We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Key Restaurant Maleny

Key Restaurant Maleny
Cairncross Corner | 10 Mountain View Road, Maleny, Queensland 4552, Australia
07 5429 6537
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 34 restaurants in Maleny
Price range: $8 - $41
Cuisines: African, Caribbean, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Deliciously different African, Mediterranean and Caribbean traditional family style cooking is served at the Key Restaurant Maleny, a short 20 minute drive from the Sunshine Coast. Some of the most popular dishes on the menu are Mozambique Chicken with Jollof Rice, the melt in your mouth Moroccan Lamb Tagine, the hot and spicy West Indies Goat Curry. All of the dishes are lovingly prepared by Ghanaian Chef and Owner, Simone Butler, with many involving very lengthy traditional preparation and slow cooking to perfection, often over 3 days. In addition to Simone's traditional ethnic dishes, there is also available fantastic 30 mm thick 350 gram plus grass fed, well marbelled steaks or fresh grilled barramundi. Key Restaurant Maleny is fully licensed with a cocktail bar, an interesting wine cellar with lots of variety to match the sometimes spicy and fragrant dishes. Excellent organic coffee, delicious cakes and deserts are a feature. Enjoy dining by the log fire or alfresco dining on the spacious veranda with panoramic views to the Coast, Mount Coolum, the hinterland and the Glasshouse Mountains. For mouth-watering meals, packed full of flavour and exotic spices, visit the Key Restaurant in Maleny. Open Wed – Sunday, lunch and dinner, Special Friday Night Buffet. Garden Weddings, Parties, Special Events and Receptions for up to 100 people are catered for. Check out the menus or book online.
noosa heads
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Set in the The Sunshine Coast hinterland, up in the clouds with a view over The Glasshouse Mountains, is The Key Restaurant, Maleny. What sets this restaurant apart from all the other excellent offerings on The Sunshine Coast is that the food is genuine African fayre. And what food! The exotic fragrances and tastes of Africa are presented to perfection. The chef, a Ghanaian barrister no less came and chatted about her creations. The wine list is huge, the choice of beers is extensive, included is a peach local beer, and the overall effect is astounding. If you are in Maleny you have to try The Key.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lukebutler1954, Owner at Key Restaurant Maleny, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Hi gourmet15, it is very uplifting for us to read such a wonderful review from you, especially so as, you are a passionate "foodie". We love what we do and the reactions that our passions for our food and drinks offerings are appreciated. Our Chef Simone was indeed a barrister in London for 20 years and speaks some 7 languages. Simone is originally from Ghana in West Africa where she was taught to cook in traditional African style by her Mother every weekend from the ages of 8. So we have lots of slow cooked dishes, some spicy and many not - but all with amazing flavour development. We look forward to seeing you back "up the Hill" in Maleny for a re-match whenever the fancy takes you to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    169
    43
    3
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woombye, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“Amazing food, great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had Saturday night dinner here, for my wife's birthday. I took a chance on Key, based on some friends' recommendations and my own online research, and we were not disappointed. From the moment we walked in, we were looked after. The waitstaff were friendly and professional. The food was magnificent. After the over-saturation of Thai and Indian on the Coast, the African-themed dishes are a refreshing change. The Lamb Sosatie and the Jamaican Jerk Chicken were magnificent. Will definitely come again. And again and again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lukebutler1954, Owner at Key Restaurant Maleny, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Hi Tim K, we are glad you were recommended to try us by your friends and that you decided to "give us a go" for your wife's birthday dinner on a Saturday night. Our Chef Simone is a native of Ghana in West Africa and is very passionate about her cooking, much of which is based on traditional African flavours and slow cooking techniques. But Africa is 54 countries and each country has many influences in its cooking, sometimes from colonial times including from the influx of others. For example, the Lamb Sosaties are skewers (kebabs) of Lamb and Apricots with fragrant herbs and spices originally from the Cape Malay community around Capetown, South Africa. And the other dish you had, Jamaican Jerk Chicken, was created by the slaves originally from along the coast of West Africa taken to Jamaica in the Caribbean which was a staging point for the onwards movement to North America and South America. In Jamaica other influences and other herbs and spices further evolved their dishes to create new flavours. Whilst we appreciate and are sometimes fascinated by the development of "food history", frankly nothing beats sitting down and enjoying it, maybe with a cool drink nearby. We look forward to welcoming you back for your return visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had lunch here midweek. It's a lovely place, we sat outside on the deck. The food was exceptional, we tried the Lamb tagine & beef palaver. An extensive wine list, but we opted for coffee & a juice. The only annoyance was the lady seated near us who had a lengthy loud conversation on her mobile, before her friends arrived.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lukebutler1954, Owner at Key Restaurant Maleny, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Hi grubsfood, I am glad you enjoyed your Moroccan Lamb Tagine and Ghanaian Beef Palaver Sauce dishes as well as the coffee and juices. I am sorry another patron had a long and apparently loud phone call nearby to your table. We look forward to being able to introduce you to more new flavours and maybe trying some of our wines or fresh fruit daiquiri's (made with fresh mango, lychee, strawberry, raspberry, banana, lime & mint, etc) or "mocktails" maybe next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Drove 2 hours from Brisbane and Back for this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

the Title of this review should sum it all, my bf and i spent the weekend at montville and found out about this place via tripadvisor....we both had a craving for the jerk chicken and the soup with fufu in it...so we drove all the way there and back from Brisbane...it's that good..we'll do it again someday to perhaps try other food and bring some friends along.
Service is excellent !

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lukebutler1954, Owner at Key Restaurant Maleny, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Hi girlrilaz, I very well remember your visit and especially your enjoyment of our Chef Simone's Jamaican Jerk Chicken and her Ghanaian Light Soup with "Fufu" ie a glutinous ball of pounded Cassava root mixed with pounded Plantain (African cooking banana) as a traditional African "carbohydrate" accompaniment - and you eating it with your fingers in correct traditional style. Well done girlrilaz - come back again soon, and bring a "crew" of friends (as well as your boyfriend of course).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Top notch service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Just popped in on a whim on Sunday night. We were overwhelmed by the quality of the personalised service. The waiter, Paul, was extremely attentive and recommended dishes that we enjoyed and ensured that our drinks and water were constantly replenished. The service was timely and the meals tasty. We spent a lovely time getting to know the chef/owner Sonia and her husband, Luke, who both sat a while and chatted at our table with us. We stayed longer than we were going to and really enjoyed our meal. Very pleasant, modern decor. Thank you Paul, Sonia and Luke. We will be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lukebutler1954, Owner at Key Restaurant Maleny, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Hi Beetrootears, Simone and I both enjoyed meeting you both and our chat. Paul says "hi" too. Thanks for your great review and comments. Come see us again "up the hill" in Maleny whenever you have a chance and the fancy takes you....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key Restaurant Maleny also viewed

Maleny, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Key Restaurant Maleny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key Restaurant Maleny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.