We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abajaz Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Abajaz Motor Inn to your Saves list
Abajaz Motor Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11 Wonga Street, Longreach, Queensland, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Longreach
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Recently stayed here for a stopover of 3 nights on our trip through the outback. I was pleased to find the room being very clean, and a nice comfortable stay. Our car tyre had also unfortunately popped on the first night, and Rodd had kindly changed our tyres for us. We were very appreciative of that. Also the location was within walks of the town centre which was fine.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abajaz, Manager at Abajaz Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hi Geoff,

Thankyou for your review.

We have replaced all but 2 of the air conditioners in the motel so are surprised to hear that you found a brand new unit too noisy to sleep with, keeping in mind of course reverse cycle units are never going to be silent. Thanks for letting us know we will get the installer to have a look at it.

We are pleased you found the bed comfortable as we have just put new beds in all the rooms. It's also good to hear you found the WiFi excellent as we have not long ago had a booster aerial installed to improve the signal to all rooms.

Thankyou also for your comment re the cleanliness, our cleaning staff work hard at maintaining the standard which as I'm sure you can appreciate is rather a challenge at times given the long drought we are living with out here.

We are sorry you felt you didn't get value for money on your stay with us as I believe the $114 you paid for a queen room was at the time the cheapest available rate in Longreach. The Abajaz is an old motel, being built around 40 years ago, but we do try to make it as clean, comfortable and friendly as is possible for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    31
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
25
52
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockhampton, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The room was quite dark and we weren't happy that a couple in the room next to us continually sat outside their room smoking which was directly under the air conditioner to our room. They need to move smoking away from the rooms. Parking was also quite a squeeze as we're were in a corner.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abajaz, Manager at Abajaz Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Hi and thanks for taking the time to write a review,

Liane and I are not sure what time you arrived but if it was late afternoon the rooms obviously would be dark, we do however always try when it's late afternoon or early evening turn at least one set of lights in the room and should it be either be cold or hot (depending on what time of year it is) also turn on the air-conditioners for our guests, If you arrived and the room was dark, many apologies, we must have been busy or simply overlooked it in this instance.

With regard to the couple smoking outside, unfortunately it's still legal to do so and we do have ash trays on the tables outside each room, we do however have a dedicated smoking area away from all rooms and should you have notified us at the time, would have asked the couple to move to that area, we've asked guests to do so before and most people do understand non smokers, like myself, making this request.

We do have marked parking bays and sometimes when other cars are not correctly parked within the lines it can make it a little tight for other cars, we're sorry if this was the case for you and would have been happy to help out if we had been made aware of the problem at the time. There is plenty of safe off and on street parking available for those that have vehicles too large for the undercover spots.


Again, thanks for taking the time to review.

Rodd and Liane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed here with my dog on our trip home (Pet Friendly Motor Inn), I was very surprised with the room very clean and staff friendly. Just a short walk to town center and a good walk way out the front of the motor inn to walk the dog. Overall a good pleasant stay, one tip for others… you are in Longreach not Sydney yes it is a bit old however it has everything you need if you want City Slicker type accommodation stay in the Melbourne.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We honestly don't understand why this motel gets top ranking on TripAdvisor. We booked it after seeing the endless stream of positive reviews. We expect a top-notch venue. Nothing could be further from the truth. Here's what other reviewers aren't telling you.

This is very dated, tired motel. The rooms are tiny, very dated and rather tired (e.g. chipped tiles, cracks in the walls, shabby curtains). I didn't want to touch our curtains as they appeared very worn and dusty. The rest of the room was clean. However, it was scented with over-powering pine air-fresher which made us wonder if the owners were trying to mask unpleasant, musty odors. The free wi-fi service was poor and constantly dropped out.

Every room has a tacky 1960's era "breakfast hatch" that lets staff shove a breakfast tray onto an internal bench/desk. The reception office was dingy and cluttered with a rather dirty fish tank taking up limited lobby space. The staff were friendly, as others have noted, but not exceptionally so.

We honestly felt this motel was the least impressive accommodation we stayed in the Longreach region (we stayed at three separate motels). We wish we'd booked again at the Kinnon & Co Lodge. It was modern, spacious and staffed by friendlier people.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abajaz, Manager at Abajaz Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hi and thanks for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate feedback from our guests in any form. We would however prefer to be given the opportunity to address any problems at the time of the stay rather than just finding out our guests had issues after they've left. Especially with the WiFi issues you had, we have just had an antenna installed to boost the signal so you shouldn't have had any problems although it can depend on the type of device you have and how strong the receiver aerial (?) is in it... at least that's what our IT guy told us, apparently iPads are notorious for that. We are aware in many other motels in Longreach guests have to sit in reception to get WiFi reception, we however, have secured wireless to all rooms, perhaps in this instance as stated you had an iPad or simply a weak signal on the day to which if we had known could have fixed for you there and then!

You stated you booked based on all the great reviews on Trip Advisor so obviously there are a lot of people that have been very happy with our rooms., I guess it depends on peoples expectations and preferences. As you said you expect a "top notch venue" and we are not and never will be a 5 star resort.

The Abajaz is about 40 odd years old and unfortunately there is not much we can do about the structural issues, we can't make the rooms bigger as much as we'd love to, however they are not by any means tiny. With the extreme temperatures we also have a bit of movement in the building, also nothing we can do to stop this happening... the joys of living in the outback!

You mentioned cracked tiles .. we are in the process of having the bathrooms renovated, all are being completely retiled with new fittings. As you can appreciate this will be a long process, to date we have completed 4 bathrooms. We live on site, and this is our home, so we expect our rooms to be as we expect in our home, yes sure, a cracked tile may exist, and will in time, when we can afford to get to those minor issues.

As for the breakfast hatches, yes they are an old fashioned idea but we would never consider getting rid of them. We have couples staying here that remember staying here when they got married 30 years ago and they just love seeing that sometimes things don't change. We also find they are very convenient for our guests as they don't have to worry about opening the door to strangers in their underwear just to get their breakfast tray ( that's a bonus for us too! ).

As for our reception, we can't understand what was the issue, and frankly you are wrong, we recently renovated the reception area and redesigned it completely, as for the fish tank, that is my personal tank I've had in my family for well over 20years, we moved it from our residence to the reception to give the area that personal or family touch, I actually veneered it and came up exceptionally well....perhaps that morning we didn't dust it as we normally do....again dust in the outback is a norm!! Given the placement as you walk in to the reception area, one would have to make an effort for it to "get in the way" whilst booking in.

We note, as we have done also, you are well travelled not only throughout Australia, but the world, given your level of experience obviously in this instance our lovely, family owned and run place was not for you.

We have 4 other motels in Longreach with a 3.5 Star Rating or less and Cabin and or Caravan Accommodation that in my opinion are very good that we hope will on your next visit to our town fulfil your requirements.

Rodd and Liane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This is a very dated motel but was clean and comfortable and in a good position. The owners were helpful and friendly and let us into the room early. Ok for a night. We did not eat here. I think it need to be updated.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abajaz, Manager at Abajaz Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hi,

Thankyou for writing a review. Clean and comfortable we find are the most important attributes in a motel so we are pleased you found this in our rooms.

Yes the motel is old and the décor is "old fashioned", we have bedspreads on the beds, not triple sheeting and bolster cushions but we find this is far more practical in the outback.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and travelled safely home

Rodd and Liane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Our first impression was not good. We walked into a small, dark room that smelt overpoweringly (to the eye watering, sore throat level) of air freshener. There was no outlook as the doors and windows were opaque glass and even with the door and window open, the outlook was the covered car park. The owners were as helpful as they could be, with our concerns about the chemical smell, including providing a standing fan so we could have circulating air with the doors and window open. They also gave us an alternative room on our second night at the motel and did not use air freshener prior to us using the room, although we could still smell it! The air conditioning unit in the second room was also rather noisy, fortunately it was cool enough that we could have it on fan only so it was not a problem but it would have been difficult to sleep if we had needed it on. Both rooms were however clean and the bed was comfortable.
On a positive note, the owners were very pleasant and went out of their way to be helpful to us. For example, we did not have a car so they drove us to the Stockmans Hall of Fame. They were responsive to our concerns about the room. And when we left a pair of pjs behind they were kindly delivered to us at Longreach airport!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abajaz, Manager at Abajaz Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hi Jenny,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry you found the air freshener overpowering, you are obviously very sensitive to smells as most of our guests comment on how nice and clean and fresh the rooms actually are.

Not much we can do about the size of the rooms however they are certainly not tiny, there is plenty of room to move about and around the bed. The covered car park is a most welcome reprieve from the hot sun as we are in the outback and it helps to keep the rooms cool.

We suggest (as many other guests do) who are extremely sensitive to our cleaning agents call prior to the stay and we can use less within the room or simply clean our rooms without any chemicals at all.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Australia.

Rodd and Liane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We travelled to Longreach to reduce the length of the Bucket List and we looked up Trip Advisor reviews beforehand, these sealed the deal. This Motor Inn is not the biggest, the most spacious or the newest...but...if you want easy going, friendly hospitality with great service then this is the place for you. Liane and Rodd love what they do and they do it well. The location of the Inn was great as we could walk one way into town and the other to some of the major attractions without any trouble along the Longreach Botanic Walkway. It is just outside the front door. We found it impressive, informative and it provided that much needed shade.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abajaz Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abajaz Motor Inn

Address: 11 Wonga Street, Longreach, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Longreach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Longreach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abajaz Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run motel and pride ourselves in friendly personalised service. The Abajaz is located on the lovely walkway that connects the town centre with the major attractions like Stockmans Hall of Fame, Qantas Founders Museum and the School of Distance Education. Courtesy transportation is available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Abajaz Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abajaz Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.