We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maleny Botanic Gardens

Maleny Botanic Gardens
233 Maleny-Stanley River Road | corner Mountain View Road, Maleny, Queensland 4552, Australia
+61 400 091 731
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Attractions in Maleny
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit the 'Jewel' of Maleny: Maleny Botanic Gardens & Bird World: AN UNFORGETTABLE EXPERIENCE. "The most exquisite gardens I've seen in my 41 years in the garden business. It will be the next wonder of the world!" Graham Ellis, The Garden Guru 2011. Set on over three hectares the manicured, magnificent Gardens are positioned high on the escarpment. They are privately owned and form a panorama of waterfalls, lakes, ponds and colourful plantings. Uniquely landscaped layers, idyllic rainforest surroundings and the spectacular Glasshouse Mountains backdrop create a truly unique garden. Our most recent addition is Bird World: join us on one of our daily guided walks and get up close and personal with a wide variety of colourful birds from around the world. Sit near the waterfall, watch, listen and photograph birds as they alight upon you - an awesome experience.Then visit our animal enclosure - a favourite with all ages. Enjoy chicken, ducks,turkeys, guinea & pea fowl and pat our miniature animals: Sparky the horse, Pippen the donkey, Ginger & Queenie the alpacas. Cuddle Bah Bah the sheep and snowflake the billy goat. There are lovely walks throughout the Gardens however you are welcome to just enjoy our fabulous Devonshire Tea any time during the day, in one of the gazebos overlooking the Gardens and mountains. Bring a picnic to enjoy in the gardens by one of the many lakes, lounge on your blanket and soak up the peace and serenity. You can even bring your dog on a lead! Our gazebos are ideal to hold your special celebration with friends or family - book for a High Tea catered especially for you. For group bookings phone or email us to arrange a date and time. A breathtaking location for your magical day: "You could not have a more beautiful venue for your wedding" is a comment we regularly receive. Explore the many tranquil and romantic settings for your ceremony and photography and choose one or a combination of components to suit your special day. The photo opportunities are endless. Let the sights and the sound of running water enchant you and your guests and provide you with an experience that you will cherish for life. Gardens open 7 Days: 9 am to 4.30 Pm, Aviary tours several times daily. Entry by Admission, take advantage of Family Day and Annual Passes. 233 Maleny-Stanley River Road corner Mountain View Road, Maleny
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We went with friends and had the most wonderful time.You could spend the whole day there and still not see all the gardens.The bird aviary is huge filled with beautiful birds of all sizes. We had the luck of being taken through by the owner who knew everything about the birds. Take your lunch as they only have scones ,plenty of water and arrive early to really enjoy the place. You will not be disappointed .

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegineMaleny, Front Office Manager at Maleny Botanic Gardens, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
So happy to hear that you enjoyed a whole day with us, and yes the Gardens comprise of around 12 acres now, with so much detail to be enjoyed. We have a spectacular Orchid collection all throughout the Gardens with many coming into bloom just now. Our Walk-Through Bird Aviary is 1000m2 and gives a home to around 360 colourful native & exotic birds, many of which will come up close and may even land on you, which we hope you enjoyed also. Our Devonshire Tea is served with 2 wholemeal & date scones, as this is our only food option at present (we do one thing but we do it well) we serve it throughout the day. You are welcome to bring your own picnic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    59
    12
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Lovely scones and tea to much, lovely walks and very friendly staff, well worth the visit, now they have added to it so i may have to take another look, and have an afternoon tea of course!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegineMaleny, Front Office Manager at Maleny Botanic Gardens, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for your complimentary review of our Gardens, Devonshire Tea and friendly staff and we look forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Set aside at least 4 to 5 hours to so have time for Devonshire Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

A friend gave us the day at the Maleny Botanical Gardens as a a Christmas gift, but told us to get there early. Not to beat the crowds (because there aren't any) but she knew we would want to make a full day out of it. Well we did. It is such a wonderful , interesting, exciting, but still peaceful place to visit. We strolled through the many level gardens, with beautiful blooms, little nooks, benches, mini-falls and streams that seemed to go on and on. If that was not enough there is an animal enclosure were one can move among the animals, not too large an area but especially great if you are bringing kids. For excitement we spent what seemed like hours in "Bird world". The birds are friendly and will happily perch on your arm or head if you let them. The owner personally takes groups into "Bird World" and has the patience of Job answering every imaginable questions thrown at him. After spending an hour with him and the birds you know the Gardens, Birds and animals are the love of his life. Many of the larger parrots have been rescued form very bad conditions in the private homes.Our Christmas gift came with Devonshire Tea which we enjoyed early afternoon sitting in a gazebo over looking the gardens.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegineMaleny, Front Office Manager at Maleny Botanic Gardens, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Our 70th review! Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive review which gives such a good insight into what gave you enjoyment in our Gardens, Aviary & Devonshire Tea Café. We are delighted that you had a special time. No doubt this will help others to decide how to spend a day when they come to our wonderful region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“What a hidden treasure!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We spent 2.5 very enjoyable hours.
Beautiful gardens, views and photos!
The aviary is a must!
Great for families with even a small petting zoo!
Looking forward to the new additions we were told about...an old church & an all Australian aviary....we will be back!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegineMaleny, Front Office Manager at Maleny Botanic Gardens, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
We appreciate your warm feedback of the Gardens, Aviary & Miniature Animal Petting Enclosure. All of which make for a great day out for a family with our $55 Family Day Pass. We even allow your 4 legged family members into the Gardens and welcome BYO Picnics.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverell, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What an amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

My husband & I visited the garden this afternoon & were completely blown away by the experience. There has been so much thought put into the layout of the garden & it sits completely at home in the landscape. You must visit the aviary, the tour was incredible as the owner loves his birds so much. Yes they did like the rivets in my hat, I have the holes to prove it, but it was such an incredible experience to have birds so trusting of you. I can agree that the scones are pretty tasty as well. The entrance fee is extremely good value we thought. If you are in Maleny you really must visit this place as I'm sure that you won't be disappointed.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegineMaleny, Front Office Manager at Maleny Botanic Gardens, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful feedback & for sharing your comments re value for money entry fees.
Yes, our birds much loved and handled so as to give our visitors the opportunity to experience these wonderful creatures close up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maleny Botanic Gardens also viewed

 
Beerwah, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Maleny Botanic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maleny Botanic Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.