We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Sebel Maroochydore

Save Saved
You added The Sebel Maroochydore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sebel Maroochydore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Aerodrome Road, Maroochydore, Queensland 4556, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, spend less!
Ranked #2 of 13 hotels in Maroochydore
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“noisy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The main point against this hotel is its location above a set of traffic lights, the volume of noise from the traffic is very high. The outside space is large, but if you require any peace and quite to read or relax, this wouldnt be the best place to do it. The bedroom was good, a very comfortable bed,the bathroom was o.k. the kitchen was tired, sticking drawer, the island had a covering which was peeling off, and the lighting in the sitting area was dull ,a very stark space. Any of the staff we had to deal with were very pleasant and helpful. I would not consider staying here again.

Room Tip: When we return to this area, we would stay much closer to moololabar. It is a 30 minute walk from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    79
    15
    13
    3
See reviews for
58
85
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here just recently as a quick getaway while the Grandparents looked after our young son. The service at the front desk was friendly and efficient. Our room was amazing - we got a 2 bedroom apartment on the 11th floor. Views were spectacular, the apartment was massive. It was very clean and modern throughout. My only gripe was the street noise - even on the 11th floor you could easily hear the noise throughout the apartment. We were looking forward to catching up on our sleep but alas it was not to be - especially as I am a light sleeper. Apart from that everything else was perfect. We got a discounted rate through the Entertainment book as well which also made it cost effective. Would be happy to stay again - but would suggest taking some ear plugs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Probably the best apartment I have stayed in,and I do travel a lot.It is a walk across the road to a quiet beach and the flagged area not far away.....Lots of cafes and dining places a short walk away....On a busy road,the only drawback,but didnt affect my sleep...and I wasnt there to sleep during the day....Certainly value for money...Apartment was huge and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised at the size of our room at the Sebel; our 2 bed apartment was extremely comfortable and all facilities were at or above our expectation. Just a pity we couldn't stay longer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed over the winter and although had rain and showery weather every day we had an
enjoyable 4 nite stay. We had a two bedroomed apartment on the 7th floor so had views of
the sea. The room had 2 lounges, so if had children they could have had their own lounge with TV. The bathroom had a spa bath, and also 2 handbasins. Lovely spacious apartment.
However I felt for winter the swimming pool and spa could have been hotter.
The internet was also not working while we stayed, but an internet cafe was close.
The beach is opposite the Hotel, and cafes, are easy walking distance away.
Also the Sunshine Mall is close which has approx 300 shops.

We found The Sebel a great base to explore the Sunshine coast, and as Mooloolaba close, about
10min by car, or a nice sea walk of about 30 min, good to have the extra shops and cafes, beach.
Think being on the 7th floor we didnt find the traffic noise a problem but it could have been quiter
in winter than summer.
Underfloor carparking good.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed here over Christmas last year. I cannot fault the hotel, it was lovely. We were given a huge two bedroom apartment with direct access to the swimming pool. The hotel also offers a secure car park, which is very convenient. Another bonus is the rooftop BBQ area (where we cooked our Christmas Day meal!) and rooftop jacuzzi, which we took advantage of.

The only downside is the resort of Maroochydore. Unfortunately, due to a mistake by our operator Thomas Cook we were moved to this resort instead of Mooloolaba at the last minute. Over Christmas Maroochydore was pretty dead, hardly any shops or restaurants were open. We had to drive to Mooloolaba for dinner and drinks most nights. Also, the beach in Maroochydore is rocky not sandy so if you're looking for a decent beach you'll need to drive to Mooloolaba or Noosa.

I would definitely recommend the hotel itself and the staff were very helpful and friendly. However, the resort of Maroochydore was just too quiet over Christmas time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Stayed here for three nights. Overall the accommodation is ok but quite stark..white everywhere.
Parking provided which is handy and Internet access available but you get charged for this. Beds are ok as are the pillows. Nothing to write home about and not at a luxury standard.

Good facilities for you own cooking. Street noise is a big issue especially on Thursday and Friday nights. The hotel is next to a big maccas and the local hoods enjoy the circle around it. Be warned about it even if you are on the 12th floor.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sebel Maroochydore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Maroochydore

Address: 20 Aerodrome Road, Maroochydore, Queensland 4556, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maroochydore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 hotels in Maroochydore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Maroochydore 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your The Sebel Maroochydore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Maroochydore Hotel Maroochydore
The Sebel Hotel Maroochydore
Sebel Hotel Maroochydore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sebel Maroochydore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.