We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our best dining experiences” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King Ludwigs Maleny Views Restaurant

King Ludwigs Maleny Views Restaurant
401 Mountain View Rd, Maleny, Queensland 4552, Australia
+61 7 5499 9377
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 37 Restaurants in Maleny
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of our best dining experiences”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

A great dining experience. A view over the Glasshouse Mountains from the balcony to kill for. Friendly staff, great service and fine food. We thoroughly enjoyed lunch...the menu was large enough to include something for all tastes and included traditional German dishes with some imaginative adaptions. The portions more than satisfying and included a large beer and wine selection. We will be coming back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    30
    13
    3
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Manager extremely rude.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Within moments of arriving the manager let loose with a tirade. I was not even sure what I had done to set her off. She continued to be rude through our whole time there. I felt sorry for the wait staff as well. First german I haven't liked.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delish!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Everything about this place is awesome!! Meals, service and price. We will definitely be back!!! The meals were so yummy and the staff were super pleasant. And the lovely German Shepard dog who meets you @ the door!! We even played catch with her!! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maleny, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Welcomed just like Family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We have been here several times and always feel so warmly welcomed. They have a great menu,
always producing terrific food which we always enjoy with the good German beers and wide selection of wines. What a terrific view overlooking the fantastic Glasshouse Mountains right out to the ocean on a clear evening. The service and hospitality are just right, not overwhelming but always like you are part of the family. Klaus and Barbara are the perfect hosts.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Happy Friendly atmosphere...and great hospitality and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This was our first time to this German restaurant, a gift from our son. We felt we had gone to Germany. People in German outfits and speaking in German. The decor was very German and the view, as we sat out on the deck was fabulous, overlooking the Glasshouse Mountains and down to the sea. A fire in the distance was the only distraction to a perfect view. There was an awesome array of German beers available, of which we sampled a couple. Meals and desserts were traditional German and were delicious. Barbara and her staff were amazing. So nice to hear those accents...and then them speaking to each other in German. An overall excellent experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King Ludwigs Maleny Views Restaurant also viewed

 
Maleny, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to King Ludwigs Maleny Views Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Ludwigs Maleny Views Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.