We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A German experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King Ludwigs Maleny Views Restaurant

King Ludwigs Maleny Views Restaurant
401 Mountain View Rd, Maleny, Queensland 4552, Australia
+61 7 5499 9377
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 34 restaurants in Maleny
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A German experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were fortunate to get a table outside for lunch without a booking, though the place was packed inside with a coach party. All the staff are dressed in German costume which adds to the ambience of the place, along with the music entertainment. We had the house special potato soup with pretzel to start which was excellent, then had the sausage and sauerkraut to follow, again a very tasty dish, and all washed down with good quality German beer. The view is an added extra, though would return just for the food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    116
    23
    11
    2
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Authentic German Food & Beer - with a great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

The food is great, the beer is Great, the location is unique - this is a favourite haunt to relax and remember our trip to Bsvaria

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawau Island
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Arrived Too Late”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Arrived to late to have lunch and they were fully booked for dinner but we had travelled so far and just wanted to enjoy the view and ambience. The view through the plastic curtains looked amazing and one could image what it would look like on a sunny day if the curtains were rolled up. We enjoyed strudel and a drink which was very nice but because they were setting up for dinner we did not feel welcome and it was rather expensive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Most appalling customer service ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My cousins took myself our 3 sons and a friend and her daughter to The Glass House Mountains for the day. She said we must go to King Ludwig's and see the view. Also bearing in mind that he people who own/run it are friends with another cousin of ours. We ordered drinks and sat on the viewing deck. Our friend wanted to take a photo of the view but it is hampered by plastic blinds that zip up the side. So being a respectable middle aged woman she carefully unzip one of the blinds and stood on the other side to take the snap. From no where the woman owner appeared and ranted at her not to do this as another customer had done this in the past and it had cost her $400 to get it fixed. Our friend apologised and checked the zip and said it's all good and working fine. The owner continued to lecture her like a naughty child and gave her the dirtiest looks. When our friend asked her not to look like that at her, the owner went into a tirade of how her behaviour was unacceptable and how dare she(the customer) come into her "home" and touch thing's and talk to her like that. I've never seen anything like it. Particularly as it was so unprovoked. Our friend suggested that if she didn't want customers unzipping the blind that a well placed sign would save a lot of upset all round. Another tongue lashing ensued from the owner. She then got on the phone, we presume to her husband and shouted in German down the phone telling him all about it. The woman is deranged. With out boring you too much my cousin said that this woman had been more than rude the past few times that she had taken people there. None of us, our friends, relatives will ever go there again and we will tell everyone we can about this sorry excuse for a restaurant. As I paid the bill this woman then started to pick a fight with our friend's 16 year old daughter who had done and said nothing through out the whole incident. Beyond belief! There are 2 place's either side with the same view they are, Patrick's Irish Steakhouse & Bar also, The Celtic Tearoom of Maleny, we will be going there from now on.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good honest food and flawless service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

The service is fantastic, attractive ladies in traditional German attire adds another dimension to the experience. The recommended bier was perfect, the servings very generous and atmosphere relaxed. The style of food is classy but not pretentious and every ingredient punches above its weight resulting in a beautiful, satisfying meal. Barbara is the warmest, most accommodating hostess we've met. Not really romantic but for parents having a first kid free meal in ages it blew us away.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King Ludwigs Maleny Views Restaurant also viewed

Maleny, Sunshine Coast
Maleny, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to King Ludwigs Maleny Views Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Ludwigs Maleny Views Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.