Maroochydore, Queensland 4558, Australia
+(61)405060970
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 122 Restaurants in Maroochydore
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Coffee Shop, Sandwiches, Tea Room, Scandinavian
Restaurant details
Palmwoods, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great little find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had heard of this little Café and thought we'd try something different. It had a great atmosphere from the moment we walked in, and there was the option to sit in or outside. We sat inside because it was a bit chilly when we visited. The service by the staff was excellent and very friendly. The coffee and food come out quickly too. The coffee was divine, the barista really knew what he was doing. And the food was deliciously tasty. We had the lunch special- the Flying Jacob. A creamy chicken and rice dish with banana and bacon. Who would have thought banana could go in a savory dish?! Yum!!!

We can't wait to return again to try the chocolate cake people rave about, and have another coffee. Well done, you've got a great little café!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Go for the Kladdkaka”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

On a windy, wintery Sunshine Coast morning the idea place for a coffee is Scandic Cafe. Rubbing shoulders with the local legal eagles and office workers, this cosy coffee shop and eatery is a short walk (and a whole world) away from the hustle and bustle of the Sunshine Plaza shopping precinct. Scandic atmosphere, Scandic accents, Sccandic food and great cofffee. If only we could stay for lunch on this Meatball Monday, the smells from the kitchen were amazing. We had to make do with the (homemade) Kladdkaka! What a treat! Enjoy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“You have to try this Cafe it's simply the best on the Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

My husband and I popped into this cafe while visiting up the coast, Wow what a experience. Beautifully decorated with a great homely feeling to it. We had never eaten Scandinavian before and couldn't wait to try all the exciting new food's. We went for the weekly special which was the Norwegian Fish Burger. Yum Yum Yum so healthy with the nicest of bun that just melted in your mouth simply delicious beautifully presented as well, and at such a reasonable price. We had to try some sweets so went with the amazing "kladdkaka" a most delicious chocolate dessert that you have to try when you come. Was so good you can't share this dessert. The coffee is great as well. The owners Sanna and Richie are so obliging warm and so friendly with a great sense of humour just makes your meal even better. We throughly enjoyed our first visit to Scandic and can't wait to come back and try out the rest of the exciting menu. Thank you so much for our first taste of Scandinavian food we are hooked and we will certainly be back. If your up the coast and want to try somewhere new to eat you have to try this one it's a must. It's our new home now.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great little spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We've been here a few times for coffee and really enjoyed it. The menu looks good so one day when we're in the mood to eat lunch, we'll no doubt eat here as well.

The service is friendly and the coffee is always good. They have newspapers and loyalty cards which is a bonus.

It's a cool little spot and we're sure it'll do well - welcome to the neighbourhood!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great local cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Excellent coffee , the food is interesting and delicious. The staff were very friendly....worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scandic Cafe also viewed

Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
 
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Scandic Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.