We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great palce” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tarzali Lakes Aquaculture Centre

Tarzali Lakes Aquaculture Centre
Lot 3 Millaa Malanda Road, Malanda, Queensland 4885, Australia
07 4097 2713
Website
Improve this listing
Atherton, Australia
1 review
“Great palce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I have been to Tarzali up to about ten times fishing know and i have had a great time. For the cheap price of fishing of course you have to throw them back. If you are a good fisherman have a shot at the barra if you know what your re doing you will catch a lot. The host Peter is a very helpful and kind person. The freshest fish and chips on the tablelands will really excite your taste buds.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    3
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Closed in Feb & early March”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Warning - this attraction is closed for the month of February and the start of March. We were so exvited for the platypus but were pretty disappointed to find it closed.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not a pleasant fishing experience but other activities maybe better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Highlights:
• We did catch some fish but, all were a small similar size (~10 inches)
• Owners boy was friendly

Pitfalls:
• Initially the manager was quick to take our money and spoke very fast, he did not speak with clear English and did not show a friendly attitude towards our business
• All the fish we caught were the same size and species
• There was very little shade provided and we did not find shade given the position of the sun
• The hooks provided were of the perfect size to puncture the fishes eyes, this happened to three fish we caught and was very unpleasant to free the fish
• Several of the fish caught were already missing eyes
• We could not keep any of the fish to take home and cook, yet everything we caught had to be thrown into a net in the water. Our perspective on this was that we catch the fish (pay to catch the fish) for the manager to sell. This arrangement took a lot of fun out of the experience.
• There was no place to wash our hands while fishing

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo B.C.
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
104 attraction reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Platypus Central”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Now, if you have hunted all over Australia in search of the elusive Duck Bill Platypus and have not seen any or only caught a brief glimpse of a head or a tail this is the place to go. We saved this spot as our last chance location to get a look at these unusual creatures and we weren’t disappointed.
The Platypus is found in a lake on the property only a short 10-minute walk from the parking lot. They don’t jump out of the water to greet you so you still need to have some patience and keep a good lookout but there is almost a 100 percent chance that you will eventually spot one or two. The owner/operator is an interesting fellow and will give you the lowdown on the animal’s behavior and habits and the best strategies to use to see them.
A journey from Cairns is well worth the trip if you are interested in seeing what is probably the weirdest looking animal you will ever see.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hastings
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“PLATYPUS ARE HERE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stopped off ehre on route to Paronella Park with a Tropical Horizons tour so we did not get very long. it is a beautiful place for walks and eating food food, although we had no time to try it, it looked good. We had a guide to take us to where the illusive Platypus were swimming. We managed to see one very shy one very briefly. So they are real and not figures of the imagination, we were begining to wonder.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarzali Lakes Aquaculture Centre also viewed

 

Been to Tarzali Lakes Aquaculture Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tarzali Lakes Aquaculture Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.