We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax in the rain forest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sharlynn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malanda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sharlynn B&B
11 Kidd Close, Malanda, Queensland 4885, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Malanda B&B and Inns
Latrobe, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Relax in the rain forest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 relaxing nights at Sharlynn and would continue the high recommendation of this B&B. Sharon & Eddy are indeed extremely welcoming and generous hosts, they provide you with privacy as well as a sumptuous breakfast hamper, and are more than willing to help with localised tips for guests unfamiliar with the region. Location is just a 5 minute drive to Malanda and only 10-15 minutes to Yungaburra and the property is well signposted from the main road. The main deck extends right along the front of the building and beyond into the rain forest, and provides the illusion of being suspended within the surrounding bush. This B&B is well appointed and provides a real "home away from home" atmosphere.

Room Tip: This B&B is open plan so is ideally designed for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheddy01, Owner at Sharlynn B&B, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Many thanks for your kind remarks. It was a pleasure having you, we look forward to the pleasure of having you stay with again sometime. Eddy and Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We only had time for an overnight stop, but wished it had been longer once we stayed at this wonderful B&B - secluded, restful location overlooking the river, every requirement met from Wi-Fi hot-spot to fabulous breakfast hamper, and the extra touch of fresh flowers in rooms. Attention to detail is everywhere and Sharlynn B&B is definitely up there with the best we have ever experienced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheddy01, Owner at Sharlynn B&B, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hi Lyn - Thank you for your generous and flattering review of Sharlynn By the River. We are always pleased to know that our guests go away feeling satisfied with their experience at Sharlynn. It is our aim to always make everyone feel welcome and comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

1st time stay at Sharlynn B&B and it was an unexpected and a delightful place. Fresh OJ straight from there trees was supplied for breakfast- gota love that!!. Dog friendly which is sometimes hard to find with quality accommodation so this is a big plus and will be back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheddy01, Owner at Sharlynn B&B, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hi Andrew

Thank you for your very kind review of your stay at Sharlynn By the River. It is a delight for us to be able to share the fresh fruit from our trees when in season. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Perhaps we will have the pleasure of again welcoming you to Sharlynn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have been to Sharlynn now several times over the years and the level of service and friendliness from Sharon and Eddy is always 10/10. This is how a B&B should run and interact with their customers

Sitting on the back deck of the cabin over looking the tree's and the river below is magic.. I echo the comments from the other reviewers

We like to walk and Lake Eacham and Bareen are close by and they add to the magic of Sharlynn having beautiful locations close by. If you want to explore the Atherton Tablelands Malanda is within an easy drive of all centres.

Negatives there are none we love going to Sharlynn

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheddy01, Owner at Sharlynn B&B, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you, Ian for your more than flattering review. We are so pleased that each visit has been equally enjoyable. We aim to make our guests feel very welcome and their stay relaxing and their home away from home.
Regards, Sharon & Eddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Fantastic location set amongst the rainforest. Sitting on the balcony you can hear the North Johnstone rapids below you with the voluminous bird life surrounding the cabin. Not only is the setting spectacular it was the attention to the small details that made it special for our stay. The price of this B&B was well below what we have paid for less spectacular stays then this. We will definitely be revisiting. Thank you Sharon and Eddie for making our stay memorable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheddy01, Owner at Sharlynn B&B, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Hi Frank, many thanks for your kind remarks. It was a pleasure having you, we look forward to the pleasure of having you stay with again sometime. Eddy and Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We have loved our two stays here and cannot wait to book our 3rd!!
Cabin overlooks rainforest with sounds of wildlife and creek. We took our little maltese pup for a swim in the creek, which was so refreshing on a warm day. Cooking a bbq on the deck and eating outdoors with our little family was lovely.
However visiting in winter was just as great, by being able to light a fire in our cabin and cooking a meal indoors. Massive spa in bathroom with a glass of complimentary port was magic!!
The hosts are so friendly and full of hugs for the greeting and farewell. Feels like a home away from home.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheddy01, Owner at Sharlynn B&B, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Hi Renee,many thanks for your kind remarks. It was a pleasure having you, we look forward to the pleasure of having you stay with again sometime. Eddy and Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Sharlynn B&B was a great find. The cabin is much larger than most we have stayed in and the bed was really comfortable. The front deck overlooks rainforest and the sound of the creek is wonderful, though only minutes from Malanda. The cabin is very clean and has everything you need. Thank you to Eddie and Sharon for being wonderful hosts with heaps of ideas and hints in making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheddy01, Owner at Sharlynn B&B, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Hi Leanne, many thanks for your kind remarks. It was a pleasure having you, we look forward to the pleasure of having you stay with again sometime. Eddy and Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sharlynn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharlynn B&B

Address: 11 Kidd Close, Malanda, Queensland 4885, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Malanda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Malanda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sharlynn is a stylish and private self-contained cottage, which hugs the edge of the rainforest. The river will serenade you as you dine on your very own verandah deck. We are pet friendly but doge MUST be kept outside for health reasons and the comfort of other guests ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sharlynn B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sharlynn B&B to your Saves list