We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars for location,. tapas great value.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boat Shed Restaurant

Boat Shed Restaurant
The Esplanade | Cotton Tree, Maroochydore, Queensland 4558, Australia
+61 7 5443 3808
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 132 Restaurants in Maroochydore
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Melbourne
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“5 stars for location,. tapas great value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The Boat shed is incredibly hard to find, but worth the effort. If you can find the Huge swimming pool complex at Cotton Tree it is behind it right on the foreshore. The Boat Shed is split into a restaurant and a tapas area. We wanted a light mid afternoon lunch and chose Tapas. Not really tapas either but quite large plates. One plate each was plenty to ruin our dinner plans, in that we were still full come dinner time. The view is spectacular right on the river foreshore. With the tapas you sit under a large tree in cane chairs and simply enjoy the views and surroundings. We arrived when people were leaving so there was plenty of room. The plates we had were fresh and tasty and I cannot think of a better way to spend an afternoon. The restaurant part was pretty busy, we had a look at the menu, and it was comprehensive, fairly typical of a place trying to cater for a range of tastes. I highly recommend The Boat Shed and will return, It would be a good idea to make a booking in busy times. Tapas was around $45 per plate, but you only need one per person. The Tapas area is cafe style service in that you order at the bar and get a number. The restaurant is full service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    95
    37
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“TPW”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We enjoyed more coffees under the beautiful cotton trees at the Boat Shed. This is a lovely location to while away an hour or two or more! We did not have a meal this time but the coffees are great. I would recommend this to anyone and will definitely visit it again, for a meal next time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic view, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Lovely spot on a sunny day. My husband and I both had steaks and they were cooked perfectly. Quite expensive for lunch $36 each for main course. Good selection of dishes to chose from. Lady at the table next to us was having the pork belly and every second word she said was yum!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Priceless water views, casual dining in Sunshine Coast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Went to Boat Shed today after a 12 month hiatus. Menu offered something for everyone and wait staff were very attentive and friendly. It was a good experience I am pleased to say and one pinches oneself at the priceless view which locals do take for granted. My meal was delicious looking and tasted so. Good wine list and plenty of decent wines offered by the glass. Good range of GF and vege options available. We were there for lunch so unfortunately no time for dessert but vowing to come back next time for the Belgian Chocolate and orange zest tart, glazed fig and blood orange salad w. double cream!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great meal, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Have now been to the Boat Shed on several occasions on our regular visits to Maroochydore. Terrific service, the menu is also varied and interesting, something for everyone. The cooking is very good and they don'e skimp on the size of the meals. Perfect location for an up market holiday dinner.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boat Shed Restaurant also viewed

Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
 
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Boat Shed Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boat Shed Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.