We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Albert Park Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Albert Park Motor Inn to your Saves list
Albert Park Motor Inn
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   Ilfracombe Rd & Stork Rd, Longreach, Queensland 4730, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Longreach
Noosaville, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dining Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

A group of 21 booked the dining room expecting to order from the menu, however we were shown to another room for buffet without consultation and it was the worst meal ever.Some roast lamb that had been carved long before we were to eat, so dry we could not chew it, gravy from a tea pot that was like water, soggy peas and some OK potatoes and pumpkin.Next we were called for dessert a bought sticky date square cake cut into match box size servings with custard.Six of our party arrived late about 6.45pm and were given a few chips and one piece of even drier meat.
The final insult was the cost $36 a head ! Now come on Australia is this what we serve our tourists how bad is this ,Marilyn v W

Room Tip: Choose another Motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertPark1, Manager at Albert Park Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Hi Marilyn,
We apologise for a meal that was obviously not up to the normal high standard we pride ourselves on.

Your 3 course costed buffet meal arrangements were orgainsed prior to your arrival with your groups' leaders. We are sorry for any misunderstanding that has happened.

We would hope that if you are travelling this way again you would give us the opportunity to give you a more enjoyable Albert Park experience.

Tony & Jane Wilkinson
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    70
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
26
67
20
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
winton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

A big thanks for everything that the Albert park did for us the weekend of our wedding!
Great Food, service and a friendly atmosphere made my whole week easy and stress free.
We had a meet and greet at the pool exceptional BBQ food and cold drinks were flowing and a great time was had by the 130 guest we invited.
Breaky was also a must as the selection of food was quality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights recently and we can only echo the positive posts listed below. The hotel was nice and CLEAN.The,location excellent if your planning a visit to the Hall of Fame, Qantas museum or School of the Air. However, what makes this hotel stand out was the staff. Tony and Jane lead a team who are friendly, efficient and who can't do enough for you. Many city hotels could learn a lot from this great example of outback hospitality. Thanks everyone,we can't wait to return one day soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molong, NSW
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Drove from Darwin-Timber Creek-Katherine-Alice Springs and finally to Longreach and this was one of the best hotels we encountered. The front counter staff were absolutely wonderful. The room was comfortable and quiet. The restaurant was great - the food and staff were terrific. The location of this motel complex was the stand-out. Walking distance to Stockmans Hall of Fame and Qantas museum - fantastic! The 'must do' in Longreach is the Thompson River cruise (Outback Aussie Tours) with dinner. We have been on a few before in different places but the way this was done, the professionalism of the staff, the great food cooked on camp ovens and, especially the music by Michael & Grant of Heartland Theatre was unforgettable! There was even a marriage proposal in our group. HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE ALBERT PARK

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terranora, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

After a long day on the road, I was looking forward to a rest, a beer and a good meal. I found them all at the Albert Park Motor Inn. Firstly I was greeted by a friendly face at check in and then found my way to my very clean and welcoming room. I then sniffed out a beer and found a terrific pool side bar that served an array of cold beers. The steak I ordered for dinner was perfectly cooked to my preferred style and was accompanied by a very fresh salad.
My room was well appointed and I slept comfortably all night with no outside noise interference.
All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here before and after an Aussie Outback Tour(great tours) and loved the place. It is close to the Hall Of Fame and nearly opposite the Qantas Founders Museum so very handy. It is further out of town but there is a lovely shaded nature walk into town for walkers. There is an excellent restauant and bar. In the middle of the lowrise complex is the pool area with large sail coverings. The rooms are very comfortable. Tony, Jane and their staff are very friendly and very helpful. The owners were kind enough to let some of our group leave their cars there for the week we were on tour which was appreciated. Highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Qld
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We travelled to Longreach by Train, just for the experience intending to stay 5 nights at the Albert Park, first impressions were when we got picked up from the Railway Station, great.
Upon arrival at the motel were greeted by great friendly smiles, and welcomed as if we were part of the family. We were taken to our room and what a room, new TV with Austar, spotless in all places. Found the kettle and sat dow for a nice coffee, in fact used all the coffee and asked for more.
As We had travelled by train, we didnt have any mode of transport, but thats wasnt a problem, Tony drove us and picked s up from the Qantas Museum and the next day from the Stockmans Hall of Fame. Tried to get a ride in his vintage Holden but that was off limits, not even Jane gets to drive that, Oh well.
The meals in the Restaurant were of the highest standards the quality you would expect in the big restaurants in the major cities, not in the outback and the service was quick and meals delightful.
Not to be outdone, Jane got herself out of bed the day of departure and cherefully arrived at our door at 6am, get in she said, im taking you to the train.
Not often am I extremly 100% with my stays at places there is always something you dont like, but I can say......Jane and Tony and Staff......congratulations I will be back and I respectfully ask people who read this review, dont take my word for it, go and have a look for yourself.

Room Tip: All Rooms of the same no noise in the back rooms but the property is away from the highway anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Albert Park Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Park Motor Inn

Address: Ilfracombe Rd & Stork Rd, Longreach, Queensland 4730, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Longreach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Longreach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albert Park Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
56 ground floor units, Reverse-cycle Air-conditioned rooms with undercover parking in front of each room. Austar Television in each room. 3 guest laundries on site. Fully licensed restaurant and bar on premises. Large resort style pool, with kids pool and cold spa attached. Located close to Australian Stockmans Hall of Fame, Qantas Founders Outback Museum and Longreach Airport. Reception hours are from 7am to 9pm, internet kiosk available. Set in unique bush surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Albert Park Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albert Park Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.