We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spicers Tamarind Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Spicers Tamarind Retreat to your Saves list
Spicers Tamarind Retreat
4.5 of 5 Villa   |   88 Obi Lane South, Maleny, Queensland 4552, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Maleny
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We had a very relaxing Friday and Saturday night at Spicers Tamarind. Great food, lovely rooms and helpful staff. We had dinner at Clovelly Estate on Sat night and that was fantastic too. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    41
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
33
223
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We didn't stay in the accommodation here, although we did celebrate our 7 year anniversary with a trip to the restaurant Tamarind Thai. We stayed in Mooloolaba and drove the half hour to Spicers.
I don't usually write restaurant reviews - but I just had to for the best meal I've ever eaten. (And I've eaten out A LOT!!)
We decided against the 10 course banquet as my partner doesn't eat shellfish, but otherwise it was something I would definately like to try.
For entree we had a dry pork relish 'Nahm Prik' served with wrapping/scooping vegetables. Honestly the best thing I've eaten. I'm desperate to go back and have a huge serve of this.
We had an eggplant salad, pork curry and a whole fried fish. Just amazing. The combination of flavours and textures is out of this world. For dessert I had the coconut creme brulee (how could that be bad?) and my husband had the Banana Bavois - a month later he still asks me how to pronounce it before he tells everyone it was teh best dessert ever eaten.
The service was lovely, the chefs looked like they were enjoying themselves, and I can't wait to return. It wasn't cheap, at $160 without alcohol, but definately worth it.
On leaving the restaurant we noted how amazingly quiet it was surrounding the resort, and I'm hoping to be back for a weekend there soon!!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Just returned from a one night stay and evening meal at the Tamarind. The meal in the Thai restaurant was fantastic and the accommodation was equally impressive. Our secluded individual cabin had a great hot tub on the deck and inside some of the highlights were a wood burning fire and huge double shower. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and we wished we were staying another night, it was so peaceful and relaxing. The breakfast was also a good selection of cereals, fruit salad, quiche and assorted pastries and an 11:00 am check out meant we could take our time and relax before leaving.
I might be a bit harsh only giving it 4 out of 5. Maybe the inclusion of an electric blanket to keep out the winter chills would have given it 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Thank you Lyndsey, Regina, Jolene and staff for the exemplary service provided during our recent stay. Mate, this place is truly brilliant, the "pavilion" was perfect and just awesome for a romantic get-away, all complimented by exquisite food. We'll be back...10/10

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

When we first arrived at Tamarind, we were greeted by Jade who was very friendly and made us feel very comfortable, and so it continued, that any staff, we encountered throughout our most peaceful stay, were a delight to meet.

We enjoyed the cooking school immensely and learnt some new skills under the watchful eye of the competent and good humoured Paul Blain.

We hope to be able to venture back to Tamarind sometime and would recommend it to our friends.

Many thanks, John and Barbara

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimboomba
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

From the moment we arrived we were treated to exceptional service. The staff were amazing and friendly and nothing was too much trouble......not that there was much to ask for, because it had it all......from the complimentary champagne and cheese platter on arrival, to the well appointed pavilion with hot tub...to the restaurant! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Suit adults with no children
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Such a quiet, private retreat, perfect when all you want to do is get away from reality and do absolutely nothing!!
Only 6 "pavillions" (each room is its own little building), everyone is there to relax so you know you won't be annoyed by any noisy guests.
Each pavillion has its own private hot-tub - not a modern plastic one, but a beautiful wooden one, which results in the water having this beautiful teak aroma! Inside the pavillion, if it is cold you have your own real fireplace, a huge dual shower bathroom, a TV/DVD in both the lounge room and bedroom.

The grounds are beautifully manicured, and only a 100m walk down the hill is a beautiful little river with a [very little but still relaxing] waterfall, that you can sit by or play in the water [if you don't mind the temperature!!

The Tamarind restaurant was nothing short of AMAZING. I can honestly say it is one of the best restaurants I have ever been to! The flavours were amazing - the only bad thing about it is the meal sizes were a bit too big, so we couldn't fit in dessert!! Prices were very reasonable too for an a la carte restaurant.

The location is a couple of km's from Maleny, so you can also drive in to town and go for a lazy walk up the main street to look at the shops or go to one of the many cafes.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spicers Tamarind Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Tamarind Retreat

Address: 88 Obi Lane South, Maleny, Queensland 4552, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maleny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Maleny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Spicers Tamarind Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set near a waterfall in stunning rainforest in the Sunshine Coast hinterland just 3 km east of Maleny, Spicers Tamarind Retreat is an intimately unique hideaway. Intimate, private and romantic, every villa is your escape from it all. Curl up in front of your own wood burning fireplace, relax and read a book, or just sink back into the luxurious King-size bed. Pure zen. Spicers Tamarind Retreat offers a choice of stand-alone villas:- five x 1 bedroom villas with lounge, large bathroom, king bedroom, fireplace and outdoor cedar hot tub- six x 2 bedroom villas with lounge, open fireplace, outdoor day bed, two bedrooms, two large bathrooms and rainforest views- one x 2 bedroom villa with wheelchair access and amenities. The Tamarind restaurant is an award-winning Modern Asian restaurant and cooking school, recently being awarded Best New Restaurant on the Sunshine Coast. Spicers Tamarind Retreat now boasts a destination Day Spa with four large treatment rooms, hydrotherapy room, mineralised spa, steam room, rain shower, private change rooms and bathrooms, open deck and specialty foot treatment room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Spicers Tamarind Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spicers Tamarind Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.