We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty dishes just one of our experiences here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Top Spot Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Top Spot Motel to your Saves list
Top Spot Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   8 Beach Road, Maroochydore, Queensland 4558, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Maroochydore
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dirty dishes just one of our experiences here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We were looking for a weekend get away, nothing exceptional, just clean and value for money. The manager was very friendly and helpful upon arrival. We were shown to our room and the first thing to greet us when we arrived was an odour of bleach - not exactly inviting. This odour greeted us every time we returned to the room the entire weekend.

Inside, the accommodation seemed a little tired. The pillows could do with being tossed out and replaced. When I looked for a cup to make a coffee, I found one which had been used by a guest and put back without being washed. The coffee inside had created a ring, which caused the cup to stick. This had not been checked by staff before we arrived.

The bathroom was tiny, more of a cupboard than a bathroom. This would not have been an issue, but the sink is over sized and makes it almost impossible to use the toilet.

On the Saturday night, as we were leaving to go to dinner, we walked past the entertainment area supplied for guests. The managers had guests of their own who were in this area having a discussion which included numerous uses of the F word. This was not entertaining nor inviting for the paying guests to be in this area.

If you decide to pay more and rent one of the more expensive rooms as we did, be warned not to stay on a Saturday night. These rooms back onto a car park which is used by Saturday night revellers and the sound carries - right into your room.

Over all, I felt this was a substandard experience considering we were paying for an above standard room. Will be back to the area but not this motel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurisbryant, Owner at Top Spot Motel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Michelle, I am terribly sorry and terribly embarrassed by your very bad stay at our property. Our temporary Manager and Cleaner have now been put on notice and I was sorry I was not there to address your complaint in person, however if you would like to phone me so that I can facilitate something towards repairing the bad impressions you had. Lauris Bryant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    16
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
5
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Had been driving most of the day saw the sign and and said lets give it a go.very clean had everything that we needed.aircon shower BED.Would we stay there again most certainly,had looked in the street but they had min 2 night stay

Room Tip: If you just want a room for the night this is it within walking distance to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We only stayed one night, was expecting just a basic, budget type room, but was pleasantly surprised. Our room was very clean. This motel is very central, you can walk to the shops, restaurants, etc. I would like to sincerely thank the staff, who contacted me the next day on my mobile, to inform me I had left my necklace behind. I told them we were now 2 hours away heading back home and if they could kindly send it in the post by COD, they agreed. At the end of the week, my necklace arrive in the mail, no money owning, they had paid for the delivery. Once again, I would like to thank the staff for their honesty....this necklace is very special to me!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This motel is older style but has been refurbished. I stay here regularly as it is consistently good.Clean and right in town. One level with parking out the front. Can walk to RSL and shops.
It is airconditioned.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We weren't offered wifi internet on arrival. When we went back to get password at 7.30 pm they wouldn't answer the door bell. We booked a room with a free upgrade but didn't get it. The reception was not friendly on arrival. May have just been a bad day but didn't enjoy it all the same.

Room Tip: Speak to them ahead of time about exactly what is in your room. They didn't give us what we book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurisbryant, Owner at Top Spot Motel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
There is always two sides to a story. Accommodation houses please note this email address and blacklist them as we have. Very untruthful, abusive and left owing us money. Note we did upgrade them to a lovely superior unit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Was expecting just your average budget hotel but I was pleasantly surprised. The unit we stayed in was one of the cleanest I have stayed in for a long time. Centrally located too and one of the fairest priced hotels in Maroochydore. The owners were very nice aswell. Can't really fault the place.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurisbryant, Owner at Top Spot Motel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks so much, really appreciated your feed back. From Staff and Management. Top Spot Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Friendly reception and fast check in. The motel is centrally located and only a short walk to sunshine plaza shopping centre, the room is bigger than expected, is clean and definitely offer good value for money. We were lucky to get one of the room away from the main row, which is quieter and more private.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Top Spot Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Spot Motel

Address: 8 Beach Road, Maroochydore, Queensland 4558, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maroochydore
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Maroochydore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Top Spot Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an AAA Tourism rating of 3½ stars, we are very proud of our 16 beautifully appointed refurbished units. We extend a warm friendly welcome, with a 5 star service and satisfaction in comfort and detail to all business people, holiday makers, wedding parties, Bowls, Golf, Tennis, Basketball folk, shop-a-holics and Eat-a-holics. We have it all, within walking distance. Through our back gate to a wonderful small beach on the river esplanade, which has a jetty (see picture). You can swim or fish or just sit on the bench, read, take in the beautiful views, pelicans, herons, cormorants, sandpipers and our own osprey eagles. We have a list of bird routes and sightings in the Maroochy Shire. Through our back gate to Post Office, Chemist, Doctor, Hairdresser, News agency, Information Centre and a very large Woolworths. Restaurants, bars, bistros and takeaways, Maroochydore RSL, Swan Bowls Club and several Surf Clubs in the immediate area (free bus services) Home to the coast’s biggest shopping venue: Sunshine Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Top Spot Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Top Spot Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.