We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abajaz Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Abajaz Motor Inn to your Saves list
Abajaz Motor Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11 Wonga Street, Longreach, Queensland, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Longreach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
hobart
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“superb value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The room here was excellent, and such value compared with many other motels in the region. The lighting was great (oh joy) and there is lots of bench space to put your things. The room comes with microwave, eating utensils, and even cutlery. Brochures in the room give comprehensive advice on where to eat and what to see. The position of this motel is also excellent - just off the main road, so it is quiet, and yet walking distance into town. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    35
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
28
56
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

OK, there is still a hint of the 1970s in the bathroom, and the decor is similar to many western Queensland motels. Having said this, the Abajaz stands out for its welcoming hospitality, its central position that allows easy walking to most of Longreach's tourist sites, its cleanliness, and overall thoughtfulness on the part of the owners. Children are made to feel welcome. Advice on the local area is given with a smile. Those little touches that add to a travellor's sense of being cared for really assist, such as the toaster you can borrow from reception, and the clothes lines strung up under the carport roof near the family size units. We recommend Abajaz as a great base when exploring the Longreach area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at Longreach for the last night of a long outback trip. We were very pleasantly surprised by the room - so comfortable and clean, with lots of little extras that we haven't found in other motels. You can make your own breakfast in the room, as there's a microwave and you can borrow a toaster from reception.Staff are so friendly and helpful, and the motel is close to lots of the major attractions. Great experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We recently spent 7 nights at the Abajaz while exploring the region. We were very happy with our accommodation and our hosts who were very obliging and friendly. The room was spotlessly clean and refreshed each day. It's a short walk to town and a very comfortable walk to the Stockman's Hall of Fame and the Qantas Founders Museum along an attractive native bushland path. The cost of the accommodation was extremely reasonable. We would highly recommend the Abajaz to anyone wanting to spend some a few days in Longreach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed in Longreach for 4 Nights at the Abajaz Motel.
From the moment we entered Reception we felt welcome; big smiles greeted us.
Nothing was too much trouble; from the owners to the staff alike.
The room was spotless and refreshments topped up daily. The outdoor table and chairs were a pleasure to use, spotless also.
All in all a fabulous experience.
We would highly recommend the motel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killcare, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We came in from Mt Isa by bus and left on the Spirit of the Outback train. This was a great overnight stop, being within walking distance of the station and the shops. The service was very friendly and the room very well set up

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abajaz, Manager at Abajaz Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hi Malcolm,

Thankyou for your review.

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, even if it was only for a night.

We have tried to add some extra touches in the rooms, that you don't normally find in standard motel rooms, to make all our guests more comfortable.

We hope you had a good trip home on the Spirit of the Outback.

Rodd and Liane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

It was great to be able to have all our family (6) stay in the one room. Having Austar was a nice bonus and we also appreciated having a microwave in the room. Great way to start our western Queensland adventure. No highway noise yet you could easily walk to the main street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abajaz, Manager at Abajaz Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thanks Peter for your review.

It can be hard travelling with a large family so we were pleased to be able to accommodate you in our family room. I agree, I do like having a microwave when I travel which is why when we arrived here 4 years ago it was the first thing we added to all the rooms.

Good to hear there was no highway noise, I know this is a concern for some people and we have a lot of people comment how pleasantly surprised they were to not hear anything!!

Hope the rest of your holiday in Queensland was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abajaz Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abajaz Motor Inn

Address: 11 Wonga Street, Longreach, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Longreach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Longreach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abajaz Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run motel and pride ourselves in friendly personalised service. The Abajaz is located on the lovely walkway that connects the town centre with the major attractions like Stockmans Hall of Fame, Qantas Founders Museum and the School of Distance Education. Courtesy transportation is available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Abajaz Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abajaz Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.