We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for exploring ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Longreach Tourist Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longreach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Longreach Tourist Park
Save
You added Longreach Tourist Park to your Saves list
Thrush Road, Longreach, Queensland 4730, Australia (Formerly Discovery Holiday Parks)   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed in a double en-suite cabin for three nights while exploring the area. The cabins are basic and a little dated but very clean and comfortable. For the price ($88/night) it was excellent. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. The park itself is huge but still quiet as peaceful. A great budget base for seeing the Longreach region.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LongreachManager, Manager at Longreach Tourist Park, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi there,

Thanks so much for your honest and happy review, our team really appreciates the time you have taken to review us positively :)

Hope you had safe travels.

Thanks,
LTP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    48
    21
    11
    11
See reviews for
40
53
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in an en suite cabin as I had been rooftop tenting a lot over the previous 5 weeks in my travels. The Air conditioning was very welcomed and worked well. The cabin was clean and had everything that I needed as I wanted a base to explore around Longreach as I had previously just travelled through on many occasions.
The young woman who checked me in and was there on my departure was an excellent ambassador for the Park and Longreach. Answered all my questions quickly and with a high degree of knowledge. Park needs a big tree planting exercise as it is pretty sparse for the camping ground section but I think the operators are smart enough to realise this. Overall enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LongreachManager, Manager at Longreach Tourist Park, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hey there,

Thanks heaps for taking the time to positively review our park! We are glad we could make your stay enjoyable and we hope to welcome you back sometime again!

Thanks,
LTP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

At check in the young lady was very helpful and friendly.
They do bookings for some of the tours from the reception.
We had an ensuite caravan site.
Ensuite very clean.
Very large caravan park, with only 1 smallish pool. (there is 2 but 1 was closed).
Not a lot of shady sites but I would expect this because of the temperatures. It got to 39 whilst we where there.
Good park close to the Qantas museum and Stockman's Hall of Fame.

Room Tip: If in caravan ask for a shaded site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LongreachManager, Manager at Longreach Tourist Park, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for your review we greatly appreciate the time you have taken to write your review.

We hope to welcome you back :)

Thanks,
LTP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed here for a total of 3 nights (1 night, then a night away and then back for 2 nights). The girl on the desk at reception was very friendly and helpful so that was a good start. The first night we self catered and it would have been helpful if the cooker top had been updated as the symbols around the switches had rubbed off so it was a guessing game as to which switch worked which burner and whether it was high or low. Also, the cabin was extremely hot when we arrived, it would have been good to have had the air con already on as it was 41c and took quite a while to cool down. On our return for nights 2 and 3, the situation was the same with the air con but the cooker was more modern and therefore had all symbols in place which was helpful. We ate at the woolshed on one night which was very good and can be recommended. The pool was a little small for the size of site and a charge for the spa not really acceptable, I have never come across that before on a camping site.
Excellent location for the Qantas museum and Stockman's Hall of Fame.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Huge park with very clean facilities. Great cold pool to swim in and the restaurant at the park served excellent food. The park to stay st

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LongreachManager, Manager at Longreach Tourist Park, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thanks for such a nice review, our team really appreciates it :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed just one night with 3 vans on way thru. This is big park in a hot dry park of Qld, and on this basis a larger pool would be suggested. The day we were there the pool was so full of guests, we just turned around and went back to the vans. The amenities were clean and tidy and what you would expect. Their restaurant was not open on the Sunday night which was a shame.

The biggest complaint was the way the vans were squeezed into a couple of rows, annex to annex, with no room for cars next to vans (as a result cars were parked all over the place further crowding the sites. What annoyed me about the cramped space was the fact that there were two more rows behind us with no vans...reception could have staggered the sites rather than allocate all vans on top of each other. Big park but space wasted by being on top of each other.

Room Tip: Request a newer powered site which might be larger than the older sites
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LongreachManager, Manager at Longreach Tourist Park, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thanks for your review we would like to point out a couple of things...

1. Most people would say 2 pools and 2 spas is quite adequate for our park.
2. All vans staying at the same time you were all requested sites closest to the amenities block, so staff were not packing everyone in on purpose just simply doing what was requested.

Thanks from everyone here at LTP.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isisford queensland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We did not book, work did. We ended up staying 1 night in our cabin due to work changes, but if we were there longer I would have tried to upgrade, very basic for $90 a night. Arrived on a very hot over 40C day, the cabin was stifling, surely the managment could have greeted us with a cool room? they knew we were coming, I had to leave for an hour before the room was bearable.
Our cabin was down the very end of a dusty road right next to the main road, and overlooked a swimming pool- which was CLOSED! did I mention over 40C?? they say they have 2 pools and spas, unfortunately needed to get in the car and drive for minutes to get to them and the Restaurant, which was completely over the other side of this massive park.
Someone commented that to get the spa to work you had to put in dollars but she had already done the long walk in the heat so did not go back to get money, I think charging for bubbles abit off-- couldn't it just have a shorter timer?
The cabin was basic, had an attempt at an upgrade sometime, was clean enough and the Aircon did work ok once it had run for a couple of hours. The fridge was on and cold, why not the aircon?
The bathroom small but adequate, the towels very thin, the loo roll massive so would never run out. Could do with an extractor fan.
Double bed was too hard for our liking, did not sleep that well, also the noise from the large petrol station opposite and the road went on and on.
The bed is so crammed to one end that there was about 10cms space to walk around it, no room for a side table, one side had a tiny shelf. The room had 2 unmatching plastic outdoor chairs and plastic table and an old sofa that had seen better times, I wouldn't sit on it, wondered how many backsides had sat there before, yuk!
We really feel we were given the worst they had to offer and I would definitely not stay there again. The newer nicer cabins jump to $140 or so a night, may as well stay in a motel. The woman I spoke to said she would not stay there again, and only did because eating out in Longreach is so expensive and she needed to cook for herself, I can see that being the only reason for staying there.
There did not appear to be any wi-fi available, and the shop appeared mostly empty, coming to the end of the season I suppose.
The restaurant was really nice, did a seperate review, food was good, service pleasant. It seems more effort is put into that end of the park.

Room Tip: Don't take the cabins at the end nearest the road and fuel station, or at least ask for a discou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LongreachManager, Manager at Longreach Tourist Park, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hi there,

Firstly the price for our standard cabin is cheap compared to most other places such as motels as we offer a fully self contained cabin. Your cabin should have had the air con on already we are sorry this was not done for you.
Our mattresses have also never had a complaint until now.
Secondly the roads are gravel because if we were to bitumen our park at a cost of over 1 million dollars they would just melt after a summer of 40+ degree heat. Our spas have a cost of $2 for 10mins of bubbles to try and cover the cost of gas to keep them heated for guests.
We are sorry that our park is too big for you, we have never had a complaint about the rooms being too far from the restaurant or spas, people mostly enjoy the walk.
Your work did only want to book you into our standard cheapest option so that is not our fault. Also the next one to upgrade to is our $110 per night Bamboo En suite Cabin, this option was given to your company but they declined.

Thank you for your extensive review, its a pity you did not have one positive thing to say.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Longreach Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longreach Tourist Park

Address: Thrush Road, Longreach, Queensland 4730, Australia (Formerly Discovery Holiday Parks)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Longreach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Longreach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Longreach Tourist Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.