We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated, grubby and what view?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat to your Saves list
Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   324 Land Road, via Lake Eacham | P.O. Box 776, Malanda, Queensland, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“Over rated, grubby and what view?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I think (hope) the poor reviews relate to the same cabin (8). It has no view save scrubby woodland, it was dark, dusty (I gave it a good brush as soon as we arrived. Crumbs and cobwebs. The cabin was poorly laid out and positively gloomy. The website suggest luxury but the furniture was cheap and tired. All of this would easily be forgiven if you could see the mountain and national park through the window. The owners are lovely and have done amazing things with their land but I would strongly recommend asking which cabin you are booked into and ask about the position. The website provides photos which raises expectations, sadly did not deliver

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosegums, Owner at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Rose Gums is a Wilderness Experience, not a city hotel room. At your doorstep is amazing tropical rainforest which runs seamlessly to the bordering national park, with many snakes, spiders, birds, and mammals. All this makes it that much harder to keep the treehouses spotlessly clean. So there is always a chance of some dust, a couple of spiders and water marked windows. If this is a problem for some people please do not book at Rose Gums. We have thousands of satisfied guests who are after a more holistic experience – encounters with our unique nature, kilometers of walking tracks, wildlife viewing with the owners, enjoying a spring water spa bath. All treehouses are unique in the experiences they offer. From their balcony recent guests in treehouse #8 saw a Goshawk hunt down a snake, take it to a nearby tree and devour it. They were so excited and took some wonderful photos. Another guest saw a graceful sugar glider feeding and gliding through the trees at dusk. Our guest surveys sheets are in all complimentary breakfast hampers for all guests to give ratings of all experiences. Immediate feedback to the owners is welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    20
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
67
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

On our tour around Cairns our 2 families stayed some nights in this nice retreat and enjoyed the rainforest brought closer to us by the owners of Rosegum.
We liked the treehouses, their generosity in size and equipment as well as the furniture and design.

Room Tip: Depending on your preferences: House 1 (for more light), Houses in the forest (less light) --> wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawler, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We recently spent three nights in a two bedroom tree house at Rose Gums. The tree house was lovely with beautiful views and serene peace and quiet. We were unlucky to strike some unseasonal non-stop rain and didn't get out much but we were happy to spend two days relaxing and reading, listening to the rain and hanging out with our toddler. The king size bed was extremely comfortable we had the best sleep of our trip. Breakfast hamper was excellent and kept us going for three breakfasts. The walking tracks and surrounding creek and rainforest are beautiful and I hope we can come again one day in good weather to further explore. Love what the owners have done.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

After two and a half months or our family of four travelling in our caravan, Rose Gums was a welcome break and a wonderful experience. The tree houses are lovely, and the restaurant is fabulous. The owners are friendly and helpful which makes the whole experience so much better. Ideally located to get to most places on the Tableland, I would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We have stayed at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat several times over the past decade and have never been disappointed. Our most recent visit was no exception.
Each time we come to stay, there has been further regeneration of the rainforest, and more birds and wildlife to view, while the tree houses provide the same delightful, peaceful, relaxing retreat. I have the best sleeps at night and even the afternoons too! We love listening to the forest and its residents and enjoy the visits of familiar animals or birds, and the challenge of seeing and hearing new species.
Peta and Jon are wonderful hosts who share their passion for the rainforest wilderness tirelessly.
They provide excellent onsite information and no question is silly. Our accommodation was lovely… spectacular views, a very generous breakfast hamper, comfy cozy bed, wood burner fireplace, fully equipped kitchen, the best showers (Rose Gums has its’ own fresh water spring – beautiful drinking water), fully equipped laundry, and more.
It is a rare and special treat to visit, be accommodated and experience the Australian rainforest wilderness in such style.
We’ll be back…………

Room Tip: We had treehouse 2 which is perfect for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conifer, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We just returned from a 3 1/2 week trip to Australia, and our time at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat was incredible. We stayed in a studio treehouse - Kukkaburra- for 2 nights and fell in love with the place and the owners. We felt it wasn't nearly long enough to enjoy all the wonders of the treehouse, the rainforest, the birds, wildlife, waterfalls, lakes, and villages of the Atherton Tablelands. By all means, rent a car in Cairns and drive around this area. Sitting on the deck in the morning and evening having our coffee (or glass of wine) while being serenaded by birds, and watching the wild turkeys scratch in the grasses below was heaven. The bats flew at night and we were invited to see the tropical parrots and parakeets on the owner's deck in the morning. We also got to see Australia's smallest marsupial, the muskrat kangaroo. There are walks in the forest, to pools where you can see platypus, and waterfalls. The outdoor possibilities make it hard to leave Rose Gums to do other things. Be there longer! We were there in Australia's winter, so it was sunny and pleasant during the day and chilly at night. There is a wood stove in the treehouse, but a little chilly at night anyway. No matter, the hospitality, the decor, the incredible shower and tub, and the surroundings make it a "must-see" for any traveler. The retreat is completely ecological with close attention to environmental values. The breakfast provisions were very generous and delicious. You have everything you need for kitchen utensils and dishes and a "barby" outside. It is very easy to get groceries in Malanda, which is only a few kilometers away. It was very hard to leave. We can't emphasize enough how special this place is if you want to get away from the tourist accomodations and really experience the tablelands.

Room Tip: Kukkaburra for a studio - great for 2 people. You are right in the rain forest, private, secluded, l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We spent two nights at Rose gums and had a wonderful time. The 'tree houses' are well appointed and comfortable. We had no complaints about cleanliness, though felt that tree house was a bit misleading since they are little 2 story cottages made of tree rather than built up in the canopy! We also would have liked a bit more of a view - though may be that is being churlish since having the forest all around is half the point...

The introduction was extremely informative, and our two girls had a lovely time at the bird feeding watching the glorious king parrots come in to feed. The restaurant was lovely, the food excellent - so good that we went both nights that we were there.

All in all a lovely place to stay, very hospitable owners and staff and somewhere we would be happy to recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat

Address: 324 Land Road, via Lake Eacham | P.O. Box 776, Malanda, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Malanda
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Malanda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a secluded rainforest retreat in the cool highlands above Cairns, all our treehouses are self-contained featuring spa baths, fireplaces and magnificent views. The 93 HA property has 9 kilometres of walking tracks and over 160 species of birds and other wildlife, including Platypus that inhabit our pristine rainforest creeks. Delight in our own in-house restaurant, LEAF, a private dining experience in the tree-tops. Your hosts Peta & Jon are very friendly and helpful and are looking forward to meeting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.