We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food for a country town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eagles Nest Bar and Grill

Eagles Nest Bar and Grill
110 Eagle Street, Longreach, Queensland 4730, Australia
0746580144
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 18 Restaurants in Longreach
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good food for a country town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Spending one night in longreach, we took trip advisor reviews & picked Eagle Nest for dinner, despite looking busy we were greeted by the owner (I think) & promptly seated at a table. The waiters were good getting our drink order to the table & taking our food order with out any hassle & fuzz.
The menu is not huge but there is enough to entice & I think price is reasonable for a outback country town. We ordered the bosciola & a vegetable byriani, both dish were good if a little under seasoned, the wine list was small but adequate, the range of beers on offer was large & all at reasonable prices.
Overall a very pleasant dining experience, the atmosphere was good the service from all was good, I would revisit if back in town.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    30
    2
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor understanding of food intolerances”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The management do not cater for food intolerances, they will not change menu around to help, was told we have nothing you can eat, they did if they changed options that were already on menu.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Eagles Nest Bar & Bistro, Longreach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Good coffee and service - popular spot for breakfast.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Sunday Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Had a late Sunday breakfast here - service was good food was enjoyable serving generous and prices quite reasonable. Coffee and Tea hot and tasty

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Scrummy brunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We had a Sunday brunch here - there isn't a lot of choice on a Sunday, and we are pleased we picked this place.
I had the mini mixed grill which totally hit the spot - my friend having the BELT which he said was really good.
I ordered a pot of tea which actually gave me three large cups - so very good value.
As we weren't having lunch (given exploring then our flight out) it made sense to have a hearty breakfast, and we certainly got it here.
Only negative was that the menu was a bit limited vs the cafe by the cinema.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eagles Nest Bar and Grill also viewed

 
Longreach, Queensland
 

Been to Eagles Nest Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eagles Nest Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.