We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TPW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waves Maroochy River

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Waves Maroochy River to your Saves list
Waves Maroochy River
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   36-38 Duporth Ave, Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Maroochydore, Queensland 4558, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Geelong
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“TPW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This apartment complex has the most amazing views which can be seen from the bedroom and living room/ kitchen. The huge balcony, beautifully appointed rooms, pool, BBQ area and gym add to the excellent experience. There is a library of used books as well as DVD's to borrow. The location is central, close to the soon to be redeveloped Big top shopping centre. The huge Maroochydoore river shopping/ eating precinct is within easy walking distance. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    15
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed in the penthouse and it is very nice and the roof top spa and bbq area is excellent.
The kitchen is very well equiped and a good size to self cater for all meals, the bedrooms are adequate. Views are excellent with uninterupted views from most of the apartment. One of the only things i can fault the penthouse on is the outdoor furrniure on the roof is quiet weathered and dated otherwise very hard to find something wrong..
It is in a perfect location close to the river, beach and shops which are right across the road.
Highly recommend if looking for somewhere to stay in Maroochydore even if it is not the penthouse apartment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have just returned from a week at Waves Maroochy River and it was fantastic. The apartment was beautiful, clean, fabulous views and quiet. There a few really good restaurants close by and we'd highly recommend Mikki's for the best coffee we've had and really great meals at an excellent price. The views from the apartment were excellent, we could even see the whales out at sea! We would highly recommend this place to anyone who is traveling to the Sunshine Coast.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nz
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
373 helpful votes 373 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I have to admit we were a little disappointed with our accommodation at The Waves.

The complex was very well managed and our booking was efficiently dealt with from first enquiries, to booking and then to check-in. Reception also has a large collection of books and DVDs which can be borrowed which is very useful. Every floor had a rubbish shute and a recycling bin.

We stayed on the 10th floor in a penthouse apartment, so we had a rooftop area reached by a metal spiral staircase outside the front door. All apartments face east so they get excellent morning sun but balconies lose sun after lunch which makes the apartments dull and cold in winter. No doubt just what is needed in the summer months. We were pleased we had the roof-top to get some further hours of sunlight.

The apartment had wonderful views of the estuary, Cotton Tree to the south and all the way to the Glasshouse Mountains to the north.

It was mainly the design of the apartment that disappointed us. It was long and narrow and seemed to lack natural light. The air conditioning worked well – both to cool and heat (needed in winter) but it would have been difficult to properly ventilate the apartment without it.

The apartment was spotlessly clean. Everything worked although we didn’t use the stove as we ate out every night. But there seemed to be plenty of kitchen equipment for people who wished to cook.

The apartment itself looked somewhat dated with brown formica covering the kitchen doors. And I have to say that the lounge and dining furniture was very uncomfortable – but this may vary in other apartments. The beds were fine and we slept well.

The complex is set back from Duporth Avenue so we noticed no traffic noise. It was also within easy walking distance of a good range of restaurants.

We enjoyed our stay but I guess we are used to more spacious apartments elsewhere on the Sunshine Coast with a more open feeling. Because of this we did not feel it was good value for money, despite the fact that we took advantage of the special August rate for penthouses.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Great place, v friendly staff. 5 mins walk to park, coffee shops and cafes. Bit quiet but it was winter after all, secure underground parking, kids loved it. Good base to explore the sunshine coast from.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Staying at Waves at present and having a peaceful relaxing time. Check in was easy, both Helen and Tynielle very friendly at reception. Location is absolute waterfront with the Maroochy River lapping at our doorstep. We have stayed at Maroochydore many times but Waves is the best we've found. Apartment is slightly older than expected with a few loose fittings here and there and a few cracked tiles in the bathroom but nothing that can't be overlooked. Lots of restaurants in the surrounding streets, but if the nightlife is what you're after Mooloolaba may be a better choice. I expect the Big Top shopping centre is soon due for redevelopment and if this were to happen the area would benefit tremendously. A touch on the expensive side but would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms on all levels would be fine as all rooms are identical and rooms are locked off depending...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maleny, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I got to have 3 lovely days away down the coast. The Waves is right on the maroochy river and has spectacular views. The furnishings are modern and clean. Need to have supplies of food and snacks which are easily catered for whit ha short walk to Woolsworth across the road. Some restaurants and takeaways are not open on Mondays though.
Easy walk to the plaza and cinema.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waves Maroochy River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves Maroochy River

Address: 36-38 Duporth Ave, Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Maroochydore, Queensland 4558, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maroochydore
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Maroochydore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waves Maroochy River 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waves Maroochy River is located right on the river mouth opposite the new Ocean Street dining precinct. As Waves Maroochy River is one of the closest resorts to Sunshine Plaza and with the new Big Top Market Fresh directly across the road, you will be spoilt for options when it comes to shopping or dining out. Access to the river is via our own private jetty or if the beach is more your thing, a short stroll along the river through Cotton Tree Park will find you at our very own Maroochydore Beach. Our complex of 1,2 or 3 bedroom fully self-contained self-catered apartments is complete with a resort style heated pool, spa and separate kids wading pool. Selected ground floor and penthouse apartments also offer their own private Jacuzzi and outdoor kitchen complete with gas bbq. An onsite gymnasium is also available to all our guests. Parking is provided in our secure underground basement with security controlled lift access to each level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Waves Maroochy River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waves Maroochy River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.