We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality food, lovely experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tamarind Restaurant & Cooking School

The Tamarind Restaurant & Cooking School
88 Obi Lane South, Maleny, Queensland 4552, Australia
1300 311 429
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 37 Restaurants in Maleny
Price range: $0 - $98
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Tamarind RestaurantSpicers Tamarind Retreat’s restaurant, The Tamarind, brings a taste of Thailand to the foothills of Maleny.Set in a tranquil outdoor pavilion designed to make the most of the peaceful location, our in-house restaurant The Tamarind specialises in innovative modern Asian cuisine. Every dish with its harmonious balance of flavours of will leave your mouth watering and your stomach begging for more. Fully licensed. The Tamarind is open to both in-house guests and the public for lunch and dinner. Lunch – Friday to Sunday & Dinner – Tuesday to Sunday.The Tamarind Cooking SchoolThe Tamarind Cooking School offers a cut above the rest with a purpose-built cooking school headed by Daniel Jarrett teaching the intricacies of Thai cuisine. The school features state of the art cooking stations, air-conditioned comfort and spectacular views perched amongst the beautiful green grounds overlooking the rainforest. Each class is highly informative, hands-on and intimate (limited to maximum 12 people). Daniel and his team of experienced chefs teach intricate Thai cuisine in a simple, approachable way, enabling you to recreate delicious Thai dishes at home to impress family and friends
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quality food, lovely experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Beautiful and secluded setting. A bit tricky to find the turn off in the evening - watch for the signs! Atmosphere was lovely and the staff were attentive without being intrusive. The menu was reasonably priced for the quality, portion sizes were good and the food was delicious. The confit ocean trout was fresh and my favourite, while the beef rendang was as good as we've had in Asia. The chicken and bugs dish was perhaps lacking some wow factor but delicious nonetheless. The desserts were lovely - the coconut pudding was excellent and a lovely finish to the meal. The basil and apricot icecream which accompanied it was interesting and fresh. While the meal was not cheap, I felt that it was value for money given the quality of the food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    13
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pre-wedding degustation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We gathered as two families to enjoy the Degustation menu in a private room the night before our daughter's wedding. The evening was great, wonderful food and a lovely setting to bring the two families together before the wedding. Very attentive staff and they were able to cater for gluten free.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maleny, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Tamarind has become my "go to" restaurant for lunch and dinner. The food is superb and they make a great Lychee Martini. It is the number one restaurant in the Maleny area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold coast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious and satisfying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Expensive night out but the quality is what you would expect. Portions were larger than expected. Very satisfying meal! Staff were very friendly and attentive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bucket List Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

With so many great reviews, Spicers Tamarind Restaurant had been added to our bucket long ago, especially as we had enjoyed the Balfour in New Farm. So, it was with much excitement and anticipation we ventured from Brisbane for a weekend stay at Buderim and a drive out to Maleny, specifically to enjoy the wow factor we had read so much about. Disappointment started to creep in on being greeted by a far less than enthusiastic young staff member who made it clear we were interrupting her current chore of settling another guests bill at the till. Dismissed to wait in the bar area until she was ready, we did enjoy the first look at the lovely surrounds accompanied by the smooth tones of a very competent jazz trio.
Once seated at the table, were were left to take in the view and artwork again until a second waitress appeared and explained the menu to us once she realised this had not been carried out by the previous 'happy' hostess. Orders made, one entree of ocean trout arrived with an aroma and presentation that made out mouths instantly want to devour. A spectacular sauce in keeping with the Asian spice theme we expected, was an exquisite accompaniment to the fish. Sadly this standard was not maintained for the pork belly and scallops cooked in three ways, which whilst a nice flavour, lacked the balance of a spiced dressing or sauce and was dry and somewhat lackluster to eat.
Following a wait now of some 40 plus minutes for the mains, the second waitress, who appeared to spend her time compensating for the service shortfalls of the first, suggested we take a walk around the gardens as there would be a further wait for our mains. The reason blamed on the fact a group of 8 had just got their orders in before us.
We did enjoy seeing the fabulous big bull lazing in the sunshine of his paddock next to the garden path to the retreat, along with a swing in the cane chair hanging from the tree, glass of wine in hand,
The eventual appearance of the mains again presented one dish, red curry barramundi with having exceptional aroma and a balance of flavours that seems is deliciously achieved with the fish dishes. However, once again, the non-fish dish of chicken and bugs
lacked a suitable dressing. Ladling the red curry sauce onto the chicken and bugs provided a palatable solution. By this stage we decided not to extend to the third course.
The somewhat overpriced menu for two courses and lack of service at $65 was made a little more bearable by the use of our Entertainment card discount.
A recent quote in the Brisbane News review by Tony Harper 'as with everything in the Spicers Group there is obsession in the detail that goes well beyond the simple act of dining' did not prevail on this occasion. Unfortunately, this experience and attitude of staff let the Spicers group down and a planned trip to spend a weekend at the sister retreat at Montville and attend the Long Apron has been removed from our bucket list.
Please note, this review only relates to the restaurant and we did not stay at the retreat.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tamarind Restaurant & Cooking School also viewed

 
Maleny, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to The Tamarind Restaurant & Cooking School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tamarind Restaurant & Cooking School, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.